|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » For Colored Girls (2010) » User review

For Colored Girls (2010)

Movie Directed by Tyler Perry

< read all 3 reviews

For You Too.

  • Nov 6, 2010
Rating:
+2
FOR COLORED GIRLS
Written and Directed by Tyler Perry
Starring Janet Jackson, Anika Noni Rose, Thandie Newton, Kimberly Elise and Whoopi Goldberg
 
Crystal: Part of me knows this is happening but part of me thinks I’m dreaming.  Am I awake?
 
Up until seeing FOR COLORED GIRLS, I had never seen a Tyler Perry film.  I’m not a fan of men in fat suits dressed up as women and I’m not really the intended demographic either for that matter.  Fortunately, despite the title’s suggestion that this film is for a very specific group of people, its emotional impact should translate to anyone capable of feeling period.  For while the tapestry of tragedy that Perry weaves may be about “colored girls” and should also give any “colored girl” who watches it something to take away from it, it also invites everyone else who sees it to see the world in shades they maybe never have.
 
FOR COLORED GIRLS is based on a 1975 stage play by Ntosake Shange called “For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf”.  In it, a cast of seven African-American women each represent a different color and the qualities that go along with it.  They also each bring a different emotional plight to the plot, from abuse to rape to abortion.  No, this is not a lighthearted film and the talented cast bare the weight of the material with proud shoulders.  My personal favorite would be Kimberly Elise, whose abusive relationship leaves her beautiful face looking like a hollow, heartbroken shell.  Perry added an eighth woman to his ensemble (perhaps for good luck) but keeps a key poetic element of the play in place, having each character fall into soliloquy at different intervals. They may all be “colored girls” but there is still a vast range of individuality amongst them and, while grouping together builds bonds between them, it also robs them a little of the painstakingly earned place they’ve made as people.  Plus, people don’t talk like that; it completely stops the action.
 
Like the lives of the women on the screen, FOR COLORED GIRLS, is far from perfect.  Perry has taken on an ambitious project and bits and pieces do manage to get away from him at times.  Still, there are several other times when the film’s pace takes on such momentum that it plays like a marathon of hardship, with each woman as a runner, passing a baton of pain from one to the next.  Like any race though, the runners lose their stride at times and goes on to find strength they didn’t know they had to make it to the end.  For Perry, all his “colored girls” and those watching from the stands, it is an exalting finish that will leave many in tears.

Thanks for reading.
The LUNCH rating is out of 10.

For more BLACK SHEEP REVIEWS,
just click the link below ...

blacksheepreviews.com
For You Too. For You Too. For You Too.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
March 22, 2011
Great review, I just watched it and totally agree that everyone with any sort of feeling can take a lot from this movie- regardless of which color of the rainbow they are.
March 30, 2011
It felt slightly forced and lost at times but it is ultimately effective emotionally, that's for sure.
 
November 08, 2010
Great review. But I think I'll be skipping this one. Hey, are you going to see "Conviction"?
November 12, 2010
I actually have zero interest in "Conviction". Did you see it?
November 13, 2010
Not yet, I will try this coming Sunday...it doesn't have that many showtimes in the theater close by for some reason.
 
November 08, 2010
Glad you reviewed this movie; I was wondering about it and it sounds like an emotional one. I was interested also in seeing how Janet Jackson's performance was since she has been through so many emotional traumas in her real life recently. Thank you for the review!
November 12, 2010
Sadly, I felt Jackson's performance was one of the worst in the bunch. She was meant to be a cold business woman but it I didn't feel too much of the human behind the ice queen. Not cliched, just not full enough.
November 13, 2010
Awww--what a shame; I guess she should just stick to singing and dancing LOL and thank you for responding!! Great review!!
 
1
More For Colored Girls (2010) reviews
review by . March 22, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
This film is intense and you shouldn't go into it unless you have a box of Kleenex by your side and are ready to go into the darkest alleys of people's pain. Contrary to the title of this film, it is not and should not be limited to "colored girls". It should be shown to all of the colors of the rainbow and to both sexes because this poetic tapestry of pain is a human story. Even if it isn't yours, you should listen and learn from it.      "Women give …
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
I suppose when it comes down to it, sometimes you either like a director and his/her films or not, and with Tyler Perry, for me it's a not. I've not been a fan of his Medea films because the humor just doesn't appeal to me personally. Often the direction is too broad and the characters are mere cliches. Well, here Perry has shown that he can create a rather compelling drama, unfortunately he also has shown the same predilection for very broad direction and cliche characters.   …
About the reviewer
Joseph Belanger ()
Ranked #26
Hello Lunchers. I am a thirty-something guy making his way in Toronto. I am a banker by day and a film critic the rest of the time. Sensitive, sharp and sarcastic are just a few words that start with … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
BlackSheep
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

  • Opens Friday, November 5, 2010 | Runtime:2 hr. 0 min.
  • R
    Some disturbing violence including a rape, sexual content and language
  • Based on Ntozake Shange's award-winning 1975 play, which consists of a series of poems performed through a cast of nameless women, known only by a color. It deals with such subjects as love, abandonment, rape, and abortion. It later morphed into an Emmy Award-nominated television special and is still being performed around the world.Read More
  • Cast: Kimberly Elise, Janet Jackson, Loretta Devine
  • Director: Tyler Perry
  • Genres: DramaEnsemble Film
  • view wiki

    Details

    Director: Tyler Perry
    Genre: Drama
    Release Date: November 5, 2010
    MPAA Rating: R
    Screen Writer: Tyler Perry
    Runtime: 133 minutes
    Studio: Lionsgate Films
    First to Review

    "For You Too."
    © 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
    Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
    ()
    This is you!
    Ranked #
    Last login
    Member since
    reviews
    comments
    ratings
    questions
    compliments
    lists