|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Across the Universe » User review

Long live the Beatles!

  • Jan 25, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

Wow. This movie blew me away. There were a lot of Beatles songs that I've never heard before, but the way they were presented in the movie made me love them all. Jim Sturgess, who plays Jude, is such an awesome actor and has an incredibly sexy voice (who knew?).  And Bono singing I am the Walrus was perfect and wonderfully trippy.

    There really wasn't much of a storyline but that really didn't matter. It's the type of movie you have to just enjoy without getting caught up in the details.This is a cool movie that does the 60s justice with legendary songs and fantastic choreography. One of my favorite movies of all time!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 27, 2009
i loved that duet b/w those two. they are such good singers and actors. the boy singing "let it be" had such a pure and innocent voice that i almost cried too! that's what's so great about the movie, it's so raw that it makes you really feel everything for what it is without sugarcoating it. makes me wish i was from this era!
May 14, 2009
It was a complicated era to be sure. Anyone wha says "if you remember the 60s you weren't really there" is really thinking about the 70s but is too brain damaged to know it. =)
 
January 25, 2009
I come from that era and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. I loved this movie too. I especially liked the treatment they gave "Let it Be", it very nearly reduced me to tears. I also enjoyed the way they gave the raunchy "Why Don't We Do it in The Road" to the Janis Joplinesque character Sadie and another number done a duel between Sadie and the Jimi Hendrixish Jojo. This is one I'm going to buy.
 
1
More Across the Universe reviews
review by . April 27, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
As someone raised in San Francisco, I was surrounded with Summer of Love memories. I used to get so envious of my uncles' stories of the Haight's heyday when they saw Janis open for Jimi at the Fillmore for $5 that I used to try to relive those days by going to Dead shows and sell or trade hemp necklaces in the parking lots. So, I have a deep love for movies set in the 60s but, I tend to find most of them cheesy. They rely heavily on the drugged out hippie stereotype or Vietnam or the deaths …
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This movie was a surreal, and shows how both love and music can transcend time.
review by . April 07, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Any excuse to feature Beatles music is usually worthwhile, but Across the universe is an mediocre picture wrapped in a psychedelic anti-war wet dream.    The picture has it's moments, the Character of Jude is excellent and well played by Jim Sturgess who next to the music is clearly the best thing about the picture. The integration of the Beatles music in the picture works very well and the various musical numbers are really well choreographed, and the first 20 minutes of the …
About the reviewer
Sandra D. ()
Ranked #969
Member Since: Aug 14, 2008
Last Login: Aug 26, 2009 06:10 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sandra163
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Jude, a poor dock worker/struggling artist from Liverpool, joins the merchant navy so he can sail to America to find his estranged father. He falls in love with Lucy, an upper class, sheltered American girl, who is in "love" with her high school sweetheart that she just sent off to Vietnam. Their musical love story unravels between Liverpool, suburban America, Detroit riots, Vietnam War, New York, protests, the Civil Rights movement, Martin Luther King Jr's and JFK's assassinations, mind expansion and experimentation with drugs with the songs of the Beatles guiding the way.

Thirty-three Beatles songs to be exact which include the songs that The Beatles made popular during the era that's represented in the movie. Amongst those covered, there are: "Girl", "I Wanna Hold Your Hand", "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Dear Prudence", "If I Fell", "I Am The Walrus" (sung by Bono), "Revolution", "Blackbird" and many others.
view wiki

Details

Cast: Salma Hayek, Linda Emond, Harry J. Lennix, Evan Rachel Wood, Jim Sturgess, Nicole Berger, James Urbaniak, Dylan Baker, Bill Irwin, Eddie Izzard, Jacob Pitts, Robert Clohessy, Jarleth Conroy, Nicholas Lumley, Mark Lewis, Aisha de Haas, Patrick O'Neill, Bill Buell, Halley Wegryn-Gross, Lynn Cohen, Martin Luther, Joe Anderson, Dana Fuchs, Martin Luther McCoy, T.V. Carpio, Spencer Liff, Lisa Hogg, Michael Ryan, Angela Mounsey, Erin Elliott, Christopher Tierney, Curtis Holbrook, John Jeffrey Martin, Matt Caplan, T.R. Boyce, Leah Hocking, Ellen Hornberger, Amanda Cole, Danya Taymor, Jennifer Van Dyck, Timothy T. Mitchum, Carol Woods, Elain Graham, Orfeh, Antonique Smith, Yassmin Alers, Deidre Goodwin, Joe Cocker, Staceyanne Chin, Jeanine Serralles, Leonard Tucker, Daniel Stewart Sherman, Logan Marshall-Green, Kathleen Early, Ching Valdes-Aran, Daniel Ezralow, Kiva Dawson, Luther Creek, Jerzy Gwiazdowski, Arabella Holzbog, Ambrose Martos, Peter Mui, Karine Plantadit-Bageot, Dan Weltner, Christopher Youngsman, Ekaterina Sknarina, Tracy Westmoreland, Ron C. Jones, W.W. Wilson, Luke Cresswell, Mandy Gonzales, Destan Owens, Cicily Daniels, Saycon Sengbloh, Sam Kitchin, Chris McGarry, Frank Hopf, Cousin Brucie Morrow, Navarra Novy-Williams, Sarah Jayne Jensen, Michelle Lookadoo, Geoff Countryman, Julien Joy, Conrad Korsch, Brian McKenna, Jack Petricelli, Timothy Keiper, Arthur Lewis, Bryan Noll, Michael Arenella, Cyro Baptista, Frank Fighera, Ritt Henn, Mark Stewart, Bruce Williamson, Charley Drayton, Tom Grasso, Joey Sykes, Paul Wallfisch, Christine Woodside, John Selya, Luis Rojas Salgado, Ryan Kelly, Adesola Osakalumi, Martin Samuel, Leah O'Donnell, Lara E. Tinari, Andrew Asnes, Bob Gaynor, Enrique Brown, Caryn Allen, Ronald Blackman, Erik Justin Gaines, Marlene Mason, Tanisha Mason, Cheryl McClurkin, Donald A. McClurkin, Sr., Lorna McClurkin, Olivia McClurkin, Terrell Middleton, Jada Scott, Murl Smith, Jor-El Wharton, Devin Wharwood, Alyssa Woodside, Marcus Bellamy, Tim Acito, Kevin Aubin, Collin Baja, Michael Balderama, Charissa Barton, Adolpho Blaire, Brian Brooks, Shawn Burgess, Ian Carney, Sandy Chase, Ron De Jesus, Jean Emile, Billy Fagen, Angelo Fraboni, Kathryn Fraggos, Kurt Froman, Chris Ghelfi, Tyler Gilstrap, Greg Graham, Cody Green, Matthew Hamel, Sean Martin Hingston, Ryan Holly, Dell Howlett, Terace Jones, Dominique Kelley, Mari Koda, Jason Lacayo, Abdul Latif, Marty Lawson, Yasmine C. Lee, Brian Letendr, Tiger Martina, Tim McGarrigal, Allie Meixner, Dario Mejia, Angel Morales, Matthew Neff, Rika Okamoto, Danny Paschall, Nathan Peck, Giovanni Perez, Bobby Pestka, Kyle Pleasant, Avery Ragsdale, Desmond S. Richardson, Samuel Roberts, Alberto Dister Rondon, Natsumi Sakurai, Marcos Santana, Ying-Ying Shiau, Todd Michael Smith, Jonah Spear, Jordan Spencer, Matthew Steffens, Dennis Stowe, Stacey Sund, Christopher W. Tiemey, Michael Tracy, Andrew Turteltaub, Nicole Wolcott, Wenshuan Yang, Kenneth Ziegler
Genre: Music, Musical
Release Date: October 12, 2007
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 8min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists