|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Travel » Reviews » Casa Tortugas, Punta Mita » User review

Casa Tortugas, Punta Mita

Private house for rent in Punta Mita

< read all 3 reviews

Nice House, Shady Owner...

  • Aug 23, 2010
Rating:
-5

I booked a house called Casa Tortugas in Punta Mita Mexico.  Myself and six others.  I booked it though La Punta Realty... http://www.lapuntarealty.com/tortugas/  As you can see, a very nice house right on the water.  When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly helper (forget his name) who takes care of the renters needs etc.  He showed us around and was very helpful.  What we didn't know is he as keeping tabs on us each day and reporting back to the American owner.  They did not like the fact it was all guys in the house.  We were very respectful and didn't have any parties, for the most part it was very mellow.  If you rent this house here's a tip.  Don't let them buy groceries without you giving a specific list.  They kept buying things we didn't need and way too much food, all of which was charged on my credit card, or should I say overcharged at the end of the trip.  I believe this is their strategy so the maid and helpers can keep the food themselves at the end of the trip.

Here's the "Shady Owner" situation.  When I arrived back home in CA I noticed that my security deposit was not sent out.  I called La Punta Realty and they said they were keeping my $2500!  This is after we had a perfect walk through of the house before our departure, no problems at all, nothing mentioned.  So it came as a huge surprise when they said we "cracked the bottom of the pool"!  How would one crack the bottom of a swimming pool?  Yeah, I rented a waterproof jackhammer and went nuts.  La Punta said the pool was empty when we left and that we were at fault.  Laughable.  I even have photos of the final day showing a very full pool.  I showed this as evidence and they wouldn't listen.  After fighting with them for 2 months I gave up, they were keeping my $2500 and there was nothing I could do about it.  Take caution when renting Casa Tortugas, if the owner wants your deposit, he will lie and keep every penny.  You've been warned.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
August 27, 2010
Wow -- what a great response to your problem. This doesn't happen very often!
 
August 26, 2010
I will admit after spending the weekend at Casa Siete I had grand visions of having my 40th in Mita.... but after reading the Tortuga review I thought twice. This is a great ending to bad situations..... Bravo LPR.
 
August 26, 2010
@LaPuntaRealty : I really appreciate the offer to make up for a really terrible situation. I logged many hours of frustrating phone calls as you probably remember. Hopefully I can take you up on your offer. Thanks again.
 
August 25, 2010
Hello DukeSkywatcher, Our head concierge remembers your group. It was 2 years ago, a few months before we sold Casa Tortugas to a NEW owner who is consistently kind, generous and very professional. Unfortunately the last owner got in over her head buying the home. She was a mortgage broker who defaulted on her mortgage? and was force into an auction...unheard of down here, so she was quite desperate and behaved irrationally. What is worse is, she demanded an increase in daily rate after all was paid for and contracts set DAYS before your arrival. It was quite the scandal. We were forced to give up our commission or they wouldn't let your group in the house. Then after she screwed you on the deposit...ugh! We didn't direct renters to the house again until the new buyer arrived. He is good man of considerable means who is very eager to please his visitors to Casa Tortugas. On behalf of La Punta Realty, I offer you a long weeked at Punta Vista Signature Residences http://puntavistasignature.com Just let us know the size of your group! Also, I have notified the current owner of Casa Tortugas and I know he will want to help remove that bad taste in your mouth. Saludos! Rejane Narbonnet La Punta Realty Christie's Great Estates
August 26, 2010
Hi Rejane. This is such a great response to a terrible situation and as an outside observer to this situation, all i can say is "bravo!" The current owner of Casa Tortugas must be ecstatic with your work to clear up all of the shady issues with the previous owner. It great to have a place like Lunch to get this issues cleared up because without it, there is no way to tell how many travelers and customers have been discouraged from visiting Punta Mita (or any other Mexican cities) due to stories like this. By stepping up and clearing the air and attempting to do right by @DukeSkywatcher, you have not only helped the owner of Casa Tortugas attract more business and helped La Punta Realty maintain its strong reputation, but also all of the hotels, restaurants, and businesses in Punta Mita by setting this straight. My experiences down there working with La Punta Realty in Punta Mita have been fantastic and i'm glad this not so fantastic experience is finally getting sorted out.  Bravo Rejane!
 
August 24, 2010
Wow, that is one of the worst rental experience I've ever heard. Hard to believe that they could get away with something like that, especially when you did a walk through and took photos (very smart of you, btw!). Seems like you should keep fighting them - $2500 is a lot of money for a security deposit. Take'em to court! Sorry for the negative experience, but it is a good lesson to learn - be weary of random rental houses with sketchy owners!
 
August 24, 2010
Ouch, that does sound very shady indeed!  And the part where they keep tabs on you and report back to someone is thoroughly creepy.  Did you complain to La Punta Realty?  You should check out @jrjohnson's review of Casa Siete, also through the La Punta Realty network, but it seems much better. Sorry to hear about your bad experience.  Better luck next time!
 
1
More Casa Tortugas, Punta Mita reviews
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
Hi DukeSkywatcher....I am one of the new owners of Casa Tortugas and would welcome any further investigation of this matter. It is true that the former owners were in financial difficulty and if, as a result, they treated you poorly, we are truly sorry. That said, please let us know if you would like to revisit as we would be happy to give you a 50% discounted rate to attempt to make up for this unfortunate situation. In any event, we would certainly never ask to keep anyone's security deposit unless …
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
Hello DukeSkywatcher, Our head concierge remembers your group. It was 2 years ago, a few months before we sold Casa Tortugas to a NEW owner who is consistently kind, generous and very professional. Unfortunately the last owner got in over her head buying the home. She was a mortgage broker who defaulted on her mortgage? and was force into an auction...unheard of down here, so she was quite desperate and behaved irrationally. What is worse is, she demanded an increase in daily rate after all was …
About the reviewer
Jim Tucker ()
Ranked #829
Member Since: Aug 23, 2010
Last Login: Feb 15, 2011 10:29 PM UTC
About this hotel

Wiki

Tags

Travel, Business, Hotel, Unique Hotels, Mexico, Punta Mita, Casa Tortugas, La Punta Realty, Rental Houses

Details

Address: Chacala 63715, Mexico

First to Review

"Nice House, Shady Owner..."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists