|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Streetcar Named Desire (Original Director's

A movie directed by Elia Kazan

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Mar 2, 2011
An astounding adaptation of the classic Tennessee Williams' play that stands the test of time 60 years later. Marlon Brando gives a performance that sizzles with sexuality, seething anger, and insecurity. Kim Hunter is terrific as Stella.
Elia Kazan, the original director of the play, brought all of Williams' brilliant, poetic realism to the screen in a remarkable film powered by a great cast. Even after the film was censored during its initial release, it still had the power to move people and engage them in its story.
One of my favorite films from the 1950s and a triumphant achievement when it comes to adapting plays into films. They just don't come better than this!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
March 04, 2011
i love this film and i'm a huge fan of Brando. brilliant!
March 04, 2011
It's a spectacular film and it's really the first film to show what a great actor Brando was.
 
March 03, 2011
admittedly it has been quite sometime since I saw this one last. Nicely done!!
March 03, 2011
I've been watching a lot of the classics from the 1950s. For the most part it's a terrible decade for films, but there are a few, this definitely among them, which are masterpieces.
 
1
More A Streetcar Named Desire (1951... reviews
review by . May 08, 2007
posted in Movie Hype
"A Streetcar Named Desire"    The Kindness of Strangers    Amos Lassen and Cinema Pride    I have wanted to review this film for a long time and now that I am on vacation, I decided it was time for a New Orleans guy to try to have his say. I recently brought home the wonderful seven volume DVD set of "The Tennessee Williams Film Collection" and have been working my way through reacquainting myself with some of the greatest films ever made. …
review by . August 01, 2003
posted in Movie Hype
For various reasons, I have never liked either the play or the film on which it is based but remain fascinated with the human experiences which Tennessee Williams examines. The character of Stanley Kowalski (Marlon Brando) dominates the narrative but his wife Stella (Kim Hunter) really is the stronger person. Pregnant, she is visited by her sister Blanche Dubois (Vivien Leigh) who arrives with enough emotional baggage to keep a regiment of psychotherapists busy. She and Stanley have an immediate …
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
M
M
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Looking for a benchmark in movie acting? Breakthrough performances don't come much more electrifying than Marlon Brando's animalistic turn as Stanley Kowalski inA Streetcar Named Desire.Sweaty, brutish, mumbling, yet with the balanced grace of a prizefighter, Brando storms through the role--a role he had originated in the Broadway production of Tennessee Williams's celebrated play. Stanley and his wife, Stella (as in Brando's oft-mimicked line, "Hey, Stellaaaaaa!"), are the earthy couple in New Orleans's French Quarter whose lives are upended by the arrival of Stella's sister, Blanche DuBois (Vivien Leigh). Blanche, a disturbed, lyrical, faded Southern belle, is immediately drawn into a battle of wills with Stanley, beautifully captured in the differing styles of the two actors. This extraordinarily fine adaptation won acting Oscars for Leigh, Kim Hunter (as Stella), and Karl Malden (as Blanche's clueless suitor), but not for Brando. Although it had already been considerably cleaned up from the daringly adult stage play, director Elia Kazan was forced to trim a few of the franker scenes he had shot. In 1993,Streetcarwas rereleased in a "director's cut" that restored these moments, deepening a film that had already secured its place as an essential American work.--Robert Horton
view wiki

Details

Director: Elia Kazan
Genre: Classics, Drama
Screen Writer: Tennessee Williams, Oscar Saul
DVD Release Date: March 26, 1997
Runtime: 122 minutes
Studio: Warner Home Video
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists