|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Dear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father » User review

Dear Zachary:A Letter to a Son About His Father

A 2008 documentary made for Zachary Adrew Turner. So when he grew up, he would know what a great man his murdered father was.

< read all 4 reviews

This documentary can be life changing

  • May 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Dear Zachary is a documentary that takes you on twists and turns.   It makes you want to be a better friend, son or daughter, person.     Makes your emotions scream, cry, get mad and want to appreciate your loved ones.   The less you know about this documentary before watching it the better.   Do yourself and favor and rent this movie. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 04, 2009
I see you don't want to spoil it for anyone reading the review, but how about a little info, I don't even have a clue what it is about. I'm not convinced I should rent it ;) This documentary review gives me a little better idea of what the film itself is about so that I can decide if I really want to see it. Thanks!
 
1
More Dear Zachary: A Letter to a So... reviews
review by . June 14, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
   N/A - 95mins - Documentary/Crime/Drama - N/A   The last time I cried in any movie was a few years back at the end of The Green Mile and that was a good 5 plus years ago and the time before that was probably The Lion King when I was 7 so it's fair to say that it's quite rare for me to get all emotional during a film. This film though had me blubbering like a schoolgirl who had just lost her favourite teddy.    Dear Zachary follows the true story of Andrew Bagby, …
review by . January 10, 2009
Dear Zachary
Dear Zachary is more than a phenomenally made documentary, but also one of the most tragic stories I've ever seen. You'll unquestionably cry, but at the same time be inspired to live a life that impacts people in a profound way.  
About the reviewer
Yvonne ()
Ranked #1507
Member Since: Mar 31, 2009
Last Login: Jun 3, 2009 05:03 PM UTC
Recent reviews by BlueKarma
About this movie

Wiki

Dear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father is a 2008 American documentary film conceived and created by Kurt Kuenne.

Kuenne's close friend Andrew Bagby was murdered by Shirley Jane Turner after he ended their tumultuous relationship. Shortly after she was arrested, she announced she was pregnant with Bagby's child, a boy she named Zachary. Kuenne decided to interview numerous relatives, friends, and associates of the dead man and incorporate their loving remembrances into a film that would serve as a cinematic scrapbook for the son who never knew him.

The film premiered at the Slamdance Film Festival and was shown at Cinequest Film FestivalSouth by Southwest, the Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival, the Sarasota Film Festival, the Sidewalk Moving Picture Festival, the Calgary International Film Festival, and the Edmonton International Film Festival, among others, before going into limited theatrical release in the United States, opening in one city at a time in select metropolitan areas. It was broadcast by MSNBC on December 7, 2008 and has been repeated several times since.

Kuenne is donating all profits from the film to a scholarship established in the names of Andrew and Zachary Bagby

view wiki

Details

Genre: Documentary
DVD Release Date: October 31, 2008
Runtime: 95 minutes
Studio: MSNBC Films

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists