|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Fringe » User review

Fun with pseudoscience!

  • May 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I was initially embarrassed, at my age and with a reasonable education, to be watching a show where our heroine can control light bulbs with her brain, among many other improbable wonders.  I'd have been madly in love with this show when I was eleven years old and "ESP" seemed one mad scientist from reality.

The way Walter coincidentally and "surprisingly" knew all about every bizarre development was also off-putting at first, though they've finally stopped acting like it would be a big surprise that Massive Dynamic and Walter's old labmate William Bell were involved in everything. 

Heroine is heroic, handsome guy is handsome, kooky guy is kooky.  It's fun.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
June 18, 2009
I have to admit, I LOVE this show! I've always liked X-files, and anything like it that is mysterious and sci-fi focused. Walter is a fantastic character and I'm always curious what type of new concept he is going to explore. I only wish there were new episodes coming soon!
 
1
More Fringe reviews
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
posted in SF Signal
Awesome show, makes you think, always does something unexpected. Everyone should be watching this show.
Quick Tip by . January 20, 2010
Entertaining and intelligent show with likeable characters that takes the unbelievable and offers scientific explanations for it all.
Quick Tip by . December 02, 2009
What started as a pretty hokey X-Files knockoff has now become the best Sci Fi show on television!
review by . October 01, 2009
Ok, totally shallow but Pacey?!?!?! He's the best! The show is great, and I really can't get enough of anything that JJ Abrams does. And I love the cow.
review by . April 20, 2009
Sci-fi geeks worldwide cried like little girls the day that X-Files was ended.    But take heart, Fringe is here.  From JJ Abrams, the maker of Alias and Lost, comes Fringe... a sci-fi/detective drama.    Fringe is named because of the type of detective work it follows, "Fringe Science".  It's the type of science that borderlines crazy.  It's like House--you get all the crazy disesases--but without the disease part.      The …
review by . May 13, 2009
Fringe
To say that this show didn't have struggles during its long first season due to American Idol taking precedence would be wrong.  People could have just stopped watching the show due to all of the long gaps in the season and the constant annoyance of being cut off short because Idol ran to long, but people did stay with Fringe because of what a fun and interesting show it is and thankfully, was picked up for a second season.    I'll admit, it took me about the first ten episodes …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1025
Member Since: Apr 20, 2009
Last Login: Dec 14, 2009 05:59 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jamidwyer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

FBI Special Agent Olivia Dunham is assigned to investigate the bizarre case of an international flight that landed at Boston's Logan Airport with a load of passengers and crew members who all have died grisly deaths. After another agent, John Scott, is nearly killed during the investigation, Olivia's search for clues takes her to institutionalized genius Dr. Walter Bishop, whose estranged son, Peter, may prove helpful in solving this mystery. After meeting manipulative corporate executive Nina Sharp, however, Olivia and her colleagues begin to realize the riddle of that ghastly flight is only a fragment of an even more shocking truth. Show History: J.J. Abrams, Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman, Bryan Burk and Jeff Pinkner are executive producers.

Fringe has been picked up for a second season by FOX.
view wiki

Details

DVD Release Date: September 8, 2009
Premiere Date: September 09, 2008
Description: A scifi show that follows FBI Agent Olivia Dunham as she and her crew investigate events due to "The Pattern" and "Fringe Science"
Genre: scifi, Drama, Crime Drama
Studio: Bad Robot, Fox
Original Air Date: September 9th 2008
Polls with this movie

The best shows on T.V.

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists