|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Gran Torino (movie) » User review

Gran Torino

A movie directed by Clint Eastwood

< read all 18 reviews

The enemy of my war is more like a family now.

  • Jul 14, 2009
Rating:
+5
Theres something you really have to admire about drama movies, they can be so entertaining and enriching sometimes without needing a million special effects.  Put some good actors with it and their even better.

I never grew up watching Clint Eastwood but I may need to go back and reinvest in some of those movies.  I've seen a couple here and there but this man should never die, especially if he can keep making work even half as good as this.

Walt Kowalski is a grizzled old man and veteran of the Korean War who now ironcially finds his neighborhood similar territory with the increasing number of Hmong neighbors.  Walt is now a widower and at the funeral the preist tells us that and is a bittersweet occasion.  Walt is as old school and as predjadiced as can be and his sons can barely stand Walt's old ways and at least one of his sons grew up with an insensitive and greedy family and even had the nerve to buy a foreign car when Walt worked for Ford his whole life. 

Theres very little that Walt likes, sitting on the porch with a can of Pabst Blue Ribbon with a newspaper in the other hand and his trusty hound Daisy at his side.  His other love is his mint condition 1972 Gran Torino automobile which attracts the eye of the local gang who want as initiation for a new member to steal it.  Walt catches the perpetrator only to have him get away.

Later on after chasing the gangs off his property with his trusty old Garand, he becomes a neighborhood hero which he looks at with disdain and then even further when he learns that the would be car theif is his own neighbor, a talented but confidance lacking young man named Thao, who Walt dubs Toad.  Learning that the gang pushed him into trying stealing the car, Walt does his best to help the young man and grows to appreciate his neighbors more and more. 

The best thing to see in this movie is Walt get out of his racial rut and make friends with the neighbors, or at the very least mingle with them and care about the kids, particularily Sue who tries and shows him the ins and outs of their culture.  Walt Kowalski may still have unPC tendancies but he can change if he needs to.

The one thing that I was really questioning was the way the movie ends.  Suffice to say, the gang strikes back and Walt is left at a crossroads.  One character is ready to charge forward and get revenge and I really had a hard time figuring out what would happen and had it happened the way your led to believe it would only make the movie like Taxi Driver.  It ends appropriately and in a way that wraps everything up, but much like the movies begining, bittersweet.
The enemy of my war is more like a family now.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 15, 2009
I've wanted to check out this movie for a while and had completely forgotten about it. I'll have to add it to my Netflix! Thanks for the reminder.
July 15, 2009
It's good. I was wavering between 4 and a 5 but I went with 4. Excellent movie. Thank you.
 
1
More Gran Torino (movie) reviews
review by . June 12, 2011
A great movie that touches on many issues
This drama, starring Clint Eastwood, and directed, produced, and partially written by him, is properly advertised as "the performance of a lifetime." It is undoubtedly one of the best films. The story is about an elderly man, an award winning veteran of the Korean War, an atheist, who has never been found contentment in life, whose wife just died, and who, knowing her husband's problems, asks a young parish priest to look after him. He lives in a neighborhood that has changed, surrounded …
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Eastwood depicts a population in our country that is becoming more and more prominent. The elder veteran in a changing world, he responds to attacks on his freedom by reaching out to an unlikely family from another world.
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
Eastwood should have retired after this movie. It's one of his best in a while.
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A bigoted Korean war vet and widow stands up for his Hmong neighbors when the local gang terrorizes his neighborhood. Lots of great moments with Clint Eastwood in great form. If he does in fact retire with this movie, he's going out on a high note.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Gran Torino is an excellent film that shows Eastwood still has it. Definitely teaches us tolerance is the best policy.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Clint at 80 is still the man! Love that pure Detroit muscle car!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Great movie Clint Eastwood at his absolute best you have to have this in your movie library
review by . July 10, 2010
   Orignally I steered clear of this movie, not wanting to risk ruining my great memories of Dirty Harry, but one night a friend talked me into watching it and WOW was I glad he did. This movie was one of the best movies I've seen in years. It had an excellent plot, as well as great character development, and if that's not enough for you it had a good moral thrown in as well. When you first meet Clint Eastwood's character is soon after his wife died. He's a veteran of Vietnam, …
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Great movie
review by . April 07, 2010
Take a classic action hero years removed from his action days, a cast of people who have never acted in a movie before, an experienced director and a cleverly plotted and written picture and you get a classic.    Gran Torino works on every level. Eastwood absolutely shines as a old vet and autoworker who has two great pleasures in his life, his wife whose funeral begins the movie and his Gran Torino. As Detroit changes and falls apart and the neighbors are increasingly Hmong …
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Gran Torino is a 2008 American drama film directed and produced by Clint Eastwood, who also stars in the film. The film marks Eastwood's return to a lead acting role after four years, his last leading role having been in Million Dollar Baby. The film features a predominantly Hmong cast, as well as Eastwood's younger son, Scott Eastwood, playing "Trey". Eastwood's oldest son, Kyle Eastwood, provided the score. The film opened to theaters in a limited release in North America on December 12, 2008, and later to a worldwide release on January 9, 2009.

The story follows Walt Kowalski, a recently widowed Korean War veteran who is alienated from his family and angry at the entire world. On a dare by his cousin for initiation into a gang, Thao, Walt's young neighbor, tries to steal Walt's prized 1972 Ford Gran Torino. Walt develops a relationship with the boy and his family.

Gran Torino was a critical and commercial success, grossing over $269 million worldwide.
view wiki

Details

Director: Clint Eastwood
Genre: Action, Adventure
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: June 9, 2009
Runtime: 116 minutes
Studio: Warner Home Video
Polls with this movie
Elegy (film)

Top Movies of 2008

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists