|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Ferris Bueller's Day Off » User review

Ferris Bueller's Day Off

A 1986 movie by John Hughes

< read all 14 reviews

A How-To Manual On Making A Skip Day Worth It

  • Mar 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I dare anyone to watch this movie and NOT be amused at some point.
"Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is John Hughes' quintessential classic 80s teen flick. Shot on location in Chicago and several surrounding 'burbs, the film follows the day-long adventure of Ferris (Matthew Broderick), his best bud Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck) and girlfriend Sloan (Mia Sara). Out to get him? His jealous sister Jeanie (pre-nose job, pre-"Dirty Dancing" Jennifer Grey) and school principal Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones).

If you've ever known that kid that can do no wrong, is immensely popular, gets away with everything, and you just-don't-care-because-he's so freaking-cool, then you can relate to Ferris Bueller. While the movie clearly takes more than a few wildly unrealistic turns, it's so damn funny you can overlook the "Oh that CAN"T happen" moments. This is a fictional comedy. Well, except for the wrecked Ferrari. Ain't nothing ever funny about that.

Buried between the laughs is John Hughes' perennial message - growing up is a pain in the ass, it's certainly not easy, and for that alone, there's just cause to have the occasional freak-out and make your own fun when maybe you shouldn't be. Because wouldn't you rather be at a Cubs game than gym class, too?

I can't think of a single actor that doesn't deliver a top-notch performance - down to Charlie Sheen's cameo at the cop shop. It's one of those flicks that everyone knows at least one or two quotes from, and even if you've seen it 20 times, you'll still stop the remote on in when channel-flipping. It delivers the laughs and even if you never get to experience a hooky day like this one, you'll appreciate every moment of Ferris'.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
April 08, 2009
Any movie that could spurn the name of a band (Save Ferris) is inherently awesome. Add in the fact that it's filmed in the world's best city, and it's gotta be considered a classic. One of my favorites!
 
April 02, 2009
One of Charlie Sheen's best roles.
August 07, 2009
Truly...that performance was great even though he had like 10 lines.
 
March 17, 2009
Buried between the laughs is John Hughes' perennial message - growing up is a pain in the ass, it's certainly not easy, and for that alone, there's just cause to have the occasional freak-out and make your own fun when maybe you shouldn't be.

I couldn't have said it better myself!  Ferris Bueller is one of my favorite movies of all time.  It reminds me not to take life too seriously and has nurtured my spontaneous, adventurous streak :)
 
March 14, 2009
Great review- I always run into the problem of not ever enjoying my days off because I use them to do all the other things I never have time to do- the review just reminded me of the blessedness of the no real responsibility ages!
 
1
More Ferris Bueller's Day Off reviews
review by . June 03, 2013
My Favourite Movie
If I could give this movie more than a +5 rating I would. It's one of those movies you must see. Energetic, funny, genius, you cannot help but fall in love with this film. I recommend it to everyone. I mean it.
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Classic coming of age comedy about a whiz kid taking a day off from school. Lots of fun and full of memorable set pieces.
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
   takes me back.  never get tired of watching and think i need to get this one to add to my collection. it's timeless. any kid now can appreciate the comedy ferris and his friends provide. even if school is much different now. ferris is considered a hero to his friends for getting away with ditching and never getting caught by his parents. his sister jeanie tries to get ferris caught and is frustrated that he gets away with so much. his parents dont have a clue. sloan (cool name) …
review by . July 21, 2010
   One of Quentin's greatest movies. He has made many great movies but this one is clearly a work of art above all of his others(hard to believe i know!). He portrays in a very dark manner, his creepy yet amazing work of filming and composure.  
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
High school whiz kid skips school, gets his sick friend and gets his girlfriend out of class to have an afternoon of fun in Chicago and in the process, teaches his friend some self respect. Classic comedy both from Ferris's antics and his uppity Principals attempts to catch Ferris in the act.
review by . August 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Ferris Bueller is the cool kid in High School that does what he wants, schemes when he wants to, and gets away with everything he desires. He is the kid everyone wishes they could be growing up. The movie begins with Ferris deciding that he just needs a day off from school so a grand scheme to skip without getting caught is hatched. The school principal is suspicious of Ferris all the time because of all of his past pranks that he just can't prove. The principal takes it upon himself to catch …
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Very nice movie where Hughes creates this teen flicked movie to amuse the audience of Butler's day off.
Quick Tip by . August 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Along with 'Family Business' Broderick & cast hav'nt been better.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
One of the best coming-of-age 80's comedies, FBDO is clever, witty and fun. Makes me wish my high school days were that fun.
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Another classic I think I see this movie coming on cable TV all the time, I feel it has been played out a little too much.
About the reviewer
Kelly Konrad ()
Ranked #309
I'm a freelance writer, mom to three and wife - and the order of importance changes depending on my mood, the weather or if there's a nut on a reality TV show that I'm just dying to talk about. ("Sorry, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KellyK
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) is a tricky but harmless fast-talker. But he knows how to have fun, which is exactly what he sets out to do when he feigns illness and talks his parents into letting him stay home from school. The perpetually lucky Ferris enlists his hypochondriac best friend, Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), into springing his girlfriend, Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara), from class, and the three embark on a raucous downtown Chicago adventure. From Wrigley Field to the Art Institute of Chicago to a Polish pride parade, Ferris and his friends make the most of their day off. But Ferris, Sloane, and Cameron might not get away with playing hooky. Ferris's sister, Jeanie (Jennifer Grey), is determined to prove that Ferris is faking sick and make him pay for it, and the bumbling school dean, Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), is sure that Ferris is pulling a fast one. Another classic from writer-director John Hughes (SIXTEEN CANDLES, THE BREAKFAST CLUB), this film features a star turn from Broderick as the cha...
view wiki

Tags

Details

Director: John Hughes
Release Date: 1986
Runtime: 1hr 43min

Polls with this movie
16 Candles

80's Movies

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists