|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Bruno (movie) » User review

Bruno

A movie released July 10, 2009

< read all 10 reviews

Bruno "Wants To Be The Biggest Austrian Superstar Since Hitler"

  • Jul 21, 2009
Rating:
+3
The title alone should let you know that Sacha Baron Cohen leaves no button unpushed. Bruno is about an Austrian host of a fashion TV show that ends up getting blacklisted after he's booed out of Milan Fashion Week. He moves to Los Angeles to become "the biggest Austrian superstar since Hitler." No one is safe in his quest to become a superstar- Paula Abdul, Ron Paul, stage moms, Alabama, Arkansas,  "gay reformers", MMA, models, the cast of the TV show "Medium", Mel Gibson, Autism, the Palestine/Israeli conflict, Mexicans, a largely African American TV audience, Christianity, and many more.

Overall, Bruno provided some much needed laughs and I enjoyed myself after a hard day at work. If I were you though, I'd wait to put it on your Netflix. I am not easily offended and really enjoy humor that makes fun of American culture, not that I'm not a proud American, just that I find a lot of things humorous about how we do things. However, the offensive humor can get old and at only 90 minutes it felt like two and a half hours. Borat and Bruno have the same storyline, just different characters. So, if you LOVED Borat, then you'll LOVE Bruno.

So, I thought I'd give you a humorous list to help you out so you don't waste your hard-earned money:

1. If you are easily offended, do not go to this movie or leave your house!

2. If you don't have a sick sense of humor (i.e. dick jokes, pushing buttons for laughs and "in your face" pranks that always end in shock or embarrassment, usually at the expense of American culture), you may want to check out some Bob Hope instead!

3. If homosexual love scenes make you quesy, you should invest in a good, dark blindfold!

4. If you are a proud, Southern, good ol' American (you know Bush's version), you're better off with Nascar.

5. Actually, if you are a Conservative Republican at all, you're better off watching Fox News.

6. If you are offended by full frontal male nudity, you're better off with late-night Cinemax.

7. If you are a stage mother that prides herself on her "whatever you need my child to do to get me famous even if it's dangerous" mentality and you aren't willing to laugh at yourself, you're better off watching your child get her makeup tatooed to her face.

8. Finally and most obviously, if you hated Borat and can't laugh at American culture, then better just stay home and chow down on some MickeyD's.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
36
Thought-Provoking
33
Fun to Read
36
Well-Organized
36
Post a Comment
January 09, 2010
entertaining write up! I have to be honest, I didn't care for this movie at all and I have a twisted sick sense of humor but I just couldn't connect with this one. Love your review though, Sam!
January 10, 2010
Thanks, Will- I agree...I couldn't get my sick sense of humor around it either. I think it'd be funnier if he did Ali G and raided a bunch of hip-hop freestyle and breakdancing contests ;p
 
August 12, 2009
I have received a couple of "walked out" reactions to this. What is going on here???
August 12, 2009
The film is definitely offensive and some people walked out when I saw it in theatres but, like I told @Nando1- come ON people, did you NOT see Borat? How could you possibly think this wasn't going to be offensive? It was definitely more homosexually centered so that can be a reason but, I still think that's ridiculous. That's all I can give you, my dear friend, just a hypothesis into people's idiocracy (not sure if that's even a word LOL).
August 12, 2009
Not only is it a word, but it's a funny movie too!

Word -
Id`i*oc"ra*cy\, n.; pl. Idiocrasies. [Idio- + Gr. ? a mixture, fr. ? to mix: cf. F. idiocrasie.] Peculiarity of constitution; that temperament, or state of constitution, which is peculiar to a person; idiosyncrasy. --from dictionary.com
August 12, 2009
Have you seen Idiocracy? I LOVED IT!
 
July 25, 2009
Thanks for the review...and the bashing of Republican's. (I'm a half GOP half Libertarian, ya know) Hmmm...do I wanna see it? Sure do.
July 25, 2009
Bashing Republicans, me?!? I didn't bash Republicans....if anything I called them a good ol' American and said if you're a Conservative Republican you're better off watching Fox News. I did; however, bash stage mothers a little.
 
July 22, 2009
Hey Sam, thanks for the heads up! I've been wanting to see this one for the past couple of weeks & am still in the process of debating whether to rent it as you suggested or waste hard earned money at the box office. I did like Borat & am not easily offended for the most part so this should prove to be a fairly easy film for me to digest I assume. Smiles. Great review!!!
July 22, 2009
Thanks! Yeah, I'm not easily offended like I said in the review but, even I thought he went a tad too far at times. That's what he does best and if you need some laughs, it's worth it but, be forewarned it feels like it lasts foreverrrrrrrrrr....
 
July 21, 2009
It's a highly vulgar movie but I was chuckling all the way through. How many comedies actually make you laugh more than two or three times? Sacha Baron Cohen has earned his money. It was the Paula Abdul interview that really got me. Genius.
July 22, 2009
I loved the stage moms....really? You'd give your baby LIPOSUCTION if it got her the job? Wow...Paula Addul talking about how she's this amazing humanitarian and how it's so important to her while sitting on the back of a Mexican landscaper was outrageous!
 
July 21, 2009
Hahahahaha, thanks for your suggestion of Bob Hope, Nascar, Fox News, and Mickey D's, but I loved Borat, so I'm gonna stick with Bruno! ;)
July 21, 2009
Well, you have to give people options nowadays...
 
1
More Bruno (movie) reviews
review by . December 22, 2009
 Sacha Baron Cohen first came to the attention of the world media with his brilliant character known as Borat, a Kazakhstani reporter who went to America to make a documentary about American life. Mixing real interviews that mock the prejudices of those he is interviewing with a tagged on plot to move the film along, Borat was a massively surprising success. Now with Bruno, Cohen's last character to not have his own feature film was set to become an equally successful piece but due to the success …
Quick Tip by . November 18, 2009
Liked Borat with his innocent stupidity but Bruno was thoughtless; maybe that's the point?
Quick Tip by . November 26, 2009
You have make offensiveness funny to make it work - it did in Borat but this often came across as crude and mean. Wife hated it. HATED it.
review by . July 12, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: Funny, shocking, tells us a lot about ourselves     Cons: Meant to shock more than make us laugh     The Bottom Line: If Borat fought Bruno, who do you think would win?     Remember how, after Sacha Baron Cohen made Borat, people everywhere said there's no way he would ever get away with making a sequel or a similar movie like that again? Well, here we have Bruno confirming that Sacha Baron Cohen has managed to get away with it again.  &nbs …
review by . July 10, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: Great Laughs and outrageous humor     Cons: Some may find it to offensive     The Bottom Line: If you do not mind outrageous humor, this is a great mix of comedy and social satire.     Life is good for Austrian fashonista Bruno (Sacha Baron Cohen). As the star of the top Austrian fashion show, he is a fixture at all of the social events and is the flamboyant highpoint of any event he graces.    That is until things …
review by . July 28, 2009
Bruno is the third character from the Ali G Show to star in a feature film.  Bruno is an Austrian model.fashion critic who travels to America to become a star after being blackballed from the European fashion industry (he wore an all velcro outfit that proved disastrous at a fashion show).  Along with his assistant, Bruno tries to break into Hollywood by becoming an actor and later on trying to host his own reality show.  Failure after failure nearly breaks Bruno until he decides …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Brüno (pronounced as Bruno) is a 2009 mockumentary comedy film directed by Larry Charles. Sacha Baron Cohen, who also produced and co-wrote the movie, stars as the flamboyant gay Austrian fashion journalist Brüno. The film is the third based on characters from Da Ali G Show, following Ali G Indahouse and Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan. A cut version of the film was also released, Bruno: Snipped, running two and a half minutes shorter to meet the demands of 15-17-year-old teenage viewers.
view wiki

Tags

Movies, Comedy Movies, Fashion, Comedy, Austria, Mockumentary, Bruno, Sacha Baron Cohen, Clifford Banagale

Details

Director: Larry Charles
Genre: Comedy
Release Date: July 10, 2009
MPAA Rating: R
Runtime: 83 min
Studio: Universal Pictures, Media Rights Capital, Four by Two
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists