|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Horror Movies » Reviews » Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn » User review

Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye!

  • Oct 15, 2009
Rating:
+4

In the eighties, Evil Dead was a moderate success for director Sam Raimi & somehow managed to gross $2,400,000 upon it's initial release in the U.S  even though the budget was only $375,000. Despite mixed reviews from critics, the film has since managed to acquire a dedicated following as well as two successful sequels. (Horror writer Stephen King gave the film massive props in a November 1982 issue of Twilight Zone.) Not only did the sequels do exceptionally well, the films have all received multiple re-issues on DVD & several re-pressings through various distributors. Probability suggests that Evil Dead's popularity will remain a constant & this film's devoted followers will always cite this first entry as being their absolute favorite.

Within the past few years, Evil Dead has also been made into an off-Broadway musical production with the approval of Bruce Campbell & Sam Raimi. 

Although Evil Dead 2 works well as a sequel, I've always considered the film to be a re-visioning of the first low-budget classic only this time Raimi had more moo-lah-ah to play with. Even though there are sure-fire elements of horror present, I'm not REALLY sure I'd call it a straight-forward horror flick as it's way too goofy to be taken seriously. Having said that, there's plenty to love here & more reason to re-visit Evil Dead a second time. Need I say that the laughs come as fast as the gore??

How gory is Evil Dead 2? The film is unrated which means it wasn’t submitted to the MPAA 
because it surely would have gotten something more than an R), and in fact inspired the distributor (De Laurentiis Entertainment Group, founded by Dino De Laurentiis) to create Rosebud Releasing for this one film. There are plenty of decapitations, zombies, supernatural demons, and plenty of gore to satisfy the blood-thirsty nuts like myself who simply can't get enough of it. Oh, yes there will be blood. Buckets.

For some odd reason, Ash (played by Bruce Campbell) seems to love taking weekend trips with his girlfriend to this evil little place in the woods. You would think he might've learned his lesson after dealing with those demons from hell in the first entry & decided to take up golf as a hobby or maybe find another vacation spot. Instead, he would rather do battle with these evil minions in a haunted cabin once again. Some guys never learn I guess.

Evil Dead 2 picks up immediately where it's predecessor ended. Ashley takes his girlfriend on a seemingly romantic vacation back to the cabin in the woods. All is well until Ash begins to play a recording of Professor Knowby's incantations from the Necronomicon (roughly translated "Book Of The Dead") & the trouble immediately starts up again. As once can probably guess, the recorded passages unleash an evil force which takes possession of Linda's body & Ash is forced to either kill her or be killed. 

I could go into further details here for you but why kill the ultimate experience? As anyone who has seen this entry or any other Evil Dead film an tell you, the proof is definitely in the pudding. What becomes of a terrified Ash & is it really possible to kill Linda? If Ash can bring himself to murder the girlfriend, will she stay dead? Will Ash ever escape this nightmare in the woods or will he find himself the catalyst in a series of grotesque encounters with the demonic world?

Evil Dead is often touted as being a zombie flick by it's fans or cult following. While there are elements of the film which do remind us of zombie flicks, I've always seen the film to be about demonic possession. I will even go so far as to say I've seen countless threads or postings online where people have debated this for many years. At any rate, it's an entertaining flick & that's all that should matter. See it if you haven't already. If you've seen it before, welcome back. You already know how terrific it is.      

 
  

Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye! Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye! Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye! Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye! Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye! Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye! Kiss Your Nerves Good-Bye!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
October 21, 2010
One of the best movies ever.
October 21, 2010
Thanks! This has a been a favorite of mine sicne I was in my early teens. To this day, I still love it! It's good to hear from you.
 
October 16, 2009
I vastly preferred this one to the original. It's not a sequel at all even though it's called EVIL DEAD 2 because these people have clearly never been to that house before. It's basically a remake. People convinced Sam that no one had really seen the first film so he just remade it (minus the extraneous characters) within the first few minutes of the second flick and then went on from there. (Ash doesn't go BACK to the cabin--he's never been there. Of course it does tend to confuse those who HAVE seen the first film. ) Sam's said this on many occasions, as has Bruce. I feel the same way as you about ARMY OF DARKNESS. It's a disappointment. I might have liked it better if I hadn't see all of its best moments at Fangoria in L.A months before the film was released. In fact there was stuff that didn't even see release that should have been included but wasn't. But for me ED2 is a prefect flick. A 5.
October 16, 2009
I don't think I could put it any better really. I'm supposing there was a great deal of footage that somehow never saw light of day in Army Of Darkness. It's a shame we didn't get to see the original intended version. I kinda feel the same way about Tobe Hooper's Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2. Cannon really gave him the shit end of the stick so to speak although I keep hoping will get a legitimate copy of the film one day which features the film as Hooper had originally intended. Until then, I still haven't bought a DVD copy of it. Rumor has it the Laserdisc was truly uncut but I've never had one of those players. :-(
October 16, 2009
Probably couldn't find a functioning one any more if you tried.
October 16, 2009
More than likely, that would be like looking for a needle in a haystack. Come to think of it, I'm kinda glad that I didn't purchase one back in th day as I don't suspect I would've had the storage room for all those laserdiscs. ;-)
October 17, 2009
It's no worse than collecting record albums. They just start smelling a little musty after awhile.
even though I never had a player I do have a few laser discs because of the artwork. I also have a special Japanese edition of EVIL DEAD 2--the disc itself is red. It's supposed to have a lot of special features on it which I, alas never saw.  But they're probably the same ones I now have on DVD anyhow.
October 20, 2009
I suppose. I was afraid of running out of space & not having enough room to brush my teeth sideways. A red disc? Now that sounds pretty cool. Have you Evil Dead 2 on DVD? If so, did you get that Limited Edition Necromicon Ex-Mortis? I've never bought it but have been tempted.
October 20, 2009
I think I have every edition they ever put out.
October 20, 2009
Wow, you are quite the collector. I've had numerous copies on VHS through the years but never upgraded to DVD. I guess the collector's book may be the way to go so perhaps I'll shell out some money on that one sometime soon.
October 20, 2009
What can I say? ED2 is one of my all time favorite movies.
 
October 15, 2009
great movie! QueenBflix will love you for this review...
check out MAREBITO if you want something twisted...
October 15, 2009
Thnks Woo! Somehow I believe Queen will be quite thrilled. It's the month of Halloween & I have a few more reviews coming you're way. Stay tuned. Check ya later bro & I will catch up on your Marebito review too.
 
1
More Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn reviews
review by . May 14, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
***1/2 out of ****     I've been raised to believe that recycling is a very good thing, and indeed it is. I never would have imagined that such a word as "recycle" could apply to a film, but here you go; "The Evil Dead 2" is good at recycling. The film is considered a sequel- or perhaps even a remake- or Raimi's previous film, "The Evil Dead". What a fantastic film that was; wonderfully ghoulish, deviously demonic, and hilariously awesome in just about every way possible. If …
review by . September 10, 2009
Evil Dead II is the sequel to the surprise midnight movie hit Evil Dead.   After the huge success of the first film, Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell reunite for this Quasi-Remake/Sequel. Ash and his lady are off on a nice trip through the woods. They stop off and rest inside an old cabin. Does Ash realize that he's been here before or doesn't he? Raimi and company (armed with a bigger budget and over the top special effects) bring us the second installment of the Evil Dead series. This film focuses …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #29
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Horror comedy directed by Sam Raimi. Written by Sam Raini and Scott Spiegel. Starring Bruce Campbell
view wiki

Details

Director: Sam Raimi
Genre: Horror, Comedy
Release Date: March 13, 1987
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Scott Spiegel, Sam Raimi
Runtime: 1hr 24min
Studio: De Laurentiis Entertainment Group
Polls with this movie
First to Review

"Will Ash be dead by dawn?"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists