|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Final Fantasy VI » User review

gameplay img

Sixth installment of the popular Final Fantasy franchise

< read all 9 reviews

A nice addition to the Final Fantasy games on GBA

  • Jan 29, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
I've loved the Final Fantasy games on the GBA ever since I discovered them years ago. I never played the older versions, so the storylines were new to me, as well. This was another great addition that has quickly become one of my favorites although it had a shaky start.

Story-This game takes place years in the future, and I think that it is a different planet than earth. The ability to use magic has been lost after a huge war, and most people have started living very peacefully. However, one man wants to reawaken the power to use magic and invents something called Magitek which is basically a surgical way of putting magic into a person. The game starts off, however, with a girl named Terra, who has a real ability of magic. There is a short opening scene, then some fights take place. It soon becomes evident that she has been brainwashed and is being used. She escapes from her captors, and is found by a rebel group called the Returners and joins them in their fight against this evil man. You gradually gain new members as the game moves on, and each of them has a special attack they can do in battle as well as the ability to learn Magitek via crystals. More on that later.

Graphics-While the previous Final Fantasy games for GBA had really small characters, this games has really huge characters. It was a little hard to get used to, but I did get used to it. The backgrounds are pretty nice, though.

Sound-I don't play these games for the music, so I don't really remember it, but the songs that I do remember were really nice.

Gameplay-There is a lot of fighting in this game, if you haven't already guessed. When you encounter an enemy (it's random as you are walking around outside), you have four characters in your group that will fight. They all have the attack command, a special move unique to each, magic (eventually), and an ability to use an item. Once you find crystals in the game, you can use them to teach magical spells to your characters. Each battle you fight, you gain magic points which go toward teaching spells. It's really quite simple. Also, at several points in the game, you have the ability to choose the four characters in your group (at the beginning, it's chosen for you), and I found this very customizable. There are, of course, new weapons and armor that you can equip on your character, and there are several back stories that you can do if you wish.

Fun-This game is a blast, although the story is a little bland at the beginning. Keep playing the game, and it will keep getting better.

Length-This is a pretty long game. I was about to finish it (I thought) when I realized that there was a whole other half to the game! I was pleasantly shocked, and I found this made it like 2 games in one! The length is a good 50 hours at least. It's really probably more up near 100 hours the first time you play, and at the end of the game, there are several new locations that open up with some new backstories that are REALLY hard. This game has a lot of game time!

Overall, this is a great fighting game, that I recommend to any player 10 years and up. The story is a blast, the gameplay is fun, and it is just an all-around fun game!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Final Fantasy VI reviews
review by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
What happened in the three hours of the game?   After awaking from a sleep, you realize you remember nothing of your past or of who you are. A old man kindly helps you, but that time is cut short as the empire comes to the town looking t o arrest you. The old man points you in the direction of the town mines. As you make your way there you're corned by emperial guards. You happen to fall down a hole and fall unconscious. you awake to find that a thief who is part of the resistance, …
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
A TRUE masterpiece and is where the Final Fantasy series peaked. One of the best in story and gameplay. Any fan of RPG's owe it themselves to play this game. 14 main playable characters, espers, tactical war battles, and steam-punk elements with some of the best written characters around. If you're not happy with it you should just stop playing RPG's right now.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
One of the best Final Fantasy games ever created, imo.
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
The first FF I ever played, and still my favorite FF. Probably from nostalgia, but I've played it in more recent years and it remains as good as the day I took its virginity. Everything is so... flawless (next to Chrono Trigger, of course, which is even more perfect). Personally, it's got my favorite villain, favorite setting, and favorite story of all FFs, not to mention the most likable cast ever. Oh, and I could pilot an airship. Bring it back Versus!
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
The first FF I ever played, and still my favorite FF. Probably from nostalgia, but I've played it in more recent years and it remains as good as the day I took its virginity. Everything is so... flawless (next to Chrono Trigger, of course, which is even more perfect). Personally, it's got my favorite villain, favorite setting, and favorite story of all FFs, not to mention the most likable cast ever.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
Great story with even better music. Interesting stat building system. The villain would laugh at Sephiroth (litterally) as he performed something that many villains only dream of. Many of the characters have great, heartfelt stories. There are points in the game where it seems to lose a little focus, but it is worth it in the end. The ending is very exciting with a great musical score attached. This is one of my favorite RPGs of all time.
Quick Tip by . September 26, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
More characters and drama in what is to me, the last good Final Fantasy game before Playstation got it's hooks into it.
review by . March 07, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
The Final Fantasy series is one of the most popular franchises in all of gaming.  While Final Fantasy VII is often considered the best, the Final Fantasy that made it possible, and has long been hailed as the greatest of the sixteen bit era was Final Fantasy VI.  There are still several long time Final Fantasy fans who consider it to be the best in the series to this very day, in spite of gaming moving far beyond that.  The game was first released as Final Fantasy III on the Super …
About the reviewer
JJ ()
Ranked #160
Hey there! My name is JJ, and I've developed a real love for reviewing in the past few years; Lunch.com is one of my recent challenges. It is my desire as a reviewer on Lunch to write helpful, easy-to-understand … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJJ411
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this game

Wiki

Final Fantasy VI is a console role-playing game developed and published by Square (now Square Enix) in 1994 as a part of the Final Fantasy series. The game first appeared on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, then was ported by TOSE with minor differences to Sony's PlayStation and Nintendo's Game Boy Advance. It was first released in North America as "Final Fantasy III", although the original title has been restored in later releases.

The game's story focuses on a group of rebels as they seek to overthrow an imperial dictatorship. Final Fantasy VI was the first game in the series to be directed by someone other than producer and series creator Hironobu Sakaguchi; the role was filled instead by Yoshinori Kitase and Hiroyuki Itō. Released to critical acclaim, the game is regarded as a landmark of the series and of the role-playing genre.

Final Fantasy VI has more battle customization options than its predecessors and has the largest playable cast in the Final Fantasy series to date, excluding spin-off titles. It remains widely praised for its storyline and characters.
view wiki

Tags

Games, Video Games, Gaming, Game, Final Fantasy, Ff6, Ffvi, Final Fantasy 6

Details

Polls with this game
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists