|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by rbuchanan

  • Nov 11, 2011
Strange by Japanese standards, this skewed omnibus of satirical, absurdist, musical and animated sketches jointly written and helmed by Shunichiro Miki, Katsuhito Ishii and Hajime Ishimine simulates indecisive television navigation by dint of mixed quality and copious smash cuts. Most of its first half is comprised of forced eccentricity and hipster tedium, but the redeeming second is a ludicrous thrill: bizarre, manic outlandishness in commonplace locales. Those famed among Funky Forest's attractive performers are cunningly cast against type: gorgeous Tadanobu Asano plays a greasy, guitar-strumming dork, Gainax co-founder and anime mastermind Hideaki Anno is a freelance animator and adorable Kazue Fukiishi is reduced to one-third of an obnoxious, itinerant trio. At its best, this is great frivolity - a Japanese equivalent to Monty Python or Heidecker and Wareheim - but the weakest hour of its 150 minutes should have been excised. Some armchair editor or other ought produce a leaner, more entertaining cut of this flick...
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
November 12, 2011
I had fun with this as with Party 7 and that one with the title "Shark" something as with Asano... :) Great QT!
November 16, 2011
Thank you. I've yet to see Party 7, but you're either the fourth or fifth person who's recommended it to me. Shark Skin Man and Peach Hip Girl was tremendous fun, everything that I expected Ichi the Killer to be. Ishii is one of several varieties of filmmaker that cinema needs more of: the unabashedly silly, who don't take a frame of what they expose seriously.
 
November 11, 2011
A baka gaigin like you....wouldn't understand! What's the matter?! Too weeaboo for you?! Hate all you want, you'll never crush my Japanese Spirit!

v_^-^_v  <---(that means victory in nipponese!)
November 11, 2011
WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAA

ARGH! GOD DAMNED OTAKU DORKS assault my text! Get thee back to thy chan boards and cosplay, filth!

Also: smooch
November 11, 2011
HEEE! ^_^ **kissies** ^-^
 
1
More FUNKY FOREST: First Contact reviews
review by . July 05, 2009
posted in ASIANatomy
Dvd cover
   Japanese films have always been able to blend brilliance with oddball flair, art, commerce, screwball comedy and uninhibited anarchic craziness. Never before has one movie made me say “What the Heck?” more times in one viewing. FUNKY FOREST: FIRST CONTACT (2005, Naiso No Mori: First Contact) is one film that will bewilder and dazzle you, with its very bizarre execution and ‘extremist’ filmmaking. The film is a collaboration between three renowned Japanese filmmakers; …
About the reviewer
Robert Buchanan ()
Ranked #30
I'm a bibliophile, ailurophile, inveterate aggregator, dedicated middlebrow and anastrophizing syntax addict. My personality type is that of superlative INTJ.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
rbuchanan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Funky Forest: The First Contact, also known as Naisu no mori: The First Contact or Funky Forest: The First Encounter is a 2005 Japanese movie written and directed by Katsuhito Ishii, Hajimine Ishimine and Shunichiro Miki. The movie is composed of several story lines, some of which coincide, most of which are comical.It had already accumulated a cult following before its showing at the 2006 Fantastic Fest. It was released on Region 1 DVD in March 2008.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Animation, Comedy, Fantasy, Music, Musical, Romance
Runtime: 150 minutes
Studio: Aoi Promotion, Naisu no mori Seisaku Iinkai
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists