|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Twinkies » User review

Twinkies

Hostess's signature snack cake. Yellow sponge cake with creamy filling

< read all 3 reviews

Spongy Awesomeness

  • Jul 22, 2010
Rating:
+5

Seriously, who DOESN'T love a Twinkie?  I perfer Zingers myself more but Twinkies still rock!  Those familiar sponge cakes that brighten up any lunchbox or that snack on a boring afternoon.

Twinkies are those familiar little yellow cakes that look like horizontilly elongated gum drops with those familiar holes for the fill'in.  As a kid I loved holding them sideways with the round part facing my mouth and biting off the whole top half of the thing so that most of the cream would be left for one big gulp cutting down on the cake to cream ratio.  Either way you eat it, twinkies are cool.  By the way, you can eat Zingers the same way.

I don't know a single person who doesn't love Twinkies, unless they're watching they're weight since, lets face it, Twinkies aren't known for their healthiness.  BUT they are apparently something you can use to try all sorts of baking ideas with, like the Deep Fried Twinkie or if your a "Weird Al" fan, the infamous Twinkie Wiener Sandwich.  So much to do with one snack cake.  Take that Little Debbie!

Even the name "Twinkie" is awesome.

Twinkie!
twinkie
twinkie
twinkie
twinkie

I can say it all day.
Spongy Awesomeness Spongy Awesomeness Spongy Awesomeness Spongy Awesomeness

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
August 03, 2011
This looks too delicious to be non-caloric.
 
July 29, 2010
Hey, nothing wrong with Little Debbies! ;P I do dig Twinkies, though. Even though they're so very, very bad for you, I'm still looking forward to upping the ante and trying a deep-fried one when I go to the state fair this weekend :D
July 30, 2010
No I do like Little Debbie. Those oatmeal creme sandwiches are great.
 
July 29, 2010
LOL! I actually prefer Snowballs since I love coconut...but this is a real fun review! Thanks!
July 30, 2010
Never cared for coconut myself. That makes me like Linus.
 
July 25, 2010
Twinkies are OK but I suggest you read the book "Twinkie Deconstructed" which someone has chosen to review here on Lunch. I read it a number of years ago. The best way you can describe a Twinkie is "all unnatural everything"! But I'll admit they do taste good!
July 25, 2010
I don't think theres anything natural in them at all which is why they have a decade of an expiration date.
 
1
More Twinkies reviews
Quick Tip by . January 12, 2012
posted in Gourmand
No more Twinkies?!? What's this world coming to? Apparently, the company isn't making enough profit to keep making the spongey goodness. One wonders what's going to happen to the Deep Fried Twinkie carts at the Santa Cruz Boardwalk....what am I going to clog my arteries with NOW? I'm pretty sad to hear that this classic treat is going to go by the wayside because of the economy so I guess it's a good thing that Clinton put one in a time capsule. I used to think that was ridiculous, …
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Sponge cake heaven. These little yellow cakes have been enjoyed for years by all.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

One of America's best known and most loved snack cakes, Twinkies have been tantalizing taste buds and filling lunch boxes since 1930. Twinkies are the stuff of legends—President Clinton put one in a time capsule—and have achieved the status of cultural icon, with the American Society of Media Photographers recently mounting a photo exhibition featuring Twinkies. But to most people, they're just fun to eat.

Whether we're carrying a supply in the glove compartment for a quick on-the-road snack, freezing them, deep-frying them, or eating them right out of the package, millions of Twinkie lovers would agree with creator Jimmy Dewar's statement: "Twinkies was the best darn-tootin' idea I ever had."

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Spongy Awesomeness"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists