|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Trader Joe's Frozen Mac 'N Cheese » User review

Trader Joe's Frozen Mac 'N Cheese

A frozen macaroni and cheese dish available at Trader Joe's.

< read all 1 reviews

Seriously the Best Mac 'N Cheese EVER

  • Jun 12, 2009
Rating:
+5
Mmmmmm, mac 'n cheese!  The mac 'n cheese that really, REALLY makes me drool (Homer Simpson style, of course!) is, surprisingly, available in the freezer aisle of a grocery store.  BUT, not just any grocery store -- it's Trader Joe's, where every thing is amazing (except for their soy nuggets, ick)!  As if good old cheddar mac 'n cheese weren't already good enough on its own, Trader Joe's had to add Swiss, Havarti, and Gouda to it.  I love cheese, so the more, the merrier!  All this makes for a delicious and extremely rich and creamy dish.  It's so good, that I wanna call it my own!  I secretly feel tempted to buy a bunch of these, microwave 'em, scoop 'em into a huge baking tray, bake it so that it gets  a crust on top, then bring it to a potluck and tell everyone that I made it from scratch... :D

I love how versatile this frozen dinner is.  It's hefty, so hefty, in fact, that its gotta be microwaved for at least 5-6 minutes in its frozen state.  It's definitely enough to be a full on dinner for one person (sometimes I even split it into two meals when I'm not feeling so gluttonous), or it can be split as a side dish among a few people.  Plus the variations in ways to prepare this seem to be infinite.  So far, I've switched between stirring in an insane amount of Tabasco to it, and mixing in an insane amount of Parmesan cheese.  Yes, that would be five cheeses in all.  The Parmesan has gotta be the Trader Joe's shredded kind that comes in a bag though.  No other Parme will do!

There are a few more variations that I want to try:
  • Adding chives (maybe it'll make it healthier? :P).
  • Adding Sriracha.
  • Adding white truffle oil (as if it weren't already greasy enough! :D).
  • I've been microwaving it this whole time.  Sometimes I microwave it for a bit too long and it forms a delicious burnt crust, so I'd love to BAKE it and get a baked crust!
  • I want to bake it with bread crumbs on top.
  • And for you bacon-lovers, I bet this dish tastes AMAZING with bacon baked on top.
Got any more ideas?

Of course, though, judging from how many cheeses and creams that are packed into this frozen little box of delight, it's no surprise how unhealthy and fattening this treat is (30 grams of fat a box, to be exact), but uh, it has 48 grams of protein per box.  That's good, right?  RIGHT?

Needless to say, I only allow myself to eat this once in a great while.  I always keep a box in the freezer though, because when I'm PMS-ing or just feeling blue, this totally hits the spot!  Must be all that grease :)

According to some others, Beecher brand mac 'n cheese apparently surpasses Trader Joe's in deliciousness.  That's kind of hard to believe because I already think this stuff is super amazing!  Until I track down a box of Beecher's mac 'n cheese, my heart (and taste buds and stomach!) belongs to Trader Joe's.
Trader Joe's Mac 'N Cheese

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 16, 2010
If it is the best I must try some.
 
April 23, 2010
I love good food, and I must say this is the best mac and cheese I have ever tasted. It beats my own, and any that I've tried in a restaurant - I've got kids so had plenty of opportunity to try it. We always have at least one in the freezer.
April 23, 2010
Same here! As soon as I eat that one, I have to replace it ASAP :) I use to think that I made a pretty good mac 'n cheese from scratch based on a Paula Deen recipe, but why do that when I could pop a few of these in the microwave and call it my own? ;)
April 23, 2010
I would love to see a Food Network blind taste challenge for mac and cheese with this being one of them.
 
February 27, 2010
I just ate this stuff for the first time and I could not agree more. This is by far the best frozen mac and cheese I have ever tried.
February 27, 2010
Glad you've discovered this! Next time, try it with some extra parm, and/or sprinkle some Tabasco on it ;)
 
December 03, 2009
Wait, you get the frozen kind? I live off the box kind - add in veggie burger, or onions, or crushed red pepper...and only for a dollar.
December 03, 2009
Trust me, this stuff is sooooo much better. It can't compare to the powdered cheese sauce stuff. You just have to try it!
 
November 25, 2009
I ate this for dinner last night. So good.
November 25, 2009
Mmmmm, yes it is! :)
 
November 20, 2009
MMMmmm. Anything that's both healthy and microwaveable is good in my book.
November 20, 2009
It may be microwaveable, but I never said it was healthy... >;D
November 20, 2009
I thought that all Trader Joe's products were created to be nutritious as well as tasty... am I wrong?
November 20, 2009
Well, I'm sure that TJ's mac 'n cheese is one of the more healthier mac 'n cheeses out there, but even with the finest and most organic of cheeses, noodles and creams, etc, mac 'n cheese can only be so healthy ;P
 
June 29, 2009
Interesting review. I'm afraid of frozen because I think it will be mushy when thawed and "nuked". Good review.
June 29, 2009
Don't worry, it'll taste like homemade!  Like I said in my review -- I sometimes feel tempted to redish it and serve it as my own..... :D

Don't worry about it getting mushy, it wouldn't and it'll stay springy and delicious even when nuked!

June 29, 2009
Excellent, thanks. True Cook Confessions -- just invented a new Twitter issue. :)
 
June 14, 2009
Nice review~ Got one of Kraft mac and cheese. ;)
June 17, 2009
Thanks! Kraft mac 'n cheese has nothing on TJ's!  Kraft's mac 'n cheese actually has quite a history -- you should read about it in the wiki!
 
June 13, 2009
the greatest review about Mac and Cheese ever written!! LOL
June 14, 2009
Haha, thanks! :)
 
June 12, 2009
I have two of these in my freezer right now! You have to do it with the bread crumbs, it is the best!
June 13, 2009
Will do! :)
June 13, 2009
I had it for dinner last night :)
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Trader Joe's Mac 'N Cheese is a frozen macaroni and cheese entree made with four different cheeses: Cheddar, Havarti, Gouda and Swiss.

Nutritional Content for half a tray at 7 ounces:
Calories: 360
Fat: 23%, 15g
Sodium: 25%, 590mg
Protein: 24g
Carbs: 14%, 42g
Fiber: 4%, 1g
view wiki

Details

Type: Frozen Food
Vendor: Trader Joe's

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists