|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Stuffed Mushrooms » User review

Sausage and Cheese Stuffed Mushroom Recipe

  • Nov 25, 2010
Rating:
+5

Mmmmm. Stuffed ‘shrooms.  I was assigned the task of bringing an appetizer to my mom’s birthday dinner last week and knowing that we were having lasagna for the main course, I knew these Italian sausage stuffed mushrooms would be perfect.

Ingredients Needed:

  • 1 lb Italian Sausage
  • 3 Packages of Fresh Mushrooms (big caps would be best)
  • 12 oz Shredded Mozzarella, Cheddar and Romano
  • 3 Gloves Chopped Garlic
  • 4 Green Onions
  • Italian Seasoning

First, clean mushrooms and remove stems from cap.  Place caps bottom-side-up in baking pan.

Brown 1 lb of sausage in frying pan.

Finely chop one cup of the mushroom stems.

Add chopped mushroom stems and chopped garlic to browned sausage, along with Italian Seasonings.

Once sausage is cooked, drain if necessary then add cheese, garlic and green onions.  I made my mushrooms low-carb by not putting in breadcrumbs but if you want to add them, do it now.

Form the sausage and cheese mixture into a ball and stuff a heaping amount into each mushroom cap.  I would get bigger mushrooms next time, I think it would hold the stuffing better.  There is likely to be extra sausage and cheese mixture, just throw it into a ramekin and bake alongside the mushrooms.

Bake at 350′ for about 20 minutes or until browned.

Enjoy!

 

 
Related Posts with Thumbnails
Share

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
August 16, 2011
These preparations appear to be very delicious. The pictures are appetizing for food connoisseurs.
 
November 28, 2010
Great photos on a great review! Stuffed mushrooms are always the way to go for parties but, these are far better than the ones I usually make. I might have to use this recipe for the upcoming holiday parties ;p Thanks for sharing!
 
November 25, 2010
Mouthwatering photos! I love making stuffed mushrooms, that's a great variation, I'll have to try it out! :)
 
November 25, 2010
Those look amazing!! I am hungry again!
 
1
More Stuffed Mushrooms reviews
review by . November 12, 2009
A favorite appitizer that can turn into an entire meal
I’ve always loved stuffed mushrooms since I was a kid. Earthy, salty and cheesey, most of the time you can pop the entire thing in your mouth before your mom notices you are spoiling your appetite. The filling is flavorful and the mushroom is cooked perfectly, making it the perfect vessel to hold all that stuff. They are a fancy addition to any cocktail party and can also serve as a great side dish.      They are best served 10 minutes out of the oven, but taste just …
About the reviewer
Kristi ()
Ranked #98
Member Since: Nov 19, 2010
Last Login: Feb 3, 2011 12:50 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KristiSauer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Ingredients

1 lb large white mushrooms

1/2 bread crumbs

2 cloves garlic minced

½ or 1 small white onion finely chopped

1/2 cup Pecorino Romano cheese, grated

2 tablespoons parsley, plus more for a garnish

1 tablespoon fresh chopped oregano

Salt and pepper

Olive oil
 

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Clean off mushrooms and remove stems, reserve. Drizzle a baking sheet with olive oil and arange mushrooms caps on it.

Chop up mushroom stems. Heat a large skillet with olive oil, sauté stems for 5 minutes. Add onion and garlic, salt and pepper, for about 5 more minutes. Let cool slightly.

Mix in bowl mushroom mixture, breadcrumbs and pecorino Romano.  Spoon into mushroom caps, patting down gently to compact stuffing.

Bake at 400 for 25 minutes. Let sit for five, so the juices in the mushroom become reabsorbed and it doesn’t scorch your mouth.

view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Buffalo wings

Hors D'oeuvres & Appetisers

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists