|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by bmcintire4

  • Jul 27, 2010
One of my favorite movies. A film everyone should watch. Riventing. Heartbreaking. Edward Norton is Insanley good this movie.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More American History X reviews
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
I'm not afraid to say I hate this movie. The portrayal of racism in AHX is typical one-sided and politically correct drivel from Hollywood, in which only white people are racist and using strawman logic that connects legitimate criticisms of certain groups of people to murderous hate-mongering. Characterization is contrived and one-dimensional, and of course, there's the melodramatic ending. If you want a proper skinhead movie, watch Romper Stomper, Made in Britain, and This is England.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
im not one for racism but this movie is really good. its sad at some points but otherwise pretty entertaining.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I saw this movie in a high school class and it did more to make me question the world around me than any actual history or social justice class could. It is a story of personal redemption and the cyclic nature of history when we are afraid to question or truly face ourselves.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Edward Furlong and Edward Norton show their acting chops in roles they are not usually known for in their previous bodies of work.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Norton shows why he's the Actor of his generation. Relieved he doesn't have to paint himself green again as the Hulk.
review by . December 10, 2008
American History X is one of my favorite movies for several reasons. First, it explores a topic that is hard to depict on camera without being excessively violent and graphic. However, the film does a good job covering the topic without needless gore and violence throughout the entire duration. Second, it conveys a message that can often only be told through personal experiences. In this case, Norton plays the character Derek, who was drawn to neo-Nazism but learns in prison that his values won't …
About the reviewer
Ben T. McIntire ()
Ranked #1037
Member Since: Jul 27, 2010
Last Login: Jul 29, 2010 09:10 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
bmcintire4
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

American History X, starring Edward Norton, is a film that explores racial tensions and neo-Nazism in Los Angeles. Norton plays Derek Vinyard, a student who is drawn to neo-Nazism after his father, a firefighter, is murdered on the job by a black drug dealer in South-Central Los Angeles. While in prison, he realizes that neo-Nazism perpetuates hatred and does not solve his problems. Upon his release, he attemps to save his younger brother Danny from following his same path of racism and hatred.

The film and Edward Norton both received Academy Award nominations. It recevied generally positive reviews from critics yet failed to be a box office hit, grossing only $23 million in 1998.
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists