|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Good Hair » User review

Good Hair

Documentary by Chris Rock

< read all 2 reviews

Some of this Information is Hair-Raising!!!

  • Jan 28, 2012
  • by
Rating:
+4
Good Hair is good entertainment and a fascinating look at culture and beauty.

Chris rock gets to the heart of hair. Specifically the hair of black women, and the products, and the high dollar industry behind the do's. Exposed in creative and entertaining Chris Rock style humor, the topic itself isn't all that amusing. Kind of horrifying actually. Rock participates in this documentary because he has two little girls of his own. His focus is on them and how societal pressure is going to affect them as they grow into awareness of what constitutes good or bad hair. Rock explores chemical relaxation, weaves, and natural hair, past and present. I did not know where weave hair comes from and was shocked at what Chris discovered. I shared the horror of the scientist who met with Chris to discuss the main ingredient in chemical relaxers. I believe the scientist's comment was along the lines of "Why would anyone put that in their hair?" I also stared wide-eyed at the annual hair product convention and the contest.

Whew. As a white girl I am never going to complain about a bad hair day again, seriously. If you are looking for an entertaining documentary, this one fits the bill. There is a PG13 discussion in a barber shop that might be inappropriate for children and grandmas and an F-Bomb or two, but other than that, it's family friendly and definitely eye opening.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
January 28, 2012
Interesting presentation !
January 28, 2012
Thank you, I think. : )
 
January 28, 2012
I've been wanting to check this out and keep on forgetting about it...probably because I hadn't heard one way or the other about it. Great write-up, I'm going to have to rent this!
January 28, 2012
Definitely one of the more interesting documentaries I've seen. And entertaining.
 
1
More Good Hair reviews
review by . October 21, 2009
Good Hair by Chris Rock
Chris Rock may have been the only person who could have pulled off this documentary. Hair is a touchy topic for African-American women as made evident by both this documentary and its trailer, and Chris Rock is at his best when he's pushing those buttons too hot for any hands other than his own.       Like most of his stand up material, "Good Hair" is social commentary as entertainment. However, in this case the commentary comes from a wide range of celebrities, both …
About the reviewer
Kelly Klepfer ()
Ranked #56
Member Since: Feb 11, 2009
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 02:25 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KellyKlepfer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

"

An exposé of comic proportions that only Chris Rock could pull off, GOOD HAIR visits beauty salons and hairstyling battles, scientific laboratories and Indian temples to explore the way hairstyles impact the activities, pocketbooks, sexual relationships, and self-esteem of the black community.

Director Jeff Stilson follows Chris Rock on this raucous adventure prompted by Rock's daughter approaching him and asking, "Daddy, how come I don't have good hair?" Haircare professionals, beautyshop and barbershop patrons, as well as celebrities including Ice-T, Nia Long, Paul Mooney, Raven Symoné, Dr. Maya Angelou, Salt n Pepa, Eve and Reverend Al Sharpton all candidly offer their stories and observations to Rock while he struggles with the task of figuring out how to respond to his daughter's question.

GOOD HAIR marks a reunion of the team behind Rock's acclaimed and Emmy® Award-winning HBO series The Chris Rock Show, including producer Nelson George, writer-director Jeff Stilson, writers Lance Crouther and Chuck Sklar. The film is produced by Chris Rock and Kevin O’Donnell.

GOOD HAIR is presented by HBO Films and released theatrically by Liddell Entertainment and Roadside Attractions.

view wiki

Tags

Movies, Icet, Chris Rock, Bonner Brothers, Nia Long, Maya Angelou

Details

Release Date: October 26, 2009
Screen Writer: Chris Rock

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists