|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Goodfellas » User review

Goodfellas

A movie directed by Martin Scorsese

< read all 14 reviews

Scorsese at his absolute finest

  • Apr 6, 2011
Rating:
+5
Henry Hill (Ray Liotta) is a young boy growing up in a rough neighborhood full of trouble. Instead of doing normal things like the rest of the kids his age, he decides he will quit going to school and be a gangster. Tommy DeVito (Joe Pesci) and Jimmy Conway (Robert De Niro) immediately befriend Henry, and the three of them start to become good friends. They quickly begin to climb the ladder in the mob world, but they could be going too far with their work. Having to go behind the back of their mob boss Paul Cicero, the three must do everything they can to keep the life they have always dreamed of, but without getting caught. And now they must all just hope to stay alive.


If you are looking for a list of Oscar snubs, look no further than Goodfellas, because this is probably the biggest snub I have ever seen. Now I obviously have not seen every film from the year 1990, but looking at the nominations Goodfellas received, I think it should have at least won best director and best picture. This is in my opinion one of the greatest films ever made. When I hear "Martin Scoresese's masterpiece" it tends to go with either Raging Bull or Taxi Driver, and I haven't seen Raging Bull (terrible, I know) but I found Goodfellas to definitely be Scorsese's best film. Many people will disagree, but I really stand alongside Ebert with this one, for the most part. I don't know that I would put this above The Godfather for greatest crime film of all time, but it really was close. I will even go as far to say that I personally thought this was better than The Godfather Part 2. That may just be me, but that is how I feel about these films.


Goodfellas is actually a very distrubing film in many ways. While movie lovers will go crazy over this film, a regular viewer is either going to throw up or quit watching before the film is over. The violence is going to make a lot of regular movie goers turn away from the film but, who cares about them. Martin Scorsese and Nicholas Pileggi do an unbelievable job writing this film. Every scene in the film was needed, and everything was very well written. The dialogue was great, and Martin Scorsese's direction was absolutely fantastic. This is the snub I have the biggest problem with. Every scene in the film was shot so well, and never for a minute was I bored. Martin Scorsese brilliantly takes the audience right into the heart of the mob, as awful as it may be, and we all feel for the characters as they go from just little roberies to completely unnecessary murders, even for the mob. If there is something to say about this film over any other crime drama, it really focuses on the actual mob more than any of the others that I have seen do, and that is what Scorsese was going for. I cannot say enough about the brilliance of his job here, so if you have not seen this film you will have to just watch it yourself.


The casting of this film was perfect. Ray Liotta as the young mobster was fantastic, by far in my opinion to be his career performance. Maybe some will disagree, but I thought he deserved a best actor nomination. Even if he doesn't win, he should at least get the honor of being nominated. I am not always a fan of his, but in this film I was. Robert De Niro, well I don't think I need to say much about him, but he was great as always. He seems to enjoy playing gangsters, and he does it very well. Though his best will always come from The Godfather Part 2. Joe Pesci was in every way deserving to win his Oscar. He played the mobster that gets out of hand quickly like no other person on this earth could have. Even though De Niro is my all time favorite actor, Pesci's performance here was probably my favorite. All the supporting actors were great as well, especially that of Lorraine Bracco's performance.


Overall, Goodfellas is one of the greatest films ever made. It perfectly shows the audience the horrors of the mob, with great writing and spotless direction. The acting is superb, and I found basically everything about the film to be fantastic. If I try I can probably find a flaw, but it wouldn't even matter. Goodfellas is Martin Scorsese's finest film.



 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
April 09, 2011
Great review, this is one of the best movies ever.
April 09, 2011
Yep, at least from what I have seen it is. Thanks for reading!
 
April 06, 2011
Oh yeah.....I Love this film! Yes, it is indeed one of the best movies ever made. Thank you! Featured!
April 06, 2011
Yes, It is hard to go wrong with Scorsese, though Shutter Island was a disappointment. Thanks!
April 06, 2011
with you on Shutter Island, I guess Scorsese was limited to the limitations of the source material. Btw, thanks for the friend invite!
April 06, 2011
But, with that being said, if Shutter Island was directed by anyone else it would have received more positive reviews. People were just disappointed because it was him, which is understandable. No prob!
 
1
More Goodfellas reviews
review by . August 30, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****     Gangster films - or Mob films, whatever you prefer to call the genre - are very special to me. Some of my personal favorite films have themes and tones of crime thrillers, and with good reason. I have always enjoyed the style of the films, and among other things, the way the characters talk. Within Gangster cinema you will find some of the freshest, cleverest dialogue ever written for the screen. A lot of these famous films are indeed based on novels, but …
review by . July 10, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Martin Scorcese has proved his worth as a director for the last 20 years. With his mafia epics, such as goodfellas and casino, later followed by the departed and gangs of new york, he has shocked the world with his gritty realism and intricate plotlines. Ray Liotta in Goodfellas is the average guy-turned mafia man, and plays the part of the half-irish italian who breaks into the business through a cab stand and pizza shop. The idea that his movie is based on a novel changes the layout, but also …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
   looove this movie. can play it  again and again. love that it is based on true events of course. its hard to make a true story entertaining and with a semi happy ending. but of course martin Scorsese never fails at making good movies.  ray liotta's character Hill wants to be a gangsta since he was a kid. admiring the power that those men had while his father is trying to keep him from heading in that direction. well his father can't do much after he becomes aware that …
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Phenominal mobster movie based on real life gangster Henry Hill's mafia experiences. Borrows practically nothing from The Godfather movies and creates it's own memorable legacy. A classic in everyway. I often find myself watching it twice in a row.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Be prepared for the violence. Otherwise, it is one of the best black comedies out there.
Quick Tip by . August 10, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
What can I say about this film other than it is my favorite film of all-time. Liotta, Pesci and DeNiro are excellent together. A lot of the supporting cast ended up in The Sopranos. Based on Henry Hill's story Wise Guy.
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Second to The Godfather of great gangster films. One of the Greatest films ever and is not even Martin Scorsese's best film
Quick Tip by . August 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Another Scorsese Classic, you can't go wrong with the cast, a nigh on perfect film.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
Great Gangster flick... loved joe pesci in this... he was great..I highly recommend this movie
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Watched this again recently for umpteenth time. Still great. Where's Ray Liota these days?
About the reviewer
Matt Stewart ()
Ranked #224
Basically all anyone would need to know about me is I love movies. I watch movies, review them, and I can always enjoy a good, long talk about the art of film making.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Moviesfan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Goodfellas is a crime drama released on September 19, 1990 and produced by Warner Bros.  The film was directed by Martin Scorseseand was written by Nicholas Pileggi and MartinScorscese. Goodfellas wasproduced by Iron Winkler, and starred Ray Liotta, Robert De Niro, Joe Pessci, LorreainBracco and Paul Sarvino

Goodfellas is about a man named Henry Hill who together with hisfriends, work their way up to through the mob hiearchy..  After its release the film received 18 nominations, and celebrated 32 wins and one Academy Award in 1991 for Best Actorin a Supporting Role.

On its opening day, the film grossed $6.3 million by the end of the weekend.

The film was shot in New York in 1989.  Itwas given an MPAA rating of R and runs 146 minutes.

view wiki

Details

Director: Martin Scorsese
Release Date: 9/19/1990
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Martin Scorsese
Runtime: 146 minutes
Studio: Warner Bros
Polls with this movie
American Pie - Unrated (Widescreen Collector's

Guy Flicks

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists