|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movie » Reviews » Hell Ride (2008 movie) » User review

,Hell Ride

movie directed by Larry Bishop

< read all 3 reviews

Biker Flicks Return

  • May 27, 2009
Rating:
+4
I think I actually get this film & I've really grown to like it quite a bit over the past month or so. I've reached the conclusion that Hell Ride is possibly one of the most fun flicks I've come across in some time as far as biker movies go. If you like exploitation films or biker films, this is your movie. Also, fans of yesteryear's Grindhouse will probably relish this work. People looking for a "tribute" to Tarantino or a re-make of "Easy Rider" are going to be sorely disappointed sad to say.

Hell Ride pays tribute to classic, sleazy biker films such as "Hells Angels on Wheels", "The Glory Stompers," and "The Wild Angels." If you have seen any of them or enjoy that style of film-making, you are in for one wild ride. Obviously the film does have it's Tarantino-esque moments with the flashbacks, witty one-liners, & the hipster soundtrack. Other than the fact Tarantino presents the film, Larry Bishop is the man responsbile for writing & directing this entertaining flick. You will absolutely love Hell Ride if you love motorbikes, gratuitous violence, & a great deal of potty mouth. If not, skip it altogether.

Larry Bishop has also cast himself as the lead character Pistolero who enjoys living dangerously & living on the edge is the only way to go. He has made a promise to a young Cherokee woman to protect her son & he vows to fulfill that. He also vows to avenge the death of a fellow biker who was recently murdered by perhaps the same biker thugs that killed the cherokee woman nearly 32 years ago. As one can guess, all bets are off & the sh*t is about to hit the fan.

Due to other reviews I'd read before its release to DVD, I initially believed this movie was going to be a terrible waste of my time & money... BUT I was determined to see it once anyway which I'm glad that I did. I have enjoyed it immensely & even bought a copy. This film grows on you.

Note of trivia: As for comparisons to Easy Rider, it must be stated that the 1969 classic was NOT A BIKER MOVIE. Instead, go watch Peter Fonda in "The Wild Angels" followed by "Hell Ride" and you'll realize that they come from the same, wild train of cinematic thought.
Hell Ride Biker Flicks Return Biker Flicks Return Biker Flicks Return Biker Flicks Return

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
August 14, 2011
Yeah I like this one as well.
August 16, 2011
Thanks Alex! Hey, have you seen Hobo With A Shotgun yet? I highly recommend it to you if you haven't. :-)
August 17, 2011
Oh yeah
 
November 27, 2009
I have heard several bad things about this, Not sure, if it was Dave who told me that it was a pretty mixed bag, but I think I may just give this a try in the future. Nice review!
November 28, 2009
This one really had to grow on me. I didn't care for it very much on the initial viewing but grew to love it the second time around. I watched it a lot after that kinds the way Dave does with Night of the Creeps. It's still not the best movie ever freakin' made but it has that sleazy, biker film charm. Thnks Woo! Still stuffed from turkey day??
November 28, 2009
I'll give it a rental first. I didn't eat one single meal until 10 pm yesterday because I was so full of Thanksgiving food. Oh, HOUSE OF THE DEVIL is finally playing in my area but it is in a theater I don't like. I'm still debating whether or not I should go or wait for the dvd...
November 28, 2009
Dude, I meant to tell you that it's on demand for about what you'd pay to see it at one of the local theatres. I'm wanting to say $5.99 or maybe $6.99 but maybe you'd prefer to see it on the big screen. Antichrist is also on demand too but I don't have cable right now. Let me know how that works out for you man.
November 28, 2009
it's on demand?! I am there, Brian! Thanks for the tip...I love ya, man.
November 28, 2009
No problem bro. Love ya too! Glad I could help out on that!
November 28, 2009
expect a review later on, that is if I love it...
November 28, 2009
Hell, give us a review anyway. If you hate it, your thoughts might save me a buck bro. ;-)
 
1
More Hell Ride (2008 movie) reviews
review by . August 14, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
QUENTIN TARANTINO, T&A, GUNS, AND BIKES - SOUNDS LIKE A GOOD TIME
      HELL RIDE      Quentin Tarantino once again provides us with one of the most entertaining films to come out in a long while [Exec. Producer], of course most credit should go to writer/director/producer/star Larry Bishop. I found this film to be one of the most enjoyable films I have watched in a while mainly due to the characters, T&A, and over all feel of the film. This is a throwback to the old biker flicks in which Larry Bishop was once apart …
Quick Tip by . August 14, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
Quentin Tarantino once again provides us with one of the most entertaining films to come out in a long while [Exec. Producer], of course most credit should go to writer/director/producer/star Larry Bishop. I found this film to be one of the most enjoyable films I have watched in a while mainly due to the characters, T&A, and over all feel of the film. This is a throwback to the old biker flicks in which Larry Bishop was once apart of.
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie


Larry Bishop will play bad-ass biker Pistolero, (named after the original title for Robert Rodriguez's Desperado) who along with his brother The Gent and Comanche, hit the road to avenge the death of Pistolero's old lady Cherokee Kisum, by the 666ers, a rival motorcycle gang. The blood and sex-soaked tale of motorcycle revenge and retribution will be presented under the "Quentin Tarantino Presents" banner.

Wiki

Quentin Tarantino turned down a role in the film.
view wiki
First to Review

"Biker Flicks Return"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists