|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Casino » Reviews » Slot Machines » User review

Slot Machines

A casino gambling machine with three or more reels which spin when a button is pushed.

< read all 2 reviews

Why Did Slot Machines Stop Accepting Coins?

  • Sep 3, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-5
Some people really like to play the slots. When visiting a casino, I am always struck by the solitary gamblers sitting in front of these machines looking slightly mesmerized. I myself have never been a fan. I did enjoy the noises and lights that contributed to the background ambiance in a casino, but actually playing them has little appeal. I like casino gambling, but it is the social element that makes it so fun. Sitting with friends (or even strangers) at a blackjack or craps table is infinitely more more than playing alone.

Nevertheless slot machines served an awesomely fun purpose that I always appreciated. While in Vegas, it was a great thing to do with pocket change. When walking through a casino, they were a good way to get rid of the quarters in my pocket. On the way to a meal, or up to the room, I would drop in the $1.25 in quarters and see what happened. So it is with disdain that I noticed several years ago that slot machines stopped accepting quarters.

Now one is required to insert bills or a voucher. Why did they do this? Dropping a few quarters in on the way to the pool is fun...sliding in a $20 and sidling up to a slot machine is kind of depressing and not something I would want to do. Not only that, but the sound of coins dropping used to be such a integral part of casinos. Now there are no "jackpot sounds"...instead, for some reason, they have annoyingly themed slots that belt out "Wheel of Fortune" every five minutes. It is akin to taking a stroll through a forest and realizing that something has silenced all of the birds.

I still find myself glad to have a few quarters when I am in Vegas before realizing that the slots don't want them. I have never heard the explanation for the change. I am sure it reduces the number of players...but I wonder if people lose their vouchers and this increases profits. Has anyone else felt this way about the change?
Slot Machine

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
25
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
September 16, 2011
Save your money !
 
June 10, 2011
Boring, isn't it? For me, this tedious procedure ruined the appeal the slot gambling, which was always based on the immediacy of its access.
 
February 04, 2010
I have never gotten lucky at the casinos but whenever I get the chance I would rather play the lottery. Nice job
 
January 04, 2010
I like casinos but I don't really like playing, probably because I never did win! However, they switched it to bills & vouchers possibly that's the easiest way for casinos to win big!
 
September 09, 2009
nice point of view. I feel the same way about sliding in a $ 20 bill. I would like to have the option of using coins...
September 09, 2009
Thanks...I felt like it was fun to be able to use the quarters too.
 
September 03, 2009
Great review and interesting point of view!  I can see how people can miss the coin machines for nostalgic reasons, but I actually see the implementation of vouchers as a positive change.  People no longer have to lug around cups of change and have the chance of spilling it.  Furthermore, the vouchers make it super easy for you to collect your winnings at those automated machines.  And something tells me that this change wouldn't deter old school gamblers who still want to gamble! :P
September 03, 2009
You like the vouchers??? Well, I see you point about lugging the cups around.
September 03, 2009
Not that I've ever gone gambling much, but yup, I actually do! No more having to deal with change. I admit that the vouchers are pretty flimsy though, but I could've sworn that I've seen some places with credit card-like vouchers before. Much more sturdy. It'd be great if that were standard.
 
September 03, 2009
Hey Dan! Another thought-provoking review...nice! I used to work Entertainment for Harrah's and have your answer for you- it cuts down on labor to stock the machines with the coins, it also cuts down the number of times machines break down and has the added benefit of cutting down noise. There are still some of the older machines in existence and even some of the newer ones make the jackpot noises. Working 10+ hours in a casino, I was quite happy with the noise reduction! But, I agree with you and like playing social gambling games such as craps and blackjack, so maybe that biases my opinion as well!
 
1
More Slot Machines reviews
review by . June 23, 2010
In a casino, the only games worth playing are Blackjack and Poker - the first due to the state maintained between each round, unlike games such as roulette, and the latter due to the fact that the house doesn't take a cut and it's somewhat down to the skill of the players.      Slot machines, on the other hand, are mathematically even worse than playing Craps. The software on a slot machine in many jurisdictions is based purely on a random number generator, where the …
About the reviewer

Ranked #85
I am a fan of healthy living, science fiction, the opinion page, Korean food, UCLA basketball and oatmeal.      I like to read reviews of restaurants, recipes and cooking products … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drogoff
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this game

Wiki

A slot machine (American English), fruit machine (British English), poker machine (Australian English) or simply slot (American English) is a casino gambling machine with three or more reels which spin when a button is pushed. Slot machines are also known as one-armed bandits because slot machines were originally operated by a lever on the side of the machine (the one arm) instead of a button on the front panel, and because of their ability to leave the gamer penniless. Many modern machines still have a legacy lever in addition to the button.

Slot machines include a currency detector that validates the coin or money inserted to play. The machine pays off based on patterns of symbols visible on the front of the machine when it stops. Modern computer technology has resulted in many variations on the slot machine concept. Slot machines are the most popular gambling method in casinos and constitute about 70 percent of the average casino's income. It is estimated that thirty percent or more of the profits from gambling machines come from problem gamblers.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this game
Baccarat

Ocean 21

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists