|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » For Colored Girls (2010) » User review

For Colored Girls (2010)

Movie Directed by Tyler Perry

< read all 3 reviews

A Poetic Tapestry of Pain

  • Mar 22, 2011
Rating:
+5
This film is intense and you shouldn't go into it unless you have a box of Kleenex by your side and are ready to go into the darkest alleys of people's pain. Contrary to the title of this film, it is not and should not be limited to "colored girls". It should be shown to all of the colors of the rainbow and to both sexes because this poetic tapestry of pain is a human story. Even if it isn't yours, you should listen and learn from it.

"Women give up so much, just so much of their power."

There are eight different female weavers to this tapestry, intertwining the yarn of their lives with colors of everything from rape to murder to abuse to promiscuity to HIV to abortion. Each story, each weaver, has such a weight that at times you're not sure if the actress can carry it on her shoulders. Yet, surprisingly each of the actresses weave their stories so well that you feel as if you are right there, wanting to reach out and give them a comforting hug because you have no idea what else to do.

It is harder than one would think to adapt a play for the screen, just like it's difficult for a novel to be adapted to film. In the same sense, the story somehow doesn't have the same cathartic feeling to it than it does in its original form. However, Tyler Perry did an incredible job of keeping the film in the same style of the play.

Some critique the soliloquies that the actresses perform throughout the film, saying that it isn't realistic and takes away from the overall pace of the film. Perhaps, it's my theater background or the fact that I've written and performed spoken word and enjoy that style of performance, but I enjoyed the poetic asides that each actress uses to illustrate her own story. It helps to bring her voice out, when it's been lost underneath all the other excuses and lies that she's told herself so much so that she gives away all of her power before she knows what she's done.

There is a wonderful ending to the film, which doesn't put any special gloss on the roller coaster you just went on but, you still walk away feeling that the women, with all their pain and grief and anger, are all going to be alright. They have created a thing of beauty out of each of their painful stories and it becomes a poetic tapestry of hope and faith.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
April 20, 2011
I've been wanting to see this one myself but have missed the theatrical run and almost forgot to check it out on dvd. Somehow, I knew this was going to be good yet heartbreaking perhaps like Precious was last year. Thanks for reviewing this one. I'm glad to see your words and hear your thoughts! ;-)
April 21, 2011
Thanks, Brian! I hope you add it to your Netflix queue because it's a great flick.
 
April 09, 2011
I saw this and while I thought the performances were amazing, I felt that the story portrayed black women too much as victims and almost took a self-pitying attitude rather than displaying the adversity people face and how they overcome it. But again, the performances were astounding. Phylicia Rashad is such a talented actress. It's great that she does as much stage work as she can in New York, but I wish she would do more films too.
April 09, 2011
With black female film roles, there seems to be a few cliches- the junkie mother, the strong black woman who people will more likely call a bitch, or the victim. Unfortunately, Hollyweird hasn't come to the point that a woman is a woman and we all share the same stories.Shoot, they barely have decent realistic roles for white women. I thought that Perry did a fine job and does a fine job of writing a variety of black female roles. I saw this film less about black women and more about all women. I think that having your children dropped 10 stories in front of you and surviving that is a quiet strength that perhaps only that character could only find through such a tragedy. Phylicia Rashad is excellent and she provided a great balance to all the other women, owning a quiet strength that usually comes from seeing much too much of life. I think that there are times when there shouldn't be happily ever after, it's obvious that that's not going to be the case for these women and I enjoyed the honesty that that showcases. They were going to survive what had happened to them each in their own way but, that they would be forever changed for it which is exactly what happens in real life.
April 09, 2011
What did you think of Whoopi? First time I've seen her play a character who was kind of unlikeable.
April 09, 2011
I loved her performance. It's always great when a comic actress steps away from comedy to explore her darker side. I thought she did a great job and had a lot of wonderful moments.
 
March 25, 2011
wow! This sounds real intriguing. I agree, most novels do not make a good transition into film. Thanks for the reminder!
March 25, 2011
Anytime :) Thanks for reading!
 
1
More For Colored Girls (2010) reviews
review by . November 06, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
For You Too.
FOR COLORED GIRLS   Written and Directed by Tyler Perry   Starring Janet Jackson, Anika Noni Rose, Thandie Newton, Kimberly Elise and Whoopi Goldberg       Crystal: Part of me knows this is happening but part of me thinks I’m dreaming.  Am I awake?       Up until seeing FOR COLORED GIRLS, I had never seen a Tyler Perry film.  I’m not a fan of men in fat suits dressed up as women and I’m not really the …
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
I suppose when it comes down to it, sometimes you either like a director and his/her films or not, and with Tyler Perry, for me it's a not. I've not been a fan of his Medea films because the humor just doesn't appeal to me personally. Often the direction is too broad and the characters are mere cliches. Well, here Perry has shown that he can create a rather compelling drama, unfortunately he also has shown the same predilection for very broad direction and cliche characters.   …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

  • Opens Friday, November 5, 2010 | Runtime:2 hr. 0 min.
  • R
    Some disturbing violence including a rape, sexual content and language
  • Based on Ntozake Shange's award-winning 1975 play, which consists of a series of poems performed through a cast of nameless women, known only by a color. It deals with such subjects as love, abandonment, rape, and abortion. It later morphed into an Emmy Award-nominated television special and is still being performed around the world.Read More
  • Cast: Kimberly Elise, Janet Jackson, Loretta Devine
  • Director: Tyler Perry
  • Genres: DramaEnsemble Film
  • view wiki

    Details

    Director: Tyler Perry
    Genre: Drama
    Release Date: November 5, 2010
    MPAA Rating: R
    Screen Writer: Tyler Perry
    Runtime: 133 minutes
    Studio: Lionsgate Films
    First to Review

    "For You Too."
    © 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
    Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
    ()
    This is you!
    Ranked #
    Last login
    Member since
    reviews
    comments
    ratings
    questions
    compliments
    lists