|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Cyborg She » User review

CYBORG SHE a.k.a. Cyborg Girl

A 2008 Japanese film.

< read all 2 reviews

Thumbs Up for Cute Cyborg Movie

  • Feb 11, 2010
Rating:
+3

Out of the three movies in the loosely based series written by Jae-young Kwak, this was my least favorite, which accounts for the slightly lower rating. Don't get me wrong; there is nothing bad about this movie, but compared to Windstruck and My Sassy Girl, it couldn't compete. The story was predictable and wasn't as original or surprising. It also didn't induce me to the same emotional states as Kwak's other films did.

The hero of the story is Jiro Kitamura played by Keisuke Koide. He is a nerdy, young man who spends every birthday alone. That detail of the story was one of the most compelling parts. I have a large family, so I could never imagine what Jiro feels like every time it's his birthday. The actor did a fantastic job of expressing loneliness and longing for things to be different in his life. There are more poignant scenes that involve his character and future events thanks to the mysterious "woman" who enters his life.

The mysterious cyborg from the future is played by Haruka Ayase. She was beautiful and talented in her role, but I still couldn't help but wish that Gianna Jun was costarring with Koide. After all, this script was one of the ones she wrote in My Sassy Girl. Plus, she has this compelling look about her that Ayase couldn't compete with (which might have been a detriment since the Cyborg was often "expressionless"). Despite my slight disappointment, Ayase was a great cyborg girl. She was tough and fearless both in her protection of Jiro and being available to save the day. She also had impeccable fashion; I loved a lot of the dresses she wore. The two of them had a signature move that was extremely cute (a quality that would have felt out of place with Jun's usual roles). Whenever the cyborg did something good, Jiro would give her a thumb's up sign. She would respond with a thumb's up sign too. I actually found Ayase's character more difficult to act and make believable than Kitamura's because of the complex situations surrounding the cyborg and the eventual ending. Still, both actors complemented each other well and brought the science-fiction story to life for the modern viewer.

A supporting character that added a bit of flair to the film was Jiro's schoolmate played by Kenta Kiritani. He is constantly saying that Jiro's mysterious girlfriend is his perfect woman. The pair of them has some interesting interactions that left me smiling and laughing. Jiro's classmate was a dynamic supporting character that added light-hearted moments which let the viewer see a different side to the main protagonist. After watching this film, I wished that the friends in My Sassy Girl had played a larger role. It was one of the main changes I appreciated when I watched the American remake of My Sassy Girl.

The time line for the movie was a bit confusing, which is to be expected in any film that involves time traveling. The dates never end up making sense to viewers who have no idea about time travel. Of course the attempt of the director to bring everything around “full circle” in order for it to make sense actually makes it worse. Instead, I would rather just accept that there are aspects of the sci-fi and fantasy genre that I will never understand, and that it's ok. The movie starts off on November 22, 2007. This is Jiro's 20th birthday. Some hijinks occur between the main stars, and then the movie flashes forward one year in the future. Now, it’s November 22, 2008, and Jiro is celebrating his 21st birthday. The majority of the drama and action unfolds in the year 2008. The next flash forward doesn't occur till the end of the movie, 61 years into the future. At that point, the flash forward is really a way for the director to tie some loose ends before giving us the not so surprising conclusion. This part of the movie reminded me of some of the points that were made in the
 Back to the Future series.

The special effects were well done, although some felt a little too dramatic. I liked some of the different powers she had, such as super strength, speed, and the ability to shock people with her eyes. It was especially funny when she did it to Jiro. I also liked the holographic eyes which reminded me of R2D2 from
 Star Wars. What an interesting way to send a message back to yourself! The scenes where the Cyborg freaks out were also humorous, a bit reminiscent of Poltergeist when her head kept spinning around. When the cyborg came back to the past the in 2008, I felt like I was watching a girlie version of the movie Terminator. The lightning and huddling in the middle of the street reminded me of the original Terminator minus all the nudity. Some of the scenes in the future were also interesting to behold with the subtle sci-fi details.

An important aspect to this film that I enjoyed was seeing the full life-cycle of one of the main characters. I often wonder what happens to the heroes and heroines after you get either a "happily ever after" or not so happy ending. This movie presented lots of possibilities but thanks to time not being linear, there were ways to change the future and the past for the better.

As far as the music went, nothing stood out as amazing or unique compared to Windstruck and My Sassy Girl. It was just adequate.

Camera angles were a bit unique in this film. There were split shots where the cyborg's face would be on the left side of the screen and Jiro's face would be on the right. It was interesting to see them studying the reactions, or lack of reactions, each were met with. There were plenty of panoramic shots that were very important for many of the action scenes. The zoom-ins were also extremely relevant because the viewers were dying to find out if a robot can learn to love, again, reminiscent of another film (this one the anime
 Key the Metal Idol).

In the end, the movie wasn't unique enough for me. As I watched, I found myself thinking of other films that had similar story lines or certain special affects/powers that the cyborg had. Still, that doesn't detract from the quality of the movie. It's a feel good science fiction, romantic comedy that is a perfect date movie, even if your date doesn't usually like science fiction films.

Thumbs Up for Cute Cyborg Movie Thumbs Up for Cute Cyborg Movie

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
March 19, 2010
I haven't seen any of the three films in this trilogy yet, but based on your description here, this one sounds like it would be my favorite. I'm really into sci-fi themed stories, so anything that has technology as part of the story, even if it's somewhat corny, usually draws me in. The whole cyborg aspect of this film seems pretty appealing. I'll have to watch the film and see how it all comes together.
March 19, 2010
I also agree with you. I know this one will be your favorite. There are some pretty cool twists in the end too. Still, i suggest watching them in order. This one has the least to do with the first two, though. :)
 
February 14, 2010
Wow, since when did you get all into Asian cinema? ;P  Nice review, Adrianna!  Sounds like an aweesome movie :)
February 17, 2010
LOL! It's all because of @woopak_the_thrill. He's been a positive influence on my movie going experiences. :)
 
February 11, 2010
nice take although I think this movie is a lot better than WINDSTRUCK (then again I have to see that again) but it is inferior to MY SASSY GIRL. I liked the time travel mumbo-jumbo and I dunno, I guess I am a sucker for sci-fi flicks. Great review.
February 11, 2010
My preference for the 3 films go: Windstruck, My Sassy Girl, and then Cyborg She. I really liked the coincidences in Windstruck. Such a depressing situation turned out to have a happy ending? It was a great balance of grief and hope. I will need to see the edited version of "My Sassy Girl" to see how much it improves my take on it. If it cuts down a lot of the first part, I'm sure I will like it. As far as this film went, I liked the sci-fi aspect, but the acting and situations didn't evoke the type of emotional drama of its predecessors.
February 11, 2010
You will like IL MARE I am pretty certain. I'll see if I'll have the time to review a romantic drama for you on Valentine's day. I actually am thinking of a couple more movies I'd like to review with Jeon Ji-Hyeon in the lead...Check out A MOMENT TO REMEMBER (Korean) with Son-Ye Jin. You may like it and the acting is stellar.
February 11, 2010
Thanks for the additional title. I just included it on the list of films I need to watch. Now, I won't forget!
February 11, 2010
Cool. Y'know I just realized, for someone who hates romantic comedies, I sure know a lot of Korean romantic movies LOL!
February 11, 2010
LOL! Indeed! You're tastes probably changed. That or you just needed to find the right type of romantic comedy film. :)
 
February 11, 2010
Great review but I think I'll pass on this one. Good write-up.
February 11, 2010
Thanks for reading my review even though you are not going to watch this film. :)
February 11, 2010
Well that's fine. I may not watch them all but I do like the write-ups. I'm the same way with Woo-Pak above. I may not want to watch some of his films that he reviews, but I do enjoy how he puts it all together.
February 11, 2010
Yeah, I enjoy reading a lot of the write-ups including William's. Everyone has such uncanny differences for the ways they handle their reviews...and I love it! What an eclectic site!
 
1
More Cyborg She reviews
review by . September 09, 2009
posted in ASIANatomy
poster
     Ever wonder how and what we can affect in our past, present and future? Let’s see, now what if James Cameron’s “The Terminator” had a strong theme of a love story in it? Sounds stupid doesn’t it? Well, director Kwak Jae-Young’s “Cyborg She” (aka. Cyborg Girl, 2008) made in collaboration with Japanese filmmakers is one effective romantic sci-fi film that is endearing, charming and quite good. Trust me, I HATE romantic comedies but …
About the reviewer
Adrianna Simone ()
Ranked #18
MY GROUPS (AND COMMUNITY):      The following information was taken from the officialCafe Libri Website.   Cafe Libri (Yahoo Reading Discussion Group)is the original Cafe … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Adrianna
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Cyborg She (lit. "My Girlfriend is a Cyborg") is a 2008 Japanese film by Kwak Jae-yongstarring Haruka Ayase and Keisuke Koide.

Plot:

It is November the 22nd, 2007. Jirou Kitamura (Keisuke Koide) is spending his 20th birthday alone. As he is buying a birthday present for himself in a department store, he catches sight of a 'cute girl' (Haruka Ayase). The girl, who also seems interested in him, follows him to a restaurant for his birthday meal, during which she suddenly states that it's 'her birthday too'. The two of them therefore exchange birthday presents. The girl, who seems unused to things as they are, behaves and speaks in a very bold manner- so much so that she rushes Jirou out of the restaurant without paying and provokes a chase after them throughout Tokyo. As the hijinks ensue, Jirou finds himself charmed by the girl. Unfortunately, after a few hours, the girl insists that she has to leave. After some mysterious words to him, she runs away, leaving him bemused.

The story then moves forward to November the 22nd, 2008. Exactly one year later, Jirou is celebrating his 21st birthday by himself in the same restaurant he ate in with the mysterious girl. All of a sudden, a girl who is the spitting image of her appears in front of him. This girl, however, has been sent to save him from a disastrous fate by a crippled future version of himself- she is, as his future self describes her, a cyborg modeled after the girl he met a year ago. Thus ...

view wiki

Details

Director: Jae-young Kwak
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Release Date: May 31, 2008
MPAA Rating: PG
Screen Writer: Jae-young Kwak
DVD Release Date: May 31, 2008
Runtime: 115 minutes
Studio: Amuse Soft Entertainment
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists