|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Departures (Okuribito) » User review

Departures (Okuribito)

A movie released May 29, 2009

< read all 6 reviews

This movie made me cry

  • Jun 23, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

Let's not dance around words like "thought provoking" "insightful", "existential" - Okuribito isn't your typical arty-farty movie with beautiful scenes, cryptic monologues and hidden meanings; it has a certain quality that makes it a joy to watch: it's accessible.

That's right - no more staring at the screen wondering what the protagonist standing in his underpants in front of a mirror to the sound of clockwork means. Hooray!

Without spoiling anything, Okuribito touches on topics most of us can relate to: family, relationships, homosexuality, unemployment, and of course the looming, dread realization of mortality. There's a healthy dose of self-deprecating comedy, extremely colorful characters, and incredible acting. All this without cheesy b-rate lines and still managing to NOT be depressing.

I say depressing, because it can at times get very, very emotional - from sad, to heartwarming, to endearing. It's emotional enough to make you cry. Sometime's it's emotional enough to make you cry while smiling.

But story is one thing, cinematography is another, and the movie as a whole is wonderfully directed and beautifully shot. We see everything from a Japanese cityscape to a charming countryside filled with rolling hills and swaying plants in all four seasons - backed up by an addictive soundtrack that tells the story on it's own.

Okuribito finds the right balance between arthouse film and feel-good-heartwarming disney. It's not mindless. It does have plot. It wont make you apathetic.

And besides, it has an octopus in it. More than enough reason, really.

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Departures (Okuribito) reviews
review by . August 20, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
Until you're ready, don't watch it...
It took me 3 seatings to finish this movie. And, it's not because it's boring. It's because I was neither ready nor had time to see it. In short, it spanned almost 2+ years before I was truly able to appreciate this movie in its entity.      I had heard about it from a colleague way back when I was still in the office working in Singapore. I was told by a pretty old man so I didn't really seriously thought about it. Then I was emailed a link by a friend and was …
review by . August 03, 2009
posted in ASIANatomy
Poster
         Japanese films have always had the remarkable reputation of turning the simplest premise into something so full of moving emotions and sensibilities. Yojiro Takita’s multi-award winning film “DEPARTURES” (aka. Okuribito, 2008) is no different. There is a lot of excessive hype surrounding the film as it has almost nearly swept the Japanese Academy awards and has been awarded the Best Foreign film honor in the recent 2009 Oscars. No film can …
Quick Tip by . November 08, 2011
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
Yojiro Takita's winner of best foreign film in the Academy awards. The Japanese really know how to make a film with such a depressing theme into something uplifting and yet, heart-breaking.      see full review here.               
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
It was slow and humorous in the beginning, however, it turns out to be a powerful and moving experience. For those with an open mind... and if you haven't got one, try it, you might find that you're not so immune afterall ;-)
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
A musician learns about himself after taking a job as an encoffiner.
About the reviewer
Jeremy ()
Ranked #1181
   Just your average college goer trying to find meaning in the whirlwind of the twister of the hurricane of life.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Pinkstatic
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Asian Dvd cover:




Daigo Kobayashi is a devoted cellist in an orchestra that has just been dissolved and now finds himself without a job. Daigo decides to move back to his old hometown with his wife to look for work and start over. He answers a classified ad entitled "Departures" thinking it is an advertisement for a travel agency only to discover that the job is actually for a "Nokanshi" or "encoffineer," a funeral professional who prepares deceased bodies for burial and entry into the next life. While his wife and others despise the job, Daigo takes a certain pride in his work and begins to perfect the art of "Nokanshi," acting as a gentle gatekeeper between life and death, between the departed and the family of the departed. The film follows his profound and sometimes comical journey with death as he uncovers the wonder, joy and meaning of life and living.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Drama
Release Date: May 29, 2009
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Runtime: 2hrs 11min

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists