|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Conviction (2010 movie)

A Movie Directed by Tony Goldwyn

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Mar 14, 2011
I went into this film with no preconceptions and no expectations. I knew a little bit about the plot, which follows a woman's attempt to prove her brother's innocence in a murder case after he's been sentenced to life in prison. The film's story is based on actual events, which at first made me think it might be a cheap star-studded film, so I knew it was going to be the predictable "inspirational" type of film that you see so often. However, what was such a pleasant surprise was how wonderful the cast was. Every single actor gives an honest, nuanced, convincing performance resulting in a film that packs an emotional punch.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
March 15, 2011
Great write-up, Sean! I have this in my queue and can't wait to check it out :)
 
March 14, 2011
This had been in my queve since then. Hopefully netflix will send it to me one of these days.
 
1
More Conviction (2010 movie) reviews
review by . March 05, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
** out of ****     Considering its only form of advertisement is selling itself out as being "based on a true story", "Conviction" actually isn't all that bad. There have been worse-much worse- and far more confusing films based on true events; and this one is no more or no less than the usual melodramatic go-around. With that being said, the film essentially leaves out all imagination and true, honest entertainment so that the stars can shine. This is a film with great performances, …
review by . January 06, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
   Conviction is based on the true story of Betty Anne Waters (Hilary Swank) who puts herself through a law school in order to represent her brother, Kenny Waters (Sam Rockwell), who has been wrongfully accused of first degree murder. Of course you already know or at least have an idea about the result of this story but the momentum build-up is interesting enough too keep you focused. While it doesn't rely on a tense atmosphere and thrilling "detective" experience, it manages …
Quick Tip by . November 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I absolutely loved this movie. Hillary Swank was awesome as was the rest of the cast. I love movies about dystunctional people as they are so much more interesting than so called "normal" people. This was an awesome story and wonderfully acted. Don't miss it
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

  • Opened October 15, 2010 (Limited 10/15) | Runtime:1 hr. 47 min.
  • R
    language and some violent images
  • When her older brother Kenny (Sam Rockwell) is convicted of murder and sentenced to life in 1983, Betty Anne Waters (Hilary Swank) vows to get the conviction overturned. Beginning an 18-year quest to exonerate Kenny, Betty Anne puts herself through college and law school. With the help of her best friend (Minnie Driver), Betty Anne pores over piles of suspicious evidence and retraces the steps that led to Kenny's arrest in the hope of finally winning her brother's freedom.Read More
  • Cast: Hilary Swank, Sam Rockwell, Minnie Driver, Melissa Leo, Peter Gallagher, Ari Graynor, Loren Dean, Conor Donovan, Owen Campbell, Tobias Campbell, Bailee Madison, Clea Duvall, Karen Young, Talia Balsam, John Pyper-Ferguson, Juliette Lewis
  • Director: Tony Goldwyn
  • Genres: DocudramaCourtroom DramaDrama
  • Poster art for 'Conviction.'
  • view wiki

    Details

    Director: Tony Goldwyn
    Genre: Biography, Crime, Drama
    Release Date: October 15, 2010 (limited)
    MPAA Rating: R
    Screen Writer: Pamela Gray
    Runtime: 107 minutes
    Studio: 20th Century Fox, Fox Searchlight Pictures
    © 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
    Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
    ()
    This is you!
    Ranked #
    Last login
    Member since
    reviews
    comments
    ratings
    questions
    compliments
    lists