|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Harvey » User review

Harvey Jimmy Stewart

1950 motion picture starring James Stewart

< read all 1 reviews

James Stewart was made for this part

  • Jun 3, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
This is my all time favorite movie.  It's based on a play, and I could see a stage play being very effective, but the ability to shift from scene to scene and set to set in a film does make it much more effective.  James Stewart, of course, IS Elwood P. Dowd, a very pleasant fellow, much addicted to his drinks, with his own personal Pooka, a 6'8" tall white rabbit.  What really makes this story, though, is the wonderful script.  There are so many little "one liners" and observations here, and they seem to hit you while you are laughing, and they seem so wonderfully reasonable.  I especially love Elwood's line as he is about to take the elixer that will make him a "normal" person again.  He says "Mother always told me that to make it in this life, you had to be oh so smart, or oh so pleasant.  For years, I was oh so smart.  I recommend pleasant".  That pretty much sums up all of life, doesn't it?  As for Harvey, I keep looking under lampposts just to see if I can find my own Pooka.  They are wonderful creatures, you know.  Just ask Mr Wilson after he read what the encyclopedia said. 

On a side note, there is a later film, made for TV, that stars Harry Anderson.  This is also available on DVD.  Harry is an excellent actor, and does a really good job, but he is NOT James Stewart.  Still, I think the supporting cast is somewhat better, except perhaps for Jesse White as Mr Wilson.

If you have not seen Harvey, please go find it and watch it.  You will learn so very much about life and being pleasant instead of being smart.   Oh yeah, make certain that you find out who is in the bathtub, since Harvey is at Charlie's.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
June 24, 2009
Great Review! I LOVE Harvey!  It is such a great film.  As far as oldies go, my favorite oldie has to be The Court Jester.  I'll have to watch that again and review it :)  Good stuff Ukedude!
June 24, 2009
Thanks, Husher. I honestly think that HARVEY is my all time favorite movie.
 
June 19, 2009
Such a great and touching movie. I wish they'd show movies like this on TV these days, instead of the same old junk. Excellent review, Ukedude.
June 19, 2009
Thanks. I do love this movie, both with Stewart and with Anderson.
 
June 04, 2009
I could see casting Harry Anderson in this part if you don't happen to have a Jimmy Stewart handy. It makes a lot of sense.
June 04, 2009
Anderson is very nearly as good as Stewart, and the supporting cast for Anderson is actually better than the one for Stewart. Both films are very well done, but then, both films are movies of a stage play so both use the same scenes and dialog. I have both and watch both often. I just think that Jimmy Stewart was the perfect Elwood P. Dowd. That part fit him so well.
June 04, 2009
Stewart did set the standard.
June 04, 2009
Yeah, he did. Anderson is really good, though. For a period of time, there were rumors that they were going to remake it with Jim Carey. That would have been horrible!!!!
June 05, 2009
I can see why they would think of him but it wouldn't be a good idea.
June 05, 2009
Elwood has to be laid back. He is a drunk (that was before we became politically correct and called them alcoholics). Carey would have been too manic for that part
June 05, 2009
He'd be a manic drunk.
 
June 03, 2009
This film is a favorite all throughout the country. Folks seem to be liking the other classics that James Stewart was part of like It's A Wonderful Life and The Philadelphia Story, glad you shared your thought on this particular film that he was such a big part of.
June 03, 2009
Thanks. My Irish heart loves this movie, probably more than I should. Stewart was brilliant, as usual.
 
1
About the reviewer
John O'Connor ()
Ranked #85
I am retired military. I served 6 years of Navy, nearly 6 years of Air Force, and just over 22 years of Air National Guard. I also was a full time technician for the Air Guard for just over 21 years. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ukedude
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Harvey Directed by Henry Koster Produced by John Beck Written by Mary Chase
Oscar Brodney
Myles Connolly (Uncredited) Starring James Stewart
Josephine Hull
Peggy Dow
Charles Drake Music by Frank Skinner Cinematography William H. Daniels Distributed by Universal International Pictures Release date(s) October 13, 1950 Running time 104 min Language English

Harvey is a 1950 film based on Mary Chase's Pulitzer Prize-winning play of the same name, directed by Henry Koster, and starring James Stewart and Josephine Hull. The story is about a man whose best friend is a "pooka" named Harvey—in the form of a six-foot, three-and-one-half-inch tall rabbit.

Cast

Plot

Elwood P. Dowd (Stewart) is a middle-aged, amiable (and somewhat eccentric) individual whose best friend is an invisible six-foot, three-and-one-half-inch tall rabbit named Harvey. As described by Dowd, Harvey is a pooka, a mischievous magical creature from Celtic mythology. Elwood has driven his sister and niece (who live with him and crave normality and a place in 'society') to distraction by ...

view wiki

Details

Genre: Comedy
Release Date: October 13, 1950
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Runtime: 104 minutes
Studio: Universal Pictures
First to Review
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists