|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Science Fiction » Reviews » 2001: A Space Odyssey » User review

Movie poster

A 1968 film by Stanley Kubrick.

< read all 6 reviews

The cure for insomnia or a method to suicide?

  • Aug 7, 2007
Rating:
-3
Could someone please tell me what the big deal is about this movie, please? I do enjoy Stanley Kubrick a great deal, Dr Strangelove, The Shining, Clockwork Orange, Eyes Wide Shut, all great movies. But this movie is called a "Space Odyssey", it was an odyssey I stayed awake while I watched it, or didn't kill myself. I already know that I am going to be abased by "film buffs/experts in film history" about my review of "this fine cinematic masterpiece". Consequently, whenever someone states they are an "expert in film history/film buff" it is just euphuism for "my opinion is better than yours and you don't know any better." Now we have a two disc edition, as if the movie by itself isn't long enough, we now have all extras. I think I have discovered a way to reduce crime in the world, show the violators of law the two disc special edition of "2001: Space Odyssey". I bet within three months there will be less crime.

There are some positive aspects of this movie, honestly. The cinematography in this film was wonderful, the music was amazing, the special effects were great (for 1968), but come on the story was very weak. I mean I did get the point about man, where he was, where he has been and where he is going, and all that fun stuff. However, did there really need to be ten and fifteen minute gaps with no dialogue!! Rather there would just be this classical music played at these silly points that never really seem to fit. "Look Sally it is a pen floating in the air!" There was not a single word spoken the first twenty-five minutes of the movie, just cheesy primates!!! "Are they monkeys or are they people dressed in really bad monkey costumes?" This movie could have had the same effect in an hour less, even ninety minutes less.

The characters were pointless and shallow. I think a great word here to use kids is moot. Then there is the super computer Hal 9000. I just love Hal 9000 "Dave, Dave". Drop a rock on my skull. The movie needed to focus on one aspect and stick with it. Too much trying to be "artistic" that it missed whatever point it was trying to make. I also loved the big black "surf board" that was the link to our past, present and future. I thought that was the economy that did that.

If you try and tell someone this movie was poor in quality they get bent out of shape. If someone tells you they like this movie I can accept that...maybe....not likely..., but if they tell you they enjoyed it because they feel the power of the film, then they are full of #@*! It is almost like people hear that "2001: Space Odyssey" is a great movie and therefore when they watch it they must conform or they'll be gunned down. Citizen Kane is another movie that shouldn't be accosted or the result is heresy. I will give you the 4-1-1, Citizen Kane sucked too!

When witnessing "2001: Space Odyssey", I felt like I was watching a two hour and thirty minute screensaver, after it goes for a bit the computer turns off. Sort of like my mind watching this tomfoolery disguised as marvelous motion picture. I think it would be fun to play a drinking game (alcohol will be needed) while watching this movie. The game is this; only put your mixed drink/beer/straight liquor down when there is a scene with dialogue. Unless a person has a stomach of steel and strong endurance, they will be trashed within the first fifteen minutes of regulation. As a matter of fact, I am pretty sure your sofa will look a lot like a space station and your living room another planet by the time you are done watching 2001 and playing this game.

In all honesty, "2001: Space Odyssey" is one of the first space movies that was ahead of it's time in a technical aspect, with regards to special effects and camera work. However, if you want some great science fiction watch the "Star Wars" saga. As for a science fiction film that has a philosophical vibe to it, watch the original "Solaris". Hell the remake with Clooney (which is honestly a great film) is light years better (pun intended) than this languid drivel!!!!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
December 16, 2010
Yes indeed this is way over hyped.
December 16, 2010
It is nice to know that someone else views this movie the same way. The Straw Man
 
September 14, 2010
One of the first lists I made on this site was jokingly going to be called "I Hate Your Favorite Movie" but I thought that title sounded a tad too confrontational so I changed it to "Movies I hope I Never Have to See Again" and 2001 was definitely among them. This flick just struck me from the beginning as boring and pretentious. It seemed as if Kubrick was out to make a flick that every acid head in the world would stumble out of going "Wow, man. That was heavy."
September 22, 2010
Ha ha, I love it!!! I might be the "bad guy" and just call it "I Hate Your Favorite Movie"!! I agree with you about what Kubrick's intentions were when he made this film. Was it just to trip people out? I really enjoyed "Eyes Wide Shut". I know many people didn't care for this movie, I think it is amazing. It has layers and every time I watch it I notice something else. With 2001, I think that Kubrick should have gotten some money for setting the foundation for that first screensaver.
September 22, 2010
lol. Were kindred spirits.
 
September 11, 2010
Nice review. I have to say, it has been many years since I saw this movie last. I liked it, but I would never say that it was a perfect classic. Nice review, great work in giving a negative on one movie that is seen as a true classic.
September 13, 2010
I realize my view of this movie is a little different than the norm, but I am happy you liked the review.
September 13, 2010
Hey, I like different opinions--too much agreement can be boring LOL!
September 14, 2010
Too much agreement isn't always good since it can keep more challenging things out that you never would have thought of.
 
1
More 2001: A Space Odyssey reviews
review by . March 31, 2011
  2001: A Space Odyssey is a film concerning the developement of the human race, and is broken down into four parts. The Dawn of Man, TMA-1 or Monolith on the Moon (no title card), Jupiter Mission, and Jupiter and Beyong the Infinite. It begins with The Dawn of Man, where for quite awhile nothing goes on but many apes running around. And what happens when a mysterious monolith appears? The apes begin to all crowd around it, touching it, then the next thing is one of the apes gains the knowledge …
Quick Tip by . April 25, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Over long, slow paced, & too minimalistic in terms of actual storytelling. Visually, it's absolutely stunning, but not Kubrick's best film.
review by . May 06, 2009
2001: A Space Odyssey is a breath taking look at a possible future through the eyes of Arthur C. Clarke and under the direction of Stanley Kubrick. The movie itself is more of a visual work of art than anything else. All of Kubrick's future (no pun intended) trademarks can be found in this film (cold sterile sets and the Kubrick "stare" to name a few). The two made an awesome team. A shame that they never worked with each other again. Imagine the possibilities.     The movie …
review by . July 23, 2001
posted in Movie Hype
Could someone please tell me what the big deal is about this movie, please? I do enjoy Stanley Kubrick a great deal, Dr Strangelove, The Shining, Clockwork Orange, Eyes Wide Shut, all great movies. But this movie is called a "Space Odyssey", it was an odyssey I stayed awake while I watched it.    The Cinematography was wonderful, the music was wonderful, the special effects were great (for 1968), but come on the story was very weak. I mean I did get the point about man, where …
review by . August 30, 2000
Pros: the suspence and continued mystery     Cons: the suspence and contined mystery      When this movie was released (yea, I was around and a full-fledged adult then) the year 2001 seemed beyond my realm of reasoning. Now, half way through the year 2000, with the year 2001 peeking over the horizon, I decided to take another look at a film that filled me with trepidation when released. Oddly enough, I find most of the circumstances in the movie trite and …
About the reviewer
Joshua E Hoppock ()
Ranked #102
It is rather brisk in this field. The leaves are descending like a tapestry of aloof dreams. The wind entices these leaves into a plume of whimsical billowing ontological paradox. Then I recall that I … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
The_Straw_Man
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

2001: A Space Odyssey (occasionally referred to as simply 2001) is a 1968 epic science fiction film directed by Stanley Kubrick released by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer and written by Kubrick and Arthur C. Clarke. The film deals with thematic elements of human evolution, technology, artificial intelligence, and extraterrestrial life, and is notable for its scientific realism, pioneering special effects, ambiguous imagery that is open-ended to a point approaching surrealism, sound in place of traditional narrative techniques, and minimal use of dialogue.

The film has a memorable soundtrack—the result of the association that Kubrick made between the rotary motion of the satellites and the dancers of waltzes, which led him to use the The Blue Danube waltz by Johann Strauss II, and the famous symphonic poem Also sprach Zarathustra by Richard Strauss, to portray the philosophical evolution of Man theorized in Nietzsche's homonymous work.

Despite initially receiving mixed reviews, 2001: A Space Odyssey is today recognized by many critics and audiences as one of the greatest films ever made; the 2002 Sight & Sound poll of critics ranked it among the top ten films of all time. It was nominated for four Academy Awards, and received one for visual effects. In 1991, it was deemed "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant" by the United States Library of Congress and selected for preservation in the National Film Registry.
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists