|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Horror Movie » Reviews » End of the Line (movie) » User review

End of the Line (movie)

A horror film by Canadian writer, director and producer Maurice Devereaux

< read all 5 reviews

IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE?

  • May 31, 2009
Rating:
+5
The writer/producer/director of the deliciously entertaining SLASHERS, Maurice Devereaux, strikes again!  It took Devereaux nearly two years to find a distributor for his 2007 film END OF THE LINE and this flick was worth the wait--it's a real doozy. While it might not be up to the high comedic standards set by its predecessor it's still a great piece of independent film making. It hits the ground running with a good and proper scare just to let us know that we're in for something special and believe me this flick is special. It has a completely original story that never takes you where you think you're going,  has an interesting assortment of characters who are more than just the victims du jour, a cast of very competent actors to inhabit those characters, plus a nice assortment of gory ways to kill them off. Oh yes, there will be blood.

I don't want to go into the story too much because it's best to go into this movie cold. Our heroine is Karen, is a psychiatric nurse at a hospital that has been receiving more than the usual number of loonies. Karen (Iliona Elkins) herself has been experiencing unnerving dreams and visions--centered around one of her patients who committed suicide by diving in front of a subway train. All of the film's action takes place in the subway, a creepy and unnerving place that gives off some really bad vibes.  The action starts in earnest when Karen is accosted by a nasty looking troublemaker  ( Robin Wilcock ) who clearly is up to no good.  Fortunately a  good looking young man named Mike (Nicholas Wright) comes to her rescue and the die is cast. Within the next few hours these three characters along with a feisty, hot, Asian chick named Julie ( Emily Shelton),  a pair of young lovers named Sarah and John (played by Nina Fillis and Tim Rozon ), a couple of subway workers, and  Neil, a take charge kind of guy (played by Neil Napier), will be fighting for their lives and maybe their souls against--against what? Well, that would be telling and I want you to find out for yourself. There are all sorts of twists and turns and an ending that will probably mystify you and possibly piss you off. 

As usual Devereaux is wearing multiple hats writer, producer, and director, he even acted as his own First Assistant Director!  One wonders when he found time to breathe. The special features on the DVD are always interesting and in the "Making of " featurette reveals that Devereaux's father died during filming but Devereaux didn't even mention it to anyone for fear of disrupting the production. THAT'S dedication. The acting is more than acceptable and fans of SLASHERS will finally get to see what  Neil Napier looks like, having only seen him under masks and makeup in the dual roles of  Chainsaw Charlie  and The Preacherman in that film. What makes END OF THE LINE different from Devereaux's other films is its central theme.  Here he's not going merely for some nasty scares and some good laughs, here he has an idea he wants to explore and a serious message he wants to get across, But as I said, I want to leave that for you to discover for yourself. You may have to watch this one more than once, but please do watch it. This is an exceptional low budget film that I highly recommend to anyone who truly loves horror films! See it today.

HYPE FACTOR: Next to None
IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE? IS IT REALLY THE END OF THE LINE?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
June 01, 2010
Great review. Can't wait until your 100th one! Sorry you didn't like Avatar. I liked it for the aspects of a whole new biology on another planet (or moon in this case). Yeah, the story's been done before but it's the way Cameron put it together that I liked. Too bad you didn't see it on the big screen. Anyway, good write-up!
June 02, 2010
The Na'vi or whatever they were looked like Gumby to me. They didn't seem to have any musculature at all. Oh. I said that already.
June 02, 2010
Yeah, but it made sense with all the other biology; it's potentially possible that evolution in that area could have evolved like that. Also the depiction of a disabled person getting the use of his limbs was tastefully done. I liked it, and not just for the effects.
June 02, 2010
To each his own.
June 02, 2010
Agreed, no problemo.
 
April 15, 2010
Sounds interesting. The subway setting is chilling. There was a horror that I saw which had a brief scene in a subway where the mirror cracked as the guy was looking at it or something. I remember that one being pretty creepy. Might just check this out when I have time. I won't be watching it alone, though!
April 15, 2010
This got really good reviews from Trashie and a couple of other folks I turned on to it as well.
April 15, 2010
I'll have to check out the reviews from the others then!
April 15, 2010
Be warned--they like to give away all the surprises and part of this movie rsts on certain questions about the reality of the situation.
April 15, 2010
Eep! Well, maybe I better hold off on reading the reviews until I've seen it. That would bug me! Thanks for the warning, Karen!
April 15, 2010
Your welcome.
 
April 14, 2010
Not sure if I have seen this or not, great review as always Karen.
April 14, 2010
For a more indepth plot review there's always Trashie's review. I never like to give more of the surprise away than necessary. This is a low budget film that you really have to seel out, so unless you made a special effort you probably haven't seen it. I highly recommend it though unless you have no tolerence at all for low budget flix.
 
December 23, 2009
there's a new review for this movie here from wrestleanimaniac. You have another convert, Karen!
December 23, 2009
Great. I'll have to see what he says about it!
 
October 31, 2009
so, I finally picked up EOTL..and I must say, it was not impressive. Actually, it turned out to be the usual tired and boring teen flick
November 02, 2009
Hmmm. Have you seen DISTRICT 9 yet or are you still content to review it based on the trailer?
 
September 08, 2009
I just picked up a used copy this past weekend at a local video store so I will be checking this out shortly. I tried to watch a couple of scenes during my hectic Labor Day weekend which did satisfy my curiousity. I will definitely finish watching this one & write up a review for lunchers. Great review by the way!!
September 08, 2009
Thanks. It'll be interesting to see what you think of it as compared to Trashie.
September 08, 2009
Ur welcome. So far, that was three amazing reviews on this sucker by reviewers whose opinions really count in my book so I couldn't possibly skip out on this one. ;-)
September 08, 2009
You might want to check out SLASHERS by the same director. Be warned though that it's very low budget. I reviewed it here. Its a completely different type of film from END OF THE LINE but Trashie liked it too.
September 08, 2009
Ya know, I'd never really heard much about the guy's films until I started reading your reviews. Well, yours and Trashie's to be honest. I looked up Slashers & Lady Of The Lake online. He's definitely one brilliant mind & it's a shame that low budget goodness doesn't equate with hacks like Michael Bay or atleast some people think. I, personally, dig the indies or the low budget flicks if they're done well.
September 09, 2009
LADY OF THE LAKE sort of left me cold, and then just recently I found out that the American version had been very badly cut. I think it was supposed to have been some sort of a ratings problem. I should really try and see if I can find a Canadian version one day. Of course now that the DVD of LADY is out it may be the Canadian version or it may be that Fangoria just re-released their old version. I don't know.
September 09, 2009
I remember seeing the VHS copy of Lady Of The Lake many years ago at a local video chain. It wouldn't surprise me at all to hear that the American version of it was butchered senselessly. Unfortunately, just about everything we manage to receive in America is cut heavily & we have to either buy imports from other countries should we wish to invest our time/money or wait years in hopes of a possible Director's Cut release. Kinda sucks, eh?
September 09, 2009
Sure does. But we did get the uncut version of DAY OF THE BEAST, a Spanish/Italian co-production that I highly recommend if you can find a copy. Right now all they have on ammie are copies that aren't subtitled.
September 09, 2009
I will certainly have to check that one out. I know you've recommended that one quite a bit so I will definitely watch it sometime. Gosh, copies without the subtitles are an insult to injury. The movie does sound awesome though & I do appreciate the recommendation. ;-)
September 09, 2009
I know I keep pushing it hard. There are copies to be had though because Blockbuster did have this one on its shelves, that's where I picked up my copy. I'm dying to hear someone else's opinion and I can't find anyone who has seen it!
September 09, 2009
I know the feeling. Before joining lunch, I used to believe that only I had an obscure taste in cinema but it's certainly nice to know that's no longer the case. ;-)
September 09, 2009
You're not alone any more.
 
June 05, 2009
You had me at "the director of Slashers"--getting on this asap!
June 05, 2009
The guy's only made a total of 4 flix, 3 of which I've been lucky enough to see. The first was BLOOD SYMBOL and the second was LADY OF THE LAKE which was picked up for U.S. distribution by Fangoria.
June 06, 2009
Neil Napier..I wonder if he's related to Charles Napier?
June 07, 2009
I dont't think so although I've done very little research, but in this case I doubt it, although movies and entertainment in general is a very despotic field.
 
1
More End of the Line (movie) reviews
review by . July 14, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
4 ½ Stars: Do You Follow Because of What You Know Or Because of What You Believe?
   We have all seen the news, about certain religious people who have suddenly exhibited violent behavior towards others and even towards themselves. Such news often give me the shivers when supposed decent people become driven to exhibit brutal behavior in what they believe is the way to their salvation. Writer/director Maurice Devereaux’s “End of the Line” explores such behavior in a very efficient manner; all the while feeding our fears of the presence of evil. The …
review by . September 09, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Endings & Beginnings
   Every review has it's origins & I really should give a shout out to the Queen of Bflix for this low budget goodness. Had it not been for her, I dunno how quickly I would've come across Devereaux's latest but am very grateful to her for introducing what may be my new favorite film (or at least hot cult item) this summer.  I would also like to extend a serious round of applause to Trashie and Woo for giving this film it's due praise as well as writing …
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
Apocalyptic horror flick from Maurice Devereaux ranks as one of the best flix of the decade.
Quick Tip by . February 15, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
Combines religious fanatics with the subway system, always a winning combination when you're talking about apocalyptic horror.
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #21
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by QUEENBFLIX
About this movie

Wiki


Maurice Devereaux (writer)

In this unsettling and creepy thriller, Karen (Ilona Elkin), a young nurse who works in a psychiatric ward, boards the last subway train of the night only to have it stop suddenly in the middle of the tunnel. As those around her are brutally murdered, Karen and a handful of survivors must face supernatural forces, homicidal religious cult members, as well as their own fears and suspicions of Armageddon, in order to survive.
 

view wiki

Tags

Details

Genre: Horror, slasher
DVD Release Date: May 5, 2009
Runtime: 95 minutes

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists