|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Clueless (movie) » User review

Clueless

1995 comedy film loosely based on Emma by Jane Austen and starring Alicia Silverstone

< read all 8 reviews

Smarter than your typical teen comedy

  • Jul 14, 2010
Rating:
+5

This film was a big surprise.  I was expecting a ditzy teen comedy.  Instead I found it to be a smart film while being funny and appealing to the teen set.  The script gives the actors a lot to work with and it has built up the characters beyond typical one-dimensional characterizations in most teen movies.  Each major character has more than one side to them.

Alicia Silverstone is a strong leading lady who pulls off being a Beverly Hills teen with great ease.  She could have easily played this character as shallow and superficial.  However, her Cher embodies the Emma character from the Jane Austin novel of the same name that this movie was based upon.  Silverstone gives Cher a soul who cares about people she takes under her wing.  As sage as Cher could appear, Silverstone still made Cher believable as a teenager.  The writers also helped in their placement of key lines, which were also funny without being campy.

Stacy Dash as Cher's friend Dionne was an excellent match for Silverstone.  Their comic timing is excellent and they enhance each other's performances.  Dash is also very funny on her own in the film.

The late Brittany Murphy also shows she could hold her own in one of her first movies with the more seasoned Dash and Silverstone.  Murphy shows she could carry out a transformation on film of a complex character.  It is a shame she died so young.

Paul Rudd also was early in his film career when he appeared in this film.  He already shows the charm and deadpan comedy he has become know for in his appearances on the TV show Friends as well as his many appearances in Judd Apatow films.

The rest of the supporting cast including seasoned character actor Dan Hedaya also give strong performances.  Director Amy Heckerling does an excellent job of blending these performances and not letting any one over power another.  She gives this film a true ensemble feel to it albeit with the focus on Silverstone's character.

Heckerling and company also blended the colors in a way to get your attention in each scene, even in the dark bedroom of Cher's parents.  The colors always came out at the audience without being overpowering.

I give this film a ten out of ten stars because it was funny and entertaining without resorting to being stupid.  This film was also a treat for the eyes, even for those of us not really into fashion.

I do think this film will be enjoyed by a wide variety of audiences.  It is probably not for children under eight as they will probably not understand some of the jokes and some of the references.



I

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
July 15, 2010
This movie is so on my Favorite Chick Flicks list!  Definitely one of my faves, so I agree with what you had to say.  Thanks for sharing this great review, Gwynne! :)
 
July 14, 2010
This was the first time I ever saw Silverstone; and I think to date, this is still her best movie. This was funny, I enjoyed its themes. Nice review!
 
1
More Clueless (movie) reviews
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A very cute movie. Something to watch at a slepp over with a bunch of your girlfriends.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Alicia Silverstone gives the lead character, Cher, many dimensions. Look out for one of Paul Rudd's first movie appearances.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
An American classic.
review by . November 13, 2008
Clueless
Clueless (the film) is the best chick-flick ever created. The movie tells a story about about group of high school girls in Beverly Hills and their day-to-day drama/existence.     Clueless is a well-written, satirical film that is "a loose adaptation" on the literary masterpiece,  Emma by Jane Austen (which just makes it smart).  The film affords viewers the ability to enjoy an 'over the top' movie that actually has a foundation of quality problem/resolution mini-plots …
review by . December 12, 2008
My plastic surgeon told me not to participate in any activities where balls fly at my face!- Amber (played by Eliza Donovan)     Clueless is one of those films where I will re-watch every time I see it on television regardless of how many times i have seen it before. Yes, its a romantic comedy that mocks LA culture complete with valley girl speak; so, expect a lot of AS IFs! This film pretty much defined the 90s for me and i find myself often quoting or referencing the characters. …
review by . May 04, 2009
This movie was cool. i watch or have seen it alot usually only when it comes out on tv have yet to buy it. its funny how it spinned of into a tv show not much for the tv show cause well hello alicia sylterstone is the one and only cher. haha and that guy sonny lmao sonny and cher lol. and wft someone please tell me she likes her stepbrother more then a stepbrother that has always confused me and made me think this movie is more of a hill billie movie then a beverly hills movie lmao. but all in all …
review by . December 17, 2008
Definitely one of the best chick flicks movies of the 1990's.  Cher is a great lead character, she is smart and lovable.  Alicia Silverstone is excellent, as well as the rest of the cast.  The whole cast pulls of the movie very well and Alicia Silverstone is so convincing that you wonder if she really IS clueless in real life :)  But nonetheless it's a great movie and one of the 90's pop culture icons.
About the reviewer
Gwynne Osaki ()
Ranked #277
Member Since: Jul 12, 2010
Last Login: Jul 24, 2014 03:59 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
gmosaki
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Clueless is a classic comedy based on the book Emma by Jane Austen.  In this 1995 movie, Cher (Alicia Silverstone) is a superficial high school girl living in Beverly Hills. The movie follows Cher's Beverly Hills lifestyle - driving in to school late with her friend Amber, playing matchmaker for two of her nerdy teachers, transforming "tragically unhip" girl Tai to become more socially acceptable, and eventually falling in love with Josh.
view wiki
Polls with this movie
13 Going on 30

Chick Flicks

by

27 Dresses (Widescreen Edition) (2008)

Chick Flicks

by

First to Review

"Best chick-flick ever"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists