|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Gran Torino (movie) » User review

Gran Torino

A movie directed by Clint Eastwood

< read all 18 reviews

Amazing, Funny and Endearing... Clint Eastwood at his best.

  • Mar 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I have to admit that I was a bit tentative about seeing "Gran Torino" because I heard that there were a lot of racist remarks in this movie (particularly ones geared toward Asians).  I know first hand how awkward it can be growing up as a minority in America.   I was raised in New Mexico since the age of 4... and there aren't a whole lot of us Chinese kids growing up there, let me tell ya! :)

But I soon realized after watching this movie, that my fears were unfounded.  It's true that you will hear every Asian slur and racist remark ever created in this film... but they are handled in such a way that it did not offend me in the slightest.  The story evolves around the main character Walt (played by Eastwood) who fought in the Korean War.  The story picks up at his wife's funeral and shows his trials of learning to live alone again in the mist of his deteriorating health and old age. Because of his past, he has biased beliefs about certain minority groups... actually, he's pretty much discriminates against all ethnic groups.  But because his next door neighbors are Asian, he is forced to deal with his preconceptions with that culture... and that's where the fun starts. 

I don't want to give away the movie because it's a movie that must be seen to be understood.  It does illuminate many things about American culture as well as Asian cultural issues.   I think it does very well at showing misconceptions on many levels... whether it be spiritual, cultural, family issues, class, age ... etc.  It tackles these things in a realistic yet interesting, humorous, and endearing manner.  As far as movies go... it is definitely one that you must see.  And in my opinion, it's one of the best movies of the year thus far.

And for those that say that this movie is offensive? I say that they're either crazy or way too easily offended.  I think the ending says it all.   If you didn't get it, then you obviously weren't paying attention during the movie ;-)
Gran Torino Movie Poster

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
March 27, 2009
Great review. I haven't seen the movie but I really want to and your review highlights why. I totally agree with you and @DJRossstar- if the slurs make sense in context, it's totally worth it. We're too damn PC.
 
March 21, 2009
Hey DJRosstar, my point exactly! People get too easily offended these days. You gotta look at the big picture, and see it in context. The point of the movie was to emphasize what we all have in common... not focus on our differences. I'm definitely getting this when it comes out too, and I hope they keep making more thought provoking movies like this in the future. Thanks for all of your comments guys.
 
March 21, 2009
I loved this movie. Everyone around me was so offended by the racial slurs. They didn't realize that they were necessary for the film to really make an impact on the viewer. I would definately buy this on DVD and would show all my friends, regardless of the slurs and violence.
 
March 20, 2009
I always laugh at people who say a movie is offensive when it's trying to tell a story. Nicely put.
 
1
More Gran Torino (movie) reviews
review by . June 12, 2011
A great movie that touches on many issues
This drama, starring Clint Eastwood, and directed, produced, and partially written by him, is properly advertised as "the performance of a lifetime." It is undoubtedly one of the best films. The story is about an elderly man, an award winning veteran of the Korean War, an atheist, who has never been found contentment in life, whose wife just died, and who, knowing her husband's problems, asks a young parish priest to look after him. He lives in a neighborhood that has changed, surrounded …
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Eastwood depicts a population in our country that is becoming more and more prominent. The elder veteran in a changing world, he responds to attacks on his freedom by reaching out to an unlikely family from another world.
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
Eastwood should have retired after this movie. It's one of his best in a while.
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A bigoted Korean war vet and widow stands up for his Hmong neighbors when the local gang terrorizes his neighborhood. Lots of great moments with Clint Eastwood in great form. If he does in fact retire with this movie, he's going out on a high note.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Gran Torino is an excellent film that shows Eastwood still has it. Definitely teaches us tolerance is the best policy.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Clint at 80 is still the man! Love that pure Detroit muscle car!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Great movie Clint Eastwood at his absolute best you have to have this in your movie library
review by . July 10, 2010
   Orignally I steered clear of this movie, not wanting to risk ruining my great memories of Dirty Harry, but one night a friend talked me into watching it and WOW was I glad he did. This movie was one of the best movies I've seen in years. It had an excellent plot, as well as great character development, and if that's not enough for you it had a good moral thrown in as well. When you first meet Clint Eastwood's character is soon after his wife died. He's a veteran of Vietnam, …
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Great movie
review by . April 07, 2010
Take a classic action hero years removed from his action days, a cast of people who have never acted in a movie before, an experienced director and a cleverly plotted and written picture and you get a classic.    Gran Torino works on every level. Eastwood absolutely shines as a old vet and autoworker who has two great pleasures in his life, his wife whose funeral begins the movie and his Gran Torino. As Detroit changes and falls apart and the neighbors are increasingly Hmong …
About the reviewer
Duc Truong ()
Ranked #65
I'm a man with many hobbies. I work a full-time job in the field of 'Lyophilization' for a small Pharmacuetical company. It's a dream job because it gives me lots of days off to pursue … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dtruong
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Gran Torino is a 2008 American drama film directed and produced by Clint Eastwood, who also stars in the film. The film marks Eastwood's return to a lead acting role after four years, his last leading role having been in Million Dollar Baby. The film features a predominantly Hmong cast, as well as Eastwood's younger son, Scott Eastwood, playing "Trey". Eastwood's oldest son, Kyle Eastwood, provided the score. The film opened to theaters in a limited release in North America on December 12, 2008, and later to a worldwide release on January 9, 2009.

The story follows Walt Kowalski, a recently widowed Korean War veteran who is alienated from his family and angry at the entire world. On a dare by his cousin for initiation into a gang, Thao, Walt's young neighbor, tries to steal Walt's prized 1972 Ford Gran Torino. Walt develops a relationship with the boy and his family.

Gran Torino was a critical and commercial success, grossing over $269 million worldwide.
view wiki

Details

Director: Clint Eastwood
Genre: Action, Adventure
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: June 9, 2009
Runtime: 116 minutes
Studio: Warner Home Video
Polls with this movie
Elegy (film)

Top Movies of 2008

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists