|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Astronaut » Reviews » Galactic Suite Space Hotel » User review

Galactic Suite Space Hotel

An Earth-orbitting space hotel planned to open in 2012

< read all 4 reviews

It's out of this world!

  • Nov 11, 2009
Rating:
+5
Ever dream of traveling into space and orbiting around the Earth in your own hotel suite? Of course, everybody does. Alas, I got distracted from my childhood dreams of becoming an astronaut and going boldly where no person has gone before. But seriously, how cool would it be to spend a weekend in your own personal Star Trek holideck?
 
The Galactic Suite Space Resort opens for business in 2012 and is already taking reservations. For the low, low price of just $4.4 million this space travel brochure can turn into a reality. It’s a bargain compared to what I hear billionaires are paying to go into space these days.
 
So what does your $4.4 mil get you? For two weeks you train on a tropical island (hmm, I think I can handle that!).  They teach you how to handle going into space, how to use your space suit, how to function in outer space and of course the process of returning to the earth’s atmosphere.
Once the two-week, remote, paradise training is complete, you strap onto a Russian Soyuz rocket with your fellow millionaire hotel-mates and blast off into space, destination Space Hotel.  After 36 hours of orbiting earth the rocket docks with the hotel, all the guests and their luggage is unloaded for a pleasant 3-day stay at the Space Resort.
 
During your space weekend the hotel orbits the Earth every 80 minutes – giving you almost 18 sunrises and sunsets every day. The possibilities of what you could or would want to do in your hotel room in space for 3 days are endless. I’m sure they’ll have a long list of “not allowed” activities but who cares, you’re in space.
 
After what could only be described as the best 3 days of your life, you get back aboard your space capsule and return to Earth. I can’t imagine a better way to spend $4.4 million on yourself.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
42
Thought-Provoking
36
Fun to Read
39
Well-Organized
32
Post a Comment
October 07, 2011
The price is right for multi-millionaires.
 
April 01, 2011
I hate to rain on folks' parade but I have no idea how such a resort could make it by 2012 given the current state of commercial orbital space travel..... However, this is a cool idea. I just would expect at least a few delays in opening.
 
May 18, 2010
Maybe I should just call you 'Martha Jetson' from now on!
 
January 09, 2010
If I had that kind of money, I would go in a heartbeat. What a dream come true! Thanks for a great, amusing, thoughtful review.
 
December 10, 2009
Only $4.4M? Just kidding! It is totally out of this world, including the price tag. Fortunately, I've never dreamed of becoming an astronaut, so I'm not THAT tempted. ;-)
 
November 13, 2009
4.4 million?! US$ presumably! Oh, well, the imagination of billionaires knows no boundaries! But 2012 still has some time to go, let's all go buy lotteries!
 
November 13, 2009
Awesome info. Thanks for sharing. I now have a new item on my "what am I gonna do with all that money that coming to me just around the corner" list.

What kind of "not allowed" activities are you talking about?  For $4 million I better be able to make a space baby up there!  Would that kid be an "alien" by immigration and/or science fiction standards?  Hmmmm....

Gotta go now.  Lottery tickets need to be purchased.
 
November 12, 2009
I wonder who will be first in line. I also wonder how much two weeks can really prepare you for space...i spent about that amount of time preparing for a month long stay in Kenya. It just seems really intense. Hopefully the price will drop down enough so we can all go!
November 28, 2009
I suppose the training will be like going to space camp, but your right it's not a lot of time and given that it's on an exotic island, I do wonder how much time is spent actually learning. Pretty wild!
 
November 12, 2009
Wow, this is nuts! Personally I'd be too chicken to do this, but it really is interesting to learn about! thanks!
November 28, 2009
It sounds kind of scary, but I'm sure it would be worth it!
 
November 12, 2009
Holy wow!  Thanks for sharing, Bethany!  How trippy.  I wanna go on this, but first, I'll have to come up with a way to save up $4.4 million by 2012 :P

I bet Richard Branson has reservations already.  Oh wait, I bet he's probably running the thing! ;)
November 13, 2009
Yeah, the guy owns the thing, lol...
 
1
More Galactic Suite Space Hotel reviews
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
posted in Unique Hotels
Sounds like a blast, I think I'll save up for this instead of retirement
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
posted in Unique Hotels
Coolest concept for a hotel, ever! Cannot wait to see it come to fruition.
About the reviewer
Bethany ()
Ranked #20
Hello Lunchers!      I am a contributing writer foran onlinelife and style website that highlights hot-spots in Minneapolis and Chicago. As such, I frequent many new boutiques, restaurants, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bethany_K
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this hotel

Wiki

Galactic Suite is a planned private space station intended for use as an orbital hotel. The company behind the project, Galactic Suite Limited of Barcelona, Spain, plans to have the station operational by 2012, and says that investors have come forward to finance the station. Critics, however, have contended that the stated time-frame is unreasonable and no evidence of hardware has been produced.

 

The station began as a hobby for Xavier Claramunt, director of Galactic Suite Limited and former aerospace engineer. Galactic Suite entered development after an unnamed space enthusiast invested US$3 billion to build the space station. An American company with the goal of colonising Mars has invested in the project, and discussions are reportedly ongoing with additional private investors from Japan, the United States and the United Arab Emirates.

Designs for Galactic Suite call for a central hub with four modules radiating out, providing three bedrooms for six customers at a time. Claramunt says that while it will be a challenge to design a bathroom that works in microgravity, showers may be taken in a spa room with bubbles of floating water. The issue of moving around in space will be solved by having guests wear suits of Velcro and sticking to the module walls, similar to its use in the film 2001: A Space Odyssey. The station will orbit the Earth once every 80 minutes, providing 15 day-and-night cycles every 24 hours. Claramunt says that construction of the station will...

view wiki

Tags

Hotel, Unique Hotels, Outer Space, Space Tourism, Astronaut, Space Suits, Space Hotel

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists