|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Fantasia / Fantasia 2000 (Four-Disc Blu-ray/DVD

Walt Disney Home Entertainment's Blu-ray / DVD release of Walt Disney's 1940 musical film "Fantasia".

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Dec 28, 2010
Not disappointed at all! Finally, I can say that I've seen the best available version of one of my favorite Disney animated films. The hi-def transfer and restoration is nothing short of spectacular and Fantasia has never looked nor sounded so beautiful! While some may complain about the censoring of the Sunflower character, I wasn't at all bothered by this since I grew up without having ever seen that sequence anyway. This is a superb Blu-ray/DVD!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
January 10, 2011
I've seen both, but not restored as you say. I should pick this up. Thanks for the tip!
January 10, 2011
Yeah, the restorations are great. I just wish that they'd re-release the soundtrack and have it sound as good as the Blu-ray/DVD. The last CD version was put out in 1990 and the sound quality was mediocre.
 
December 28, 2010
I may order the BD.
December 28, 2010
I did. I ordered the combo pack since it was only $5 more than the DVD alone. I'll let you know how the hi-def quality is.
December 28, 2010
great! I am a bit cautious when buying these old movies on BD.
December 28, 2010
I can't blame you. Some old films aren't properly restored and end up looking grainier, but so far Disney has done amazing hi-def restorations for both DVD and Blu-ray.
January 04, 2011
seen the BD yet?
January 04, 2011
Nope, but I'd imagine it's great. The DVD quality was flawless. Quite likely this is the best digital restoration Disney has done.
 
1
More Fantasia / Fantasia 2000: 2 Mo... reviews
review by . December 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I dimly remember seeing "Fantasia" in theatres as a child. Looking on Wikipedia, I see it was re-released when I was ten years old, so that must've been when I saw it. It doesn't seem that long ago, actually, and seeing it again now it felt just as fresh as it did back when I was a wee little lad.    The original "Fantasia" dates back to 1940, and it's an amazing piece of art. Each of the segments in the film is very well done, though the best in my opinion is the mix of "A Night …
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

This multi-disc set comes laden with extras, accessible through needlessly fussy menus. The most interesting of the extras is the short documentary "The Schultheis Notebook." Herman Schultheis was an artist-engineer-cameraman who worked at the Walt Disney Studio in the early '40s. During his free time, he kept a meticulous notebook on the experimental processes used to create effects in Fantasia, from the whirling galaxies in "The Rite of Spring" to the spinning snowflakes in "The Waltz of the Flowers." An interactive display of the notebook can be seen in the Walt Disney Family Museum in San Francisco, and several animation historians (including this reviewer) discuss its significance. Fantasia 2000 offers Destino, the Walt Disney-Salvador Dali creation that took more than 50 years to complete, and an overproduced film about the making of it. The best of the supplemental pieces features artists Eric and Susan Goldberg and Al Hirschfeld discussing "Rhapsody in Blue," the film's most successful sequence.--Charles Solomon
view wiki

Details

Genre: Animation
Release Date: November 13, 1940; December 17, 1999
MPAA Rating: G
Screen Writer: Dick Huemer, Joe Grant
DVD Release Date: November 30, 2010
Runtime: 120 minutes / 75 minutes
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures, RKO Radio Pictures, Walt Disney Productions
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists