|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Trader Joe's Smoked Salmon & Spinach Filled Crepes » User review

Classy Crepes that are a Bit Too Rich For My Taste

  • Dec 7, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
After I saw these being featured as a new item on Trader Joe's Facebook fanpage three months, I knew I had try them.  I love crepes.  And filled with smoked salmon and spinach?  That just sounded too heavenly to pass up.  I got them and found it a bit weird that they came straight out of a paper box without a pastic bag or anything, but that didn't bother me too much. 

On the little blurb on box, it says, "We bring these from a coastal town in western France where they know how to make these types of dishes perfectly!" and surprise, surprise -- the box actually says "Product of France".  Not that I doubt what Trader Joe's prints on their boxes, but every time that I see a Trader Joe's package that says that they're a product of another country, especially one like this with such simple ingredients, I can't help but wonder why it couldn't have just been made in the States.  How hard is it to get a machine to make crepes, put a mixture of spinach and smoked salmon on it, and then fold it over and flash-freeze it, domestically?

...But I digress.

The box gives two sets of directions for heating these up, either microwave or stove top.  I microwaved them every time because these things are so rich and fattening that the last thing that they need is more butter or oil, which I would need if I wanted to heat them up on the stove top. 


...Straight out of the microwave

These crepes smell and look really, really good, and when they're cut into, cream sauce just oozes out of it.  The taste however, is unfortunately meh.  They're not terrible, but they're not terribly delicious either.  Even though they're very little, they're still very rich, so if I have more than two, I might start feeling a little sick and bloated.  However, I can see why some people would like them, and I can actually see myself serving these up at parties, possibly garnished with parsley or a small spring salad.  After all, they are pretty cute and classy (...just like me! :P).

At $3.69 for a box of ten of these, I still say give them a try if you like the ingredients and are curious.  They're not my cup of tea, but they may be yours!
Classy Crepes that are a Bit Too Rich For My Taste

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
February 11, 2010
Oh my, I had better go to bed... you'd be making me snack in the middle of the night! ;-)
 
December 12, 2009
This sounds pretty good. I don't know how this combination of flavors would work but I love crepes & omelettes so I'd probably give it a whirl. The closest Trader's is about an hour away from my home so I'm going to compile a grocery list before I go & I have written a grocery list in many a moon. Hehe That could explain why I find myself sometimes wondering aimlessly around supermarkets for long periods of time. Great review!!!
December 12, 2009
Oooh, I think an omelet filled with these ingredients would be fantastic! With these crepes in particular, the cream is just a bit too rich for my taste, but they're definitely worth a shot -- just don't eat more than two at a time! ;P
December 16, 2009
Yeah, I think you're correct. The cream just makes it a bit too rich whereas an omelet with the same ingredients might work better. Hmm, maybe TJ's will make omelets similar to these someday if they haven't already. Thnks!
 
December 08, 2009
I'll give this one a shot, I am a big fan of crepes; they are pretty good and they can fill you up...can't go wrong with salmon and spinach. Have you fried the spinach crepes and the Chcken florentine ones at IHOP? They're not bad, the quality varies to what Ihop you go to, but they're pretty good.
December 09, 2009
Ooooh, I live pretty close to an IHOP, but I didn't know that they served crepes.  I've gotta try the chicken florentine one! :D
 
December 08, 2009
Oo, they do sound good for parties! Are they small enough to pass around at a party as-is, or do you need to cut them to make them more finger food-y? Cute idea!
December 09, 2009
These are a little too messy for finger food. They best put on a plate to be cut into 3 or 4 little pieces. Great for a buffet though!
 
December 07, 2009
Thanks Debbie, I just might give these a try on my next Trader Joe's trip! I think they would heat up well in a toaster oven, my method of choice - that way you don't need more butter and they will be heated evenly. Hm, I'm hungry now!
December 09, 2009
Toaster oven? That sounds like a great idea! :)
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

10 Smoked Salmon & Spinach Filled Crepes - "Ah, crêpes. Light, lovely and now quite local at Trader Joe’s, your neighborhood "crêperie." Our new, frozen Smoked Salmon & Spinach Filled Crêpes are classic, sophisticated crêpes salées (savory crêpes). They’re filled with lightly smoked salmon and spinach dressed in a velvety cream sauce. Délicieux! Serve them as an appetizer or pair them with salad as a main dish. They can be microwaved or heated and crisped in a nonstick pan. A 17.62 oz. package of 10 Crêpes is $3.69, every day. Ah, good value… "

-from traderjoes.com
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists