|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » He's Just Not That Into You » User review

Movie

2009 Romance/Comedy based on book by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo

< read all 5 reviews

Am I the exception? Or the rule?

  • Feb 12, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
First off, when did matinee for movies start costing $8.75?? Maybe I was spoiled with $4 Tuesday movies in my college town.. but what in the!
I liked the book - but to be perfectly honest, I didn't finish reading it because the stories just got repetitive after a while.

I did however, thoroughly enjoy the movie.

+ Gigi was SO awkward in this movie that I cringed every time she had a "lightbulb moment" or a new idea on how to reel in another guy. One of my favorites: (May be a spoiler!)
  Guy: Well, I think it's time for me to go to bed.
  Gigi: Is that an invitation??!
As ridiculous as her actions may seem when compiled into a movie, don't we all know someone who makes decisions in their love life that's cause for a slap on the head going "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!" 

+ There's (I think) four different dating/getting dumped topics that they addressed.  Absolutely hysterical when they have someone discussing their thoughts on the situation to the camera.  

I'm already one of the biggest commitment phobes you'll find ... and then after I watched this movie I realized... "What if I meet a guy that I am obviously suppose to end up with... but I'm already married???"  And along those lines, is it really necessary to actually go through the actions of getting married?! That's a pretty big statement coming from someone who has always wanted to be a wedding planner!

Oh, and we all know there are rules when it comes to dating... for some reason our friends always make us out to the EXCEPTION.  Reality check though, I'm part of the rule. Boo.

I know this movie was a hit or  miss, but my personal opinion:

If you liked the book, you'll like the movie.  It follows the dating life, mistakes, and "translations" of guys actions of a handful of women.  Plus, there's even a cute little love story that has the cute expected romantic movie ending! (I won't ruin it, but I cried. hahah)

Plus - it's absolutely hilarious.  You think it's over the top... but unfortunately it hits closer to home that you'd want it to!! 


Girls In the Office

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
July 20, 2009
$8.75 for a matinee ticket? Jeez, if those were the prices at our theatre, I'd never go to the movies, ever! At our theatre regular price is $5 and matinee and senior citizen price is $3.50. Does the price of the tickets affect your rating at all? If I had to pay that much, I suppose that most movies would be somewhat of a disappointment. Regarding the book, if you did finish it, would you write a review for that as well?
 
February 13, 2009
@DesignDude How the couples were so distinct in relationship/dating style and problems yet all had one common issue at hand (how to keep their man... or find one for that matter) worked really well. I think the other thing that made it seem more relateable was that the stories weren't too over the top. I could probably name a friend for almost everyone they portrayed (or pretty close anyway). @woopak_the_thrill - WOW! Can I take a guess of your few exceptions? When Harry met Sally?? Would love to hear your thoughts after you see this movie! Oh and I did not know it was $6 before noon. Thanks for that ... it's a little more reasonable. :)
 
February 12, 2009
Hi, Stephanie, I think you know how I'm not fond of "romantic" comedies (except for a few exceptions) but guess what? I may have to see this since it is almost Valentine's day...(Booo!) Nice review, and yes, the price of matinee is getting outrageous! although it is still $ 6 before noon.
 
February 12, 2009
You cried...how fitting haha. I haven't seen the movie, but was debating because if this is a chic flic...then nu uh..but If it is a guy triumphant type of movie, it may be my bag baby. Who knows, but I see you sure had a good time with it.
 
1
More He's Just Not That Into You reviews
review by . May 10, 2009
"If a guy doesn't call you, he doesn't want to call you."       Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):     1. Two characters are desperately looking for love in the right places, but with the wrong guys.   2. One character is in love with another character, who's just not that into him.   3. One is married, but infatuated with another, who's also infatuated with him.   4. Two are living together, but only one of them wants …
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
130 minutes of insecure whining that makes both men and women look pathetic. And then there's the Mac Guy! "Hey, Mac Guy!"
review by . June 18, 2009
Is  He's Just Not That Into You a predictable chick flick, or does this movie have something important to say about contemporary relationships?     You will probably have to decide that for yourself, but I found it watchable—I must have, because I saw it twice at the theatre, and I bought the DVD!—but then, that's me. If I don't expect too much from a film, and if there is a cast of exceptional actors, then I will probably really enjoy it.     Some of …
review by . April 07, 2009
I went and saw this movie because I went to high school with one of the ladies in the film. She was good! But then I had to sit through the other 3 hours of the movie.  I love bad romantic comedies, and this certainly was one. The issue I had with it was that it was trying to be something a little artier, a little more thought-provoking and a little more than an hour longer than it should have been. I'm glad that romantic comedies are trying to be more indie and interesting, but this movie …
About the reviewer
Stephanie Zhu ()
Ranked #155
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=3201141    http://misszhulaneous.blogspot.com/    http://twitter.com/stephaniezhu    I hate passive aggressive … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
stephaniezhu
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

He's Just Not That Into You is a movie based on the best selling book by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo.  The movie opened on February 6, 2009 with a $27.5 million debut.
 The movie takes place in Baltimore and follows a group of young 20 something year olds as they live work their way through dating and discover whether they are "the exception" or "the rule."  

Gigi [Ginnifer Goodwin] - single girl playing the dating game and waiting for guys to call
Beth [Jennifer Aniston] - dating and lives with boyfriend of seven years, Neil [Ben Affleck]. However, marriage is not in the picture and may never be in the picture for Neil. 
Ben [Bradley Cooper] - married to Janine [Jennifer Connelly], but attracted to Anna [Scarlett Johanson]
Conor [Kevin Connolly] - Anna's "boyfriend" for the time being.
Mary [Drew Barrymore] - single girl playing the dating game ... via the internet.
Alex [Justin Long] - Gigi's go to friend for man advice

The movie touches on the basics "problems" of dating - someone who won't call you back, someone who won't sleep with you, someone who doesn't want to get married. The truth is... he/she is just not that into you.  The question is... will you be lucky enough to be the exception?


 
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists