|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant

The film based upon the vampire fantasy books by Darren Shan.

< read all 5 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Dec 6, 2010
Wow, this film was pathetic. Truly one of the lamest attempts to adapt a popular vampire book into a film. I haven't read the novels that inspired this abysmal effort, but after having seen this I have no desire to read them. It's amazing to me that so many talented actors were involved in this film. I can only imagine that they wanted to cash in on the current teen vampire trend. Circus freaks and vampires versus the "Vampaneze"? Give me a break!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
December 16, 2010
Still have yet to see this one
December 16, 2010
Wait until it's on TV and you can see it for free. ; )
 
December 07, 2010
Haven't seen it. but the series isn't that bad. I've read two or three. It's geared to a younger audience, though, so keep that in mind when you read it. :)
December 07, 2010
I figured. I think what really bugged me was that they made the "normal world" so cliche and exaggerated that when they entered the world of the freaks and vampires, it had no affect. Had this been done in a more serious tone, that shift from normality to supernatural would have been more believable and more jarring. The characters here were too quick to accept it.
December 07, 2010
Hm. I don't remember how jarring it was in the book series. The real world just seemed rather boring and quickly dealt with so the main character could enter the Cirque du Freak show faster.
December 07, 2010
I think it would have been better if they built up the characters and the backstory more before they entered the freak show. Darren's family and his teachers just felt like two-dimensional stereotypes rather than real people he would later miss.
December 07, 2010
I don't remember his teachers at all in the book. There was one guy who said not to attend the Freak show because of what it represented, but I think that was it. I was actually sad, though, when he made the decision to leave his family. I thought it was very brave of him.
 
December 07, 2010
Yeah this was pretty weak. Think I enjoyed it more since I saw it with a bunch of kids.
December 07, 2010
I would have enjoyed it more if I were drunk and knew nothing about vampires or circus life. Tod Browning would have died laughing (or groaning) if he saw this.
 
1
More Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's... reviews
review by . December 19, 2010
In an age of horrible vampire films (I'm talking about you Twilight), we finally get a cool one. That being Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant. I don't see how so many people hate this movie, because it's really good. I haven't read any of the books, so I can't judge it's faithfulness, but this is probably the only cool vampire film that has come out since Bram Stoker's Dracula. The only major problem is that it leaves the audience wanting more. More than they're …
review by . May 21, 2010
2 ½ Stars: The War Between Vampires and
   Amid all the abysmal “Twilight” movies and the “Harry Potter” franchise, Universal Pictures and director Paul Weitz (brother of Chris Weitz, director of Twilight New Moon) aims to create a new franchise based on the books authored by Darren Shan. “Cirque du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant” is the film adaptation of the “Vampire Blood trilogy” in the “Saga of Darren Shan” book collection which garnered a good following …
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
entertaining movie, the books where way better as always. a little disappointing that with all the good actors in this movie that the outcome wasn't better.
review by . May 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This movie was OK. Nothing spectacular but it didn't suck either. I can't quite decide which way to go on this, so I'll say 3 stars.
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

  • 16-year-old Darren (Chris Massoglia) was like most kids in his suburban neighborhood. He hung out with his best friend Steve (Josh Hutcherson), got decent grades and usually stayed out of trouble. But when he and his buddy stumble upon a traveling freak show, things begin to change inside Darren. That’s the exact moment when a vampire named Larten Crepsley (John C. Reilly) turns him into something, well, bloodthirsty. Newly undead, he joins the Cirque Du Freak, a touring sideshow filled with monstrous creatures from a snakeboy and a wolfman to a bearded lady (Salma Hayek) and a gigantic barker (Ken Watanabe). As Darren flexes his newfound powers in this dark world, he becomes a treasured pawn between the vampires and their deadlier counterparts. And while trying to survive, one boy will struggle to keep their brewing war from devouring what’s left of his humanity. -fandango.com

Poster art for "The Vampire's Assistant."

 

view wiki

Details

Director: Paul Weitz
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Release Date: October 23, 2009
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: Paul Weitz, Brian Helgeland
Runtime: 109 minutes
Studio: Universal Studios
Polls with this movie
First to Review

"Bridget's Review"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists