|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Final Fantasy VI » User review

gameplay img

Sixth installment of the popular Final Fantasy franchise

< read all 9 reviews

One of the Many Greats of the Final Fantasy Series.

  • Feb 21, 2011
Rating:
+5

What happened in the three hours of the game?
After awaking from a sleep, you realize you remember nothing of your past or of who you are. A old man kindly helps you, but that time is cut short as the empire comes to the town looking t o arrest you. The old man points you in the direction of the town mines. As you make your way there you're corned by emperial guards. You happen to fall down a hole and fall unconscious. you awake to find that a thief who is part of the resistance, has rescued you. You escape the town with the help of this thief and make your way to a nearby castle where you meet other members of the resistance. This is where your adventure begins.
 

What was the most challenging part you completed?
The last few boss battles before you get to the final boss. If you weren't well equipped or you were under-leveled prior to these fight you would know it. the bosses hit hard. I had the strongest spell in the game (Ultima) and still had a hard time with these last couple of bosses.
 


What was the best part of the story?
Getting to second world. Those of you who played this game know about the story up til this point. This is possibly the best part of the game. The whole game does a 360 and you virtually start the game over again on a New Game+ save. That's how I saw it at least. It was fun going through this part of the game. it was a new adventure in and of itself
 

Share the most innovative gameplay mechanic.
The Espers hands down. They provided a nice boost to your stats when you leveled up or a nice boost as a passive ability. You were only given a small amount to begin with (once you unlocked the ability to use them) and getting the rest of them was your responsibility. You had to search for these magical creatures on your own.Some were really easy to miss, others were right in your face. You didn't have to search for them though. It was entirely up to the player to decide if they wanted to search for them.
 

What ice cream flavor best represents this game?
Final Fantasy VI is more like the building blocks of ice cream. You can modify the recipe to however you want. It's such a fun thing to tinker with until you get just the right taste that you want. With a cast of 14 characters, your party can vary each time you play through this game. Adding in all the the esper stat boosts, you can make your characters stats to however you want.
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
March 21, 2011
Classic FF. Love it!
 
1
More Final Fantasy VI reviews
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
A TRUE masterpiece and is where the Final Fantasy series peaked. One of the best in story and gameplay. Any fan of RPG's owe it themselves to play this game. 14 main playable characters, espers, tactical war battles, and steam-punk elements with some of the best written characters around. If you're not happy with it you should just stop playing RPG's right now.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
One of the best Final Fantasy games ever created, imo.
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
The first FF I ever played, and still my favorite FF. Probably from nostalgia, but I've played it in more recent years and it remains as good as the day I took its virginity. Everything is so... flawless (next to Chrono Trigger, of course, which is even more perfect). Personally, it's got my favorite villain, favorite setting, and favorite story of all FFs, not to mention the most likable cast ever. Oh, and I could pilot an airship. Bring it back Versus!
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
The first FF I ever played, and still my favorite FF. Probably from nostalgia, but I've played it in more recent years and it remains as good as the day I took its virginity. Everything is so... flawless (next to Chrono Trigger, of course, which is even more perfect). Personally, it's got my favorite villain, favorite setting, and favorite story of all FFs, not to mention the most likable cast ever.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
Great story with even better music. Interesting stat building system. The villain would laugh at Sephiroth (litterally) as he performed something that many villains only dream of. Many of the characters have great, heartfelt stories. There are points in the game where it seems to lose a little focus, but it is worth it in the end. The ending is very exciting with a great musical score attached. This is one of my favorite RPGs of all time.
Quick Tip by . September 26, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
More characters and drama in what is to me, the last good Final Fantasy game before Playstation got it's hooks into it.
review by . January 29, 2010
I've loved the Final Fantasy games on the GBA ever since I discovered them years ago. I never played the older versions, so the storylines were new to me, as well. This was another great addition that has quickly become one of my favorites although it had a shaky start.    Story-This game takes place years in the future, and I think that it is a different planet than earth. The ability to use magic has been lost after a huge war, and most people have started living very peacefully. …
review by . March 07, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
The Final Fantasy series is one of the most popular franchises in all of gaming.  While Final Fantasy VII is often considered the best, the Final Fantasy that made it possible, and has long been hailed as the greatest of the sixteen bit era was Final Fantasy VI.  There are still several long time Final Fantasy fans who consider it to be the best in the series to this very day, in spite of gaming moving far beyond that.  The game was first released as Final Fantasy III on the Super …
About the reviewer
Dominic Peterson ()
Ranked #365
I'm Pretty laid back. Most people see sitting at home playing games all day a waste, I see it as a way to connect to people around the world.   Recently I've taken a liking to doing … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TokenDP
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this game

Wiki

Final Fantasy VI is a console role-playing game developed and published by Square (now Square Enix) in 1994 as a part of the Final Fantasy series. The game first appeared on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, then was ported by TOSE with minor differences to Sony's PlayStation and Nintendo's Game Boy Advance. It was first released in North America as "Final Fantasy III", although the original title has been restored in later releases.

The game's story focuses on a group of rebels as they seek to overthrow an imperial dictatorship. Final Fantasy VI was the first game in the series to be directed by someone other than producer and series creator Hironobu Sakaguchi; the role was filled instead by Yoshinori Kitase and Hiroyuki Itō. Released to critical acclaim, the game is regarded as a landmark of the series and of the role-playing genre.

Final Fantasy VI has more battle customization options than its predecessors and has the largest playable cast in the Final Fantasy series to date, excluding spin-off titles. It remains widely praised for its storyline and characters.
view wiki

Tags

Games, Video Games, Gaming, Game, Final Fantasy, Ffvi, Final Fantasy 6, Ff6

Details

Polls with this game
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists