|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Grizzly Man » User review

Grizzly Man

Werner Herzog's 2005 documentary about the life and death of Timothy Treadwell.

< read all 6 reviews

Fascinating documentary

  • Jul 29, 2010
Rating:
+4
 For thirteen summers, Timothy Treadwell lived among the wild grizzly bears of Alaska. An untrained but fervent bear-lover, he took his videos and message of bear preservation to schools during his off-season. This documentary alternates Treadwell's footage with interviews of his friends, family, and co-workers.

The result is a portrait of a man with a childlike enthusiasm and certainty that he could live with the bears as one of them. He also comes across as a grandstanding showman determined to make himself immortal. This documentary has done that much, although Treadwell and his girlfriend were killed and eaten by one of his beloved bears. Though the bears showed only indifference to him, Treadwell endlessly proclaimed his love for the grizzlies and said he would willingly die for them. One can only imagine the horror of it.

The Alaskan footage is lovely and one is impressed with the power and size of the bears. Unfortunately, the pristine beauty is usually interrupted with Treadwell's showboating antics. I think he was delusional when it came to his safety and I feel sorry for those who mourn him. Heartily recommended for nature lovers and those interested in a man recklessly pursuing a bizarre lifestyle.


The fox was friendly; the bears, not so much.
Fascinating documentary Fascinating documentary Fascinating documentary

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
August 01, 2010
I saw parts of this movie but I have yet to see the whole thing. Wonderful write up...thanks for the reminder!
August 01, 2010
Thank you. It's worth seeing for sure.
 
July 30, 2010
I had not heard of this one, but it sounds interesting, not only because of the nature of the bears but the nature of the man. I'm curious to witness him in action. Thanks for the review.
July 31, 2010
I hope you like it. A lot of people dream about living in the wild but he actually did it. Not altogether wisely, but he did it.
 
1
More Grizzly Man reviews
review by . February 21, 2010
Grizzly Man - yes the title of the movie is exactly what it is about - a man who went to live with grizzly bears each summer: living among them, talking to them, and starting to believe he was one of them.      Only in death did he learn that he was still human, and no match for a hungry bear desperate for food in advance of hibernation.      I found the story to be quite controversial - was the protagonist, Timothy Treadwell, a hero for "protecting" …
Quick Tip by . February 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
Intriguing documentary by Werner Herzog about a man whose fascination with grizzly bears borders on psycotic and leads to tragedy
Quick Tip by . February 23, 2010
This documentary is a riveting portrait of an outdoorsman who pushed the boundaries too far with tragic results. Intense and captivating.
review by . August 14, 2008
Pros: interesting study     Cons: ..     The Bottom Line: “They call me Grizzly Bear they say I'm kooky and square   They can say anything they want about me I don't care I don't care”   ~ Shel Silverstein           This movie reminded me a lot of Into The Wild; perhaps because they were both based in Alaska and both dealt with solitary humans seeking to breech the gap between civilization and wilderness. …
review by . June 01, 2006
Pros: Beautiful Alaskan Frontier, bizzare and unforgettable story line     Cons: amateur filming, disturbing      The Bottom Line: Interesting but troubled account of Timothy Treadwell and his sad but predictable demise.     Plot Details: This opinion reveals minor details about the movie''s plot. What a sad documentary this was. Of course, knowing what happened to Tim and his "grizzly" death makes this film hard to watch. His repeated …
About the reviewer

Ranked #29
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KonaCat
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Grizzly Man is a 2005 American documentary film by German director Werner Herzog. It chronicles the life and death of bear enthusiast Timothy Treadwell. The film consists of Treadwell's own footage of his interactions with grizzly bears before he and his girlfriend were killed and eaten by a bear in 2003, and of interviews with people who knew or were involved with Treadwell. The footage he shot was later found, and the final film was co-produced by Discovery Docs, the Discovery Channel's theatrical documentary unit, and Lions Gate Entertainment. The film's soundtrack is by British singer songwriter and guitarist Richard Thompson.
view wiki

Details

Director: Werner Herzog
Genre: Documentary, Biographical Films
Release Date: August 12, 2005
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Werner Herzog
Runtime: 1hr 40min
Studio: Lions Gate Films, Discovery Docs
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists