|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Batman & Robin

The 1997 movie directed by Joel Schumacher

< read all 5 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Jan 5, 2012
One of the worst movies of all time and easily the worst Batman movie ever made. I saw this turd in the theaters back in 1997 and even as a 9 year-old who didn't take film seriously, I still hated the crap out of it. It makes me wonder if Schumacher and Warner Bros. were trying to undo all the previous efforts of taking Batman seriously. While I have mixed feelings about Nolan's relaunch of Batman, I commend him for at least getting rid of all the stupid, campy shit that doesn't belong with Batman (unless if it's Adam West behind the cowl). While I'm at it, skip the equally horrendous Batman & Robin game for the PlayStation and Game.com.

I think the Nostalgia Critic said it best with "THEY GAVE HIM A BAT CREDIT CARD?!!"

Skip this crap and go watch Batman: Mask of the Phantasm and Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker for the best Batman movies.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
January 10, 2012
No one can argue that this isn't astonishingly stupid, among the worst attempts to inject camp humor into a franchise that didn't need any more of it. However, Schumacher was sufficiently decent to apologize for creating a film that's idiotic by means of intentional silliness. Compare his efforts to anything helmed by the haughty, unapologetic Bay, or Emmerich, and he'll seem very nearly dignified in comparison.
January 10, 2012
That's a great point, Robert. I'll likely put an amendment to my QT about Schumacher's decency relating to this cinematic disaster.
 
January 05, 2012
It had been said that George Clooney would give you your money back if you told me how sucky this movie was LOL! H agrees....
January 05, 2012
Too bad I don't live in Beverly Hills, otherwise I'd go up to him and ask for it LOL.
 
1
More Batman & Robin (film) reviews
review by . June 13, 2009
Batman, Robin and Batgirl
There is no one movie in the world of comic book movie franchises that gets more hatemail, disgust or just plain bad press then this one.  Batman and Robin.    Are you a fan of the 1960's Batman show, or of George Clooney?  If No is both your answers go back the way you came and don't look back.  You will probably hate this.    Batman quickly went from the hottest movie property in 1995 to a stock you couldn't get 10 cents for after this film …
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Too hammy, glammy and childish to appeal to the masses. It's fun and doesn't take itself too seriously. It became a standard setter for "worst movies since" but it's not THAT bad.
Quick Tip by . May 10, 2010
Ultra overproduced groan fest with bad one liners, bat credit cards and pointlessness. It's kitschy though.
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2009
Ghastly overproduced, corny and cliche ridden sinks this one badly. Batman's less brooding attitude was a nice change of pace though.
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #22
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Batman & Robin is a 1997 American superhero film directed by Joel Schumacher. Based on the DC Comics character Batman, the film is a sequel to Batman Forever (1995), with George Clooney replacing Val Kilmer as Batman. Batman & Robin also stars Arnold Schwarzenegger, Uma Thurman, Chris O'Donnell, Alicia Silverstone, and Michael Gough. The film tells the story of Batman and Robin struggling to keep their relationship together. At the same time, they have to stop Mr. Freeze, Poison Ivy and Bane from covering Gotham City with ice and vegetation.

Development for Batman & Robin started immediately after Batman Forever, and Warner Bros. commissioned the film for an adamant June 1997 release. Principal photography began in September 1996 and finished in January 1997, two weeks ahead of the shooting schedule. Batman & Robin was released on June 20, 1997, and was critically panned. Observers criticized the film for its toyetic and camp approach, as well as possible homosexual innuendo added by Schumacher. Batman & Robin received 11 nominations at the 1997 ceremony of the Razzie Awards, including one for Worst Picture, and frequently ranks among the worst superhero films of all time. After this, Warner Bros. canceled the unproduced Batman Triumphant, and the film series was eventually rebooted with Batman Begins (2005) by director Christopher Nolan.

view wiki
Polls with this movie
First to Review

"Holy Guano Batman!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists