|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » Fourth of July » User review

Independence Day

A federal holiday commemorating the adoption of the Declaration of Independence.

< read all 2 reviews

Let's not make it just another reason to party.

  • Jul 2, 2009
Rating:
+5
Fourth of July! Picnics, barbecues, parades, family reunions. This year, probably a good dose of Tea Parties too. Two hundred and thirty three years since  the United States became independent, a great reason to celebrate! Is that really why we get together though? Or is it just another holiday?

There is this interesting characteristic that humans have, give them a reason to party  - they'll jump right on it. Everyone plans events and activities for any holiday or day off that they can get their hands on. Yes, I am often on that boat too. But my question is, do we fail to remember the reasons behind those holidays? More importantly, how independent are the United States? Look around, what do you see?

I see a country that once was great but has been looted by greedy people, greedy for money and power. I see a people that have become slaves to their government, not a government that serves the people. I see corruption on all levels of power. I see that the Constitution has been trampled and abandoned by many. What this country once was, it is no longer. I don't think it ever will be what it was either. The pattern follows too closely those of fallen empires of world history.

Is there justification for war based on world domination and not self defense? Is there justification for taking the hard earned money of the people and spending it without any liability and failing to report where it was spent? Can someone please tell me when was the last time a politician promised something and delivered on that promise? I know Pamela from California would agree it was way too long ago.

Does anyone else see that freedom is nothing but an illusion? Democracy has become just a word, not reality! Both of the major political parties are servants of themselves, not the people. Even sadder is the fact that the younger generations will not see this because they have been too busy buying into the entertainment abyss so conveniently created to distract us while the country  is looted. To make matters worse, free thinking is discouraged in our public school and children believe every word the media feeds them. If you don't see the media censorship yet, open your eyes and ears. If you disagree that public schools fail to educate, listen to the words of Charlotte Iserbyt and you will know what the purpose of public schooling is.

This Independence Day remember what this country once was and celebrate the good that's left of it! Remind our government that they exist to serve the people, not the other way around! 

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." ~Benjamin Franklin

"I believe there are more instances of the abridgment of the freedom of the people by gradual and silent encroachments of those in power than by violent and sudden usurpations." ~James Madison

“Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.” ~Martin Luther King Jr.

“Mankind must put an end to war, or war will put an end to mankind” ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
July 05, 2009
have you read Martin Luther King's speech about Vietnam? He has some good answers that he was ready to work on that addressed wars outside the US before he was assasinated.
July 06, 2009
I haven't read it, I've got to find some time for that, thanks for pointing it out!
 
July 05, 2009
http://www.karmatube.org/videos.php?id=1549 has a video about a doctor that has as his life goal: "cure cancer". I know there are people that are trying to end this war and that war. What do you think it will take to end all wars? I think we need a few more smart people that dedicate their lives to it. One of the biggest conflicts in my mind on July 4th is how such a government that promotes security and protection for it's citizens can take the tax dollars of it's citizens and amass such a stock pile of weapons (of mass destruction and weapons in general). Reading your write up was helpful for me. "duality of mankind"?
July 06, 2009
I think wars would only end with the end of the human race. Possibly with 'one world government' too, but that would not be an end to oppression and revolts. Thanks for the link and the comment!
July 06, 2009
I don't think we should work to end wars nor is there a need to end the human race to end wars. We're just too good at blowing each other up nowadays. Some warriors have justified causes, so conflict must exist. We just need to figure out how to keep scale down our weapons and our wars. It's so scary how catastrophic it can get. It's been on my mind alot these days. All these stupid man-made "intractable" wars. One global government? ...neah. Smaller nations where people can actually reach and have debate with leadership would be nice I think. I'm more of a humanist. I think we just don't know how to pick good leadership these days. We vote with our dollars for MacDonalds, Coke and Michael Jackson. I need to get better at voting with my feet :-) and thanks for your thoughts as well.
July 07, 2009
I'm sorry, I meant 'one world government' in a sarcastic kind of way, in other words - I am against it, and more for smaller individual countries thinking for themselves where the people have more power than the government. Anyhow, thanks for all your extremely thought-provoking thoughts!
 
July 05, 2009
nicely composed write up. excellent use of the quotes!
July 06, 2009
Thanks Will!
 
July 02, 2009
To quote "V": People should never be afraid of their government. The government should be afraid of the people.. I was a River Rat in Nam. Freedom isn't free. It takes pain.
July 02, 2009
Thanks for the comment John! Of all people I know you can relate.
 
1
More Fourth of July reviews
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2011
posted in Inspirations
Caption
One of my very best friends' birthday. Happy Birthday, Debbie! Happy Birthday, America! July 2011 is a busy month for me. I'm incorporating a new company in the coming days. So, should it be on Canada Day, Fourth of July or ? My dad's and another good friend's birthday is also in July!               So, anyone knows when is Lunch's birthday?!?!?!     
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #23
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this government

Wiki

A federal holiday commemorating the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, declaring independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain. Independence Day is commonly associated with fireworks, parades, barbecues, carnivals, picnics, concerts, baseball games, political speeches and ceremonies, and various other public and private events celebrating the history, government, and traditions of the United States. 

One of the most enduring myths about Independence Day is that Congress signed the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776. The myth had become so firmly established that, decades after the event and nearing the end of their lives, even the elderly Thomas Jefferson and John Adams had come to believe that they and the other delegates had signed the Declaration on the fourth. Most delegates actually signed the Declaration on August 2, 1776. In a remarkable series of coincidences, both John Adams and Thomas Jefferson, two founding fathers of the United States and the only two men who signed the Declaration of Independence to become president, died on the same day: July 4, 1826, which was the United States' 50th anniversary. President James Monroe died exactly five years later, on July 4, 1831, but he was not a signatory to the Declaration of Independence.

source: Wikipedia
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists