|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Uni » User review

Uni

Sea Urchin

< read all 3 reviews

Uni: A Must-Try for You Adventurous Eaters!

  • Dec 15, 2008
Rating:
+5
Consuming uni can be a hit or miss.  When it's bad, it's downright foul, but when it's good, it's *amazing*.  I know most foods are best consumed when fresh, but when it comes to uni, it has to be SUPER fresh in order for it to be good, otherwise, it's just a slimy, smelly disgusting mess.

Uni has a very unique texture.  When it's bad, it can get all liquid-y and appear to be "melting", but when it's good, it's suppose to be like a jelly foam in your mouth.  Before consuming, it should be firm and be able to hold its own, but when it's in your mouth, it's extremely easy to chew through and is all light, airy and delicious. 

I've had the fortune of being able to have some extremely fresh uni.  One time, I've even had the itamae crack open a live sea urchin in front of me and serve it to me immediately.  It was amazing.  All you adventurous eaters out there must try uni!

Here are all the different ways that I've ever had uni:

Stirred into pasta


As nigiri


As nigiri with a quail egg


As sashimi


As a shooter with sake with a quail egg


Fresh...


And served on its shell and a bed of ice while the spikes are still moving!


And straight from the tray, like a savage!

I can't wait to try uni in risotto!
Uni

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
January 27, 2010
I love Uni! I also love the live ones at Sushi Raw (friends with the owner) I need to try the uni shots! Thanks for the great write up and photos, Lady D! I am hungry!
January 27, 2010
Thanks, Woo! I've never been to Sushi Raw before. I'll have to check them out! I had the live uni above at Live Sushi Bar in Potrero Hill. Yum :)
 
October 18, 2009
oooooh, if you find a uni risotto recipe, please, you MUST share!
November 03, 2009
Will do! I'm still dying to try it myself! :)
 
September 14, 2009
I think we have very similar taste in food. Would be nice to go out for lunch, esp if JR is picking up the tab! ;-) Let's have some unagi, uni and ikura. I love ikura, but only if served in Japan. They are best and extremely fresh in Tokyo! You must try it when you get a chance. I've not had any good ones outside Japan though.
September 14, 2009
Haha, wouldn't that be nice?! :P  My dream Japanese meal would be uni, toro and I'd love to try fugu.  I've only ever had ikura in the States before, but wasn't really a fan.  Will definitely have to check it out when I'm in Japan again!
 
1
More Uni reviews
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2010
posted in Gourmand
It may look like baby poop but can be delicious if served fresh. AKA Sea urchin
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Uni is reserved for the bold risk takers. It is definitely at hit or miss, but if you hit the bulls eye--you won't regret it.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Uni is Japanese for sea urchin, a spiny sea animal in which its ovaries, or the roe, is edible.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Ebi

Sashimi

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists