|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Cronos (The Criterion Collection Special Edition DVD and Blu-ray) » User review

Cronos (The Criterion Collection edition DVD and Blu-ray)

The 2010 Criterion Collection DVD and Blu-ray of Mexican director Guillermo del Toro's 1993 vampire film.

< read all 2 reviews

A Gentle And Affecting Story of Loneliness, Immortality And Vampirism....

  • Dec 15, 2010
Rating:
+4
Mainstream movie fans would know Guillermo Del Toro from his work with the underrated “Mimic”, the simple and yet affecting “The Devil’s Backbone”, comic-book adaptations such as the Hellboy franchise and the action-packed “Blade 2” and most significantly the critically-acclaimed “Pan’s Labyrinth”. Del Toro has been around and many may not even be familiar with his first full-length feature film “Cronos”, a film about vampirism and immortality. This project may well be his most personal and arguably his most passionate work. Borrowing money to secure the funds for this project, this film is a labor of love and commitment. The film has received box-office acclaim in Mexico, and has won the Best film award in the Cannes film festival.

The back story of the film is curiously introduced in English (no idea why, but there is the Spanish option in the disc)); “Cronos” is actually bilingual in English and Spanish languages. Sometime in the 14th century, an alchemist creates a device encased under a gold shell that resembles a scarab, that is the key to immortality. The alchemist lived for centuries in a semi-vampiric state until an earthquake caused his death, the device was lost until a lonely antique dealer named Jesus Gris (Federico Luppi) comes across a sculpture that houses it. Jesus soon discovers the secrets of the “Cronos” device, and fights to resist its temptations. However, a rich businessman (Claudio Brook) had come across a manuscript that explains the secrets of the device and has employed his dumb headed American nephew, Angel (Ron Perlman) to find the device at any cost. This turn of events, will put Jesus and his mute granddaughter, Aurora (Tamara Shanath) in danger and may make them question the true meaning of life….






Unlike most of Del Toro’s more commercial American-made films, “Cronos” is beautifully raw, simple and has all the assets that made “The Devil’s Backbone” one of the best ghost stories ever filmed. Like most of Del Toro’s Spanish-made films, the film has a strong Catholic and political overtones. The film actually takes aim at the relationship between Jesus and Aurora, bringing their gentle relationship into a set filled with tones of melancholy and gloomy atmosphere. At the same time, Del Toro brings realism to his script all the while infusing it with eerie magic and effective emotion.

At first impression, one can see that the set up to the film has staples of other horror films, it does have some elements that make it feel predictable, and once you get midway in the film you believe that you have everything figured out and then it just goes ahead and creates surprises. There is a method as to how the direction creates an easy attachment to its viewers; the relationship between a grandfather and his granddaughter. It was just so heartfelt and effective the way it draws one into its story, much of the emotion is felt through stares and unspoken words, as the two create a bond that cannot be broken, not even the curse of vampirism. The film just feels so unique in its simplicity; it has a gothic flavor to it all, and while there are indeed some horrific devices, it isn’t scary. One would do well to know that “Cronos” is not a horror film in a sense but more of a character-study of human needs as well as a study of immortality and its worth.





The sickly De Guardia (played by Claudio Brook) embodies the side that has everything and yet has nothing; this man is cursed with solitude. His condition is terminal and his only way out is gain immortality. He fears death for reasons that can be seen in his home, he fears death because he missed much; he is rich and yet he has nothing, his only contact with the outside world is his nephew (wonderfully played by Perlman) who is just waiting for him to choke. Perlman also provides some needed subtle humor to balance out the film’s gloom. On the opposite side of the equation, once Jesus is pierced by the device, he feels a strange sensation come about him and this excites him. His body experiences changes and though he was unaware what it was, he likes it. Jesus may not have the desire to become immortal but in a way, he may have more reason to live a longer life for his granddaughter. Aurora is a girl who has unconditional love for her grandfather; she is loyal and would not abandon Jesus’ side, even if it meant the curse of a vampire. It was nice for Del Toro not to incorporate the word ‘vampire’ in the script, it makes the situation much more compelling as Jesus himself is kept in mystery. What is in the device…what sort of creature provokes such a change? Vampirism is almost portrayed as something that mimics a ‘rebirth’, much like the caterpillar.





The last 30 minutes of the film embodies all the things that the movie has built up to; the final scene just brings to light what is the price of immortality and what makes it worthwhile. The imagery is stunning and is the accumulation of the themes defined in the film. Also, Del Toro often portrays his films with the exposition of the dark side of humanity and its potential to become evil. Monsters are defined through its action and the uglier the actions, the more monstrous a human can become. A curse doesn’t make one a monster, but it is the actions that define a curse and how the cursed reacts to it.

“Cronos” is a film with muted colors, it stands with a lot of religious imagery and feel. The film isn’t perfect since some scenes should’ve had more power and spark but these are very small complaints that didn’t affect my enjoyment of the film. Del Toro is one committed director who has a passion for cinema that I am happy that Criterion has brought his first film in re-mastered form that blows away the previous release by Lionsgate pictures. The Criterion Dvd/Blu-ray has his short film “Geometria” included as well as extras such as a trip to his own home. These alone warrant the price of the Criterion release, but let us not forget the director interviews/commentaries.

Highly Recommended! [4 ½ Out of 5 Stars]
 

A Gentle And Affecting Story of Loneliness, Immortality And Vampirism.... A Gentle And Affecting Story of Loneliness, Immortality And Vampirism....

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
December 22, 2010
Great review! This film has now bumped up on my Must See ASAP List. Thank you!
December 23, 2010
Thanks for the read, Donna! This is among mine, Orlok's and Queenie's faves!
 
December 16, 2010
This is my favorite vampire film and gets a solid 5 from me because its creativity, originality, humanity, and passion make up for any minor flaws it might have. I've read somewhere that Del Toro made this film to help deal with his own grandmother's death. I'll have to make do with my old copy until used copies start popping up at affordable prices. sigh.
December 17, 2010
This is one of my favorites as well. This wasn't perfect but it was definitely one of the most ambitious, touching and dramatic vampire dramas I've ever seen.
December 18, 2010
You know how highly I regard originality.
 
December 16, 2010
Oh indeed good Woo, been a while since I watched this one but it seems the time is right. Excellent review.
December 16, 2010
you should try and get the new re-release by Criterion. The image is awesome for an older movie. It also has better subtitles. :)
 
December 15, 2010
Where do you find these movies? I've never heard of this one and it sounds compelling. You've been quite the busy bee with the reviews! LOL Loved this write-up and will have to put this one on my "to-see" list!!
December 16, 2010
This one's actuallly a 1993 Spanish horror movie that finally got a worhtwhile dvd/BD release and the respect it deserves. Me and Orlok have been anticipating its release for quite sometime. It is pretty well done, but despite its themes, it is not full-on horror movie. Me and Aerin are going to get a masters in TOETRY--poetry for toe-sies LOL!
December 16, 2010
You should check out my lists, Butterfly--you'll find ots of previously unsung gems like this film.
December 17, 2010
aye, you should!
December 17, 2010
I will QueenB and thank you!!
 
December 15, 2010
Awesome job, Woo.I'm thinking a Guillermo del Toro film fest would be fun. I'd show this, "The Devil's Backbone" and "Pan's Labyrinth" back to back to back. Out of curiosity, how was the commentary? I like del Toro's commentaries since he's usually very informative, but also maintains a sense of fun. I've never seen his short films, so that's something else I'll have to look forward to.
December 15, 2010
Thanks! I enjoyed writing this review. "Welcome to the Bleak House" may well be worth the price of the dvd/BD itself. It has Del Toro at his 'crib'--you would not believe what he has in there. I need to finish those short films in this collection, have this one yet?
December 15, 2010
I can imagine. I saw an article in a sci-fi magazine a few years back that showed del Toro's Gothic garden, his huge library, and some other rooms in his house. And nope, I haven't bought a copy yet. My money is literally gone. I'm barely paying rent and I've been having to live off of popcorn, oatmeal, and rice. Luckily, I like popcorn, oatmeal, and rice. LOL! Actually, I'm not sure when I'll even be able to send out comp CDs for the holidays. It might not actually be until next month. : (
December 16, 2010
Well, because of the holidays, I am broke. I get to buy BD/Dvds and watch movies because I get by with bread and water except on weekends. LOL! Don't worry about anything, an e-card will suffice.
December 16, 2010
btw, this one has better subtitles than the LIONSGATE release in 1993.
December 16, 2010
Does it? I've not been impressed lately with some of the foreign film DVD releases I've seen. "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" wasn't very well subtitled, nor was "Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky", and I've heard that "Let the Right One In" on DVD had sub-par subtitles too.
December 16, 2010
Odd, the badge didn't work. Try hitting edit and then just posting it.
December 16, 2010
try selecting "any" instead of "all" under criteria. It defaults sometimes.
December 16, 2010
It's not that because there are 4 topics and I have it set that anyone who reviews 2 of them will get the badge.
December 16, 2010
I know why. You haven't reviewed "Blade II" yet.
December 16, 2010
Lemme write a review--I know I have an unposted one, but I have to clean it up. :)
December 16, 2010
Was it posted on Amazon? 'Cause I could have sworn I read a "Blade II" review written by you...
December 17, 2010
I actually have like 5 reviews I haven't posted anywhere. Blade 2 is an easy write up....
December 17, 2010
Groovy. Did you ever see my exclusive vampire reviews on Blogger? I've done two Hammer films there so far.
December 17, 2010
one of these days, I may just join. I think I still have the link in my computer at home.
December 17, 2010
You should. It's a site that's more suited to those who just want to write as opposed to all of the commercial and competitive crap that goes on on Amazon and epinions. It's not as easy to use as Lunch though and you don't have all of the cool features, but then again you're less limited as to what you write about.
December 17, 2010
I think people make things competitive, amazon is a mess and I haven't been in Epinions long enough to judge its workings. Lunch is a great place for posting stuff but a certain someone just became too competitive especially in regards to communities--it makes things tense, irritating and annoying. I am afraid when there is enough people, it will be competitive. People have a habit of creating competition when there should be none. Everyone gets their jollies differently, I for one, just try to do what I can for things I think is best and try to have fun. Did you read my QT about competition?
December 17, 2010
Nope. Did you post it recently?
December 17, 2010
go to my QT's, I posted it a month ago...
December 28, 2010
Hey, new non-criterion CRONOS review in Movie Hype!
 
1
More Cronos (The Criterion Collecti... reviews
Quick Tip by . April 08, 2011
Criterion Collection DVD
Guillermo del Toro's first and arguably best film (along with Pan's Labyrinth). Cronos is a strange fantasy-horror hybrid that tells the cautionary tale of a kindly old man who through an accidental encounter with an alchemical device is turned into a bizarre vampire and must regain his humanity through the innocent love of his granddaughter. The film is wonderfully dark, full of realistic and often gory special effects, and has all the key themes and visuals that are typical of del Toro's …
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

  • Mexico
  • 1993
  • 92 minutes
  • Color
  • 1.78:1
  • Spanish
  • Spine #551

SYNOPSIS: Guillermo del Toro made an auspicious and audacious feature debut with Cronos, a highly unorthodox tale about the seductiveness of the idea of immortality. Kindly antiques dealer Jesús Gris (Federico Luppi) happens upon an ancient golden device in the shape of a scarab, and soon finds himself the possessor and victim of its sinister, addictive powers, as well as the target of a mysterious American named Angel (a delightfully crude and deranged Ron Perlman). Featuring marvelous special makeup effects and the haunting imagery for which del Toro has become world-renowned, Cronos is a dark, visually rich, and emotionally captivating fantasy.

Disc Features

DIRECTOR-APPROVED SPECIAL EDITION:

  • New, restored high-definition digital transfer, supervised and approved by director Guillermo del Toro and cinematographer Guillermo Navarro (with DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack on the Blu-ray edition)
  • Optional original Spanish-language voice-over introduction
  • Two audio commentaries, one featuring del Toro, the other producers Arthur H. Gorson and Bertha Navarro and coproducer Alejandro Springall
  • Geometria, an unreleased 1987 short horror film by del Toro, finished in 2010, with a new video interview with the director
  • Welcome to Bleak House, a video tour by del Toro of his home offices, featuring his personal collections
  • New video interviews with del Toro, Navarro, and actor Ron Perlman
  • Video ...
view wiki

Details

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Genre: Drama, Fantasy, Foreign, Horror, Thriller
Release Date: 1993
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Guillermo del Toro
DVD Release Date: December 7, 2010
Runtime: 92 minutes
Studio: The Criterion Collection
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists