|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Trader Joe's "Just Mango Slices" » User review

Trader Joe's Just Mango Slices

Just Mango Slices... Dried, Unsulfered, and Unsweetened.

< read all 4 reviews

Just Mango Slices: Pure, Simple, & Consistently Amazing

  • Aug 19, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I love it when the Ingredients list to a product is short.  What can I say,  I like things "Pure and Simple".  So when I checked out the ingredients on Trader Joe's "Just Mango Slices" and all it said was "Dried Mangos", it put a smile on my face and I gave it a try.  Fast forward a year later and I'm still buying these dried mangos every time I go to Trader Joe's.   Mind you, these aren't the only dried mangos you can get at Trader Joe's. They do have "sweetened" ones and even the "chili mango" variety... but these are still my favorite.

In my experience, they have been very consistently sweet and flavorful. The only drawback is that because they are just dried (with no preservatives), they will only stay fresh after you open them for so long. How long? Well... I have no idea, because I eat them all up in about 2-3 days. They're that good!  I think the longest I've ever had one package open for, was about a week. So all I know is that they're still good after a week .  My advice is to put them in a zip lock bag after you open it, to maintain freshness.

So if you love Mangos, don't hesitate to try these at Trader Joe's. I think they're as good as dried Mangos can get...



Just Mango Slices

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
September 18, 2009
Yes, I do love mango but only the fresh ones. Unless these are as good as fresh mango! Anyway I can't get TJ where I'm so that's not something I've to deal with. But chili mango? OMG!
 
August 19, 2009
Mmmmm, a lot of snacks seem to have tons of sugar added to it, so it's always refreshing to see unsweeted snacks!  I didn't realize that they were an unsweetened version of this, so I'll have to check it out.  Another one of my favorite unsweetened and unsulfered dried fruits at TJ's is their freeze dried mangosteen.  Nowhere near as good as the real thing, but good enough!
 
August 19, 2009
Hey, I was going to review these too! They are my favorite! They are on my list of Trader Joe's Addictions along with Nothing But Banana, Flattened.
August 19, 2009
Hey EcoMama, I'm glad I'm not the only one addicted to these :) Thanks for sharing your list of favorites. I haven't heard from you in ages, how are things?


Devora, you gotta try these! I've had the freeze-dried Mangosteen and I agree... they're ok but not as good as fresh. Have you had the freeze-dried Rambutan? They're actually really good... but totally a different experience than from eating them fresh.
August 20, 2009
Things are great, thanks! Lunching away, I have a bunch of Trader Joe's reviews that you might have missed, check them out.
 
1
More Trader Joe's "Just Mango Slice... reviews
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2009
Tried these at the suggestion of @dtruong. Still a lot of sugar for something with no added sugar, but loved them!
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2009
Love dried fruit, hate added sugar! These are perfect- just the way nature intended!
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
posted in Gourmand
Can't get enough of these! So perfectly naturally sweet and chewy. great snack on the go.
About the reviewer
Duc Truong ()
Ranked #62
I'm a man with many hobbies. I work a full-time job in the field of 'Lyophilization' for a small Pharmacuetical company. It's a dream job because it gives me lots of days off to pursue … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dtruong
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki


Nutrition Facts

Serving Size: 4 pieces

Amount per Serving
  • Calories 120 Calories from Fat 0
% Daily Value *
  • Total Fat 0g 0%
  • Saturated Fat 0g 0%
  • Polyunsaturated Fat 0g  
  • Trans Fat 0g  
  • Cholesterol 0mg 0%
  • Sodium 0mg 0%
  • Total Carbohydrate 28g 9%
  • Dietary Fiber 2g 8%
  • Sugars 20g  
  • Protein 2g 4%
  • Vitamin A80%
  • Vitamin C10%
  • Calcium2%
  • Iron10%
Est. Percent of Calories from:
Fat 0.0% Carbs 93.3%
Protein 6.7%


Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/thedailyplate/nutr...o-slices/#ixzz144hrTYEU
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists