|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Toro

The fatty underbelly of a tuna fish that is a Japanese delicacy.

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Mar 22, 2012
  • by
  • posted in Gourmand
This stuff is a little expensive. I mean 7 slices for $ 25-30, but it is well worth it! It is the kind of sashimi that is so smooth and so succulent that I cannot get enough of this stuff. I usually have it with a side of hot steamed rice. So good!

Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
March 23, 2012
Making me hungry
March 24, 2012
I am hungry
 
March 23, 2012
Well aren't you the big spender?!?!?! lol
March 24, 2012
well, sometimes, I need to enjoy what life has to offer.
March 24, 2012
And you're absolutely right -- I hope you know I was joking Will??? It was actually a compliment and I hope you didn't take it wrong - it's admirable for one to enjoy what they want no matter what the cost.
March 24, 2012
oh no, I didn't take your joke out of context. LOL! I actually order a dozen of this and then not eat anything the next day LOL!
March 24, 2012
Oh good - you had me worried there for a while!!
 
1
More Toro reviews
review by . July 13, 2009
posted in Gourmand
Toro
Toro is the holy grail of all sashimi.  It's the underbelly of the bluefin tuna, and it's the most scarce (toro is only about 8% of a tuna!), delicious, and, therefore, expensive, sashimi that there is out there.  For years, I've been hearing about how bluefin tuna is auctioned off for hundreds of thousands of dollars in Asia, usually won by chefs, and how people flock to those chef's restaurants to pay top money to eat that toro.  It wasn't until pretty recently, though, that I actually …
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Want a tongue massage? Then go out and experience the Toro-- you will know exactly what I mean. Simply one of life's pleasure. Literally!
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Gourmand
i know it's the best, but it's just a bit too oily for my tastes
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Toro is the fatty underbelly of he northern bluefin tuna.  The northern bluefin tuna is an important source of seafood, providing most of the tuna used in sushi. It is a particular delicacy in Japan where at one auction, a single giant tuna sold for more than $100,000 on the Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo. It is also popular in Taiwan, particularly in the town of Tungkang. As a result, some fisheries of bluefin are considered overfished, and this problem is compounded by the bluefin's slow growth rate and late maturity. The Atlantic population of the species has declined by nearly 90 percent since the 1970s. The bluefin species are consequently listed as ones to "Avoid" on the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch program.

To supply sushi markets, the bluefin tuna is reported to be fished at 4 times the sustainable rate. Numerous ranches across Mediterranean harvest juvenile Bluefin indiscriminately fattening them offshore to improve the quality of meat. The industry is worth 220 million dollars a year. Each female produces 40 million eggs and these bluefin ranches pose a serious risk to the population of bluefin in the seas, by wiping them out at all stages of their life cycle.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Ebi

Sashimi

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists