|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Vietnamese Drip Coffee » User review

Vietnamese coffee

Coffee, Vietnamese style.

< read all 4 reviews

Coffee, Vietnamese style

  • Sep 12, 2009
Rating:
+5
I love coffee and have had my fair share of coffee everywhere in the world. For most part, it is the coffee beans or powder that makes the aroma and taste special. In Asia, we are blessed with many good coffee around and although I've likings for specific brands or origins of the coffee, I've yet found a special way of serving or branding that makes a coffee consistently turns out great. Except when it comes to Vietnamese Drip Coffee. I do not believe the coffee powder is different here from any other (in fact, it's probably the most common available since it's served in all Vietnamese restaurants) but I was able to find consistently good Vietnamese Drip Coffee no matter which Vietnamese restaurants I go to. These restaurants are also found in abundant in L.A., San Francisco, Vancouver & Toronto. Great restaurants, not just for coffee but also for authentic Vietnamese food!



Vietnamese Drip Coffee are served hot while you let it drip slowly into the condensed milk. When that's done, mix it well and then pour it over a glass of ice. That is better than any Starbucks or Pacific Coffee!
It usually costs about $2 to $3 and try to order it while you are ordering your food as it'll take time for the coffee to drip. 

Iced Coffee with milk in Vietnamese is ca phe sua da.
Hot Coffee with milk in Vietnamese is ca phe sua nong.



Tip: The coffee dripper is very simple and can be bought from Chinatown or Vietnamese supply stores for a meagre sum and it's very easy to clean. Perhaps this is a good alternative to any coffee maker or dripper you might find in the market? I think each one costs less than $5!!!
Coffee, Vietnamese style

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
February 14, 2010
I have one of those metal coffee makers but have never used it (yet). Looks a lot like Thai coffee. I will have to try making coffee with the coffee dripper and see if I can replicate the coffee in the photo. I usually make my Vietnamese coffee in a regular auto drip.
February 14, 2010
Great! I don't really make my own coffee, Vietnamese coffee is offered in all Vietnamese restaurants and there are plenty around... hence, I ordered it & that's how it's served :)
 
September 17, 2009
Mmmmm, I love Vietnamese ice coffee!  They go perfectly with a lunch of pho or a bahn mi sandwich :)

I picked up one of those little coffee contraptions at a Vietnamese market for $3.99, by the way.  They can be a bit of a pain to open and clean, but it's still worth it.
September 17, 2009
It might be because it's still new. I love pho too and those Vietnamese springrolls. Asian food are great, aren't they?
September 17, 2009
Have you tried the Greek Frappe as well? Great ice coffee. I love it! And you can also make this one on your own!
September 17, 2009
Yes, Asian foods are awesome!  That's why I write reviews on things like dim sum, Chinese tea culture, and sashimi :)  And no, I've never heard of a Greek Frappe before, will have to take a look!
September 17, 2009
Don't get me started ;-) I'll write on Indonesian food later when I get the chance. Got a plane to catch in a few hours!
September 17, 2009
Keep up the good work! I love your reviews on food!
September 17, 2009
Thanks, Sharrie! And I'm looking forward to that Indonesian food review. I've never had before!
 
1
More Vietnamese Drip Coffee reviews
Quick Tip by . May 12, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
Very rich, very caffeine laden. All good.
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
Warning: quite strong! But soooo delicious.
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2009
Vietnamese iced coffee=one of my favorite drinks to have along with a bowl of pho or a bahn mi sandwich for lunch!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

 Ca phe sua da or cafe sua da (Vietnamese: cà phê sữa đá) is a unique Vietnamese coffee recipe. Literally, ca phe sua da means "iced coffee with milk". Ca phe sua da can be made simply by mixing brewed black coffee with about a quarter to a half as much sweetened condensed milk and then pouring it over ice.

Many Vietnamese immigrants in the Southern United States, particularly in Louisiana, use the regional dark French roast coffee, often with chicory. Otherwise they use an imported Vietnamese-grown and medium-roasted coffee without chicory. The coffee is traditionally coarsely ground, then individually brewed with a small metal Vietnamese drip filter (cà phê phin), into a cup containing the condensed milk. The condensed milk and coffee are stirred together and poured over ice. In modern times some people add whipped cream on top.

Ca phe sua nong (Vietnamese: cà phê sữa nóng) — literally, "hot coffee with milk", also called café filtre - is made without ice. Vietnamese coffee prepared without the sweetened-condensed milk and served hot is called (cà phê đen nong, literally, "hot black coffee").

Coffee was introduced into Viet Nam by French colonists in the late 19th century. Viet Nam quickly became a strong exporter of coffee. The beverage was adopted with regional variations. Because of limitations on the availability of fresh milk, the French and Vietnamese ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists