|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Idiocracy (2006 movie) » User review

So Stupid it's brilliant

  • May 26, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
The main point of this movie is that intelligent people wait to have children until they are set in their careers and have a stable life while stupid people breed like rabbits.  I don't usually like what Mike Judge does, but this one is more than worth watching.  I"m not going to give away too much, but the actions takes place 500 years from now, when the children of intelligent people are long gone and the planet is ruled by the children of the stupid people.  For instance, the longest running movie of the day is called "Ass" and is nothing but 90 minutes of pictures of asses.  It has won three Oscars and is considered a cinematic classic.  That's only one of the laughs.  Our hero and heroine are from our time, and are chosen for the cryogenic sleep simply because they both are so "average".  The first time I watched this little gem, I was too astonished to really laugh, but I've seen it several times since, and it never fails to completely crack me up.  It may well offend some people, and I"m sorry for that, but it is one of the funniest films I've seen in a long time.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 27, 2009
I have also been meaning to see it. It was not publicized at all when it was released so I just assumed that it stunk. I have been hearing good things, however, so will give it a watch. Thanks
 
May 27, 2009
I've been meaning to see this for a while. I can see that I'll have to rent in the near future (or at least the next time I actually rent movies; I prefer to see them at the theatre). :)
May 27, 2009
This is really funny. It's available on eBay fairly cheaply used, if that would interest you.
May 27, 2009
Thanks, but I have a personal policy to never buy a film in any format unless I've already seen it. Who knows, they may even have it at the library where I volunteer. Have you seen the hilaroius and sure-to-offend Bill Maher film "Religulous"?
May 27, 2009
No. Is that worth watching. I"m not a huge fan or Maher, either, unfortunately
May 27, 2009
Well, it's heavy-handed, offensive, and insensitive (what you would expect from Maher), but also extremely funny and makes some wonderful points about the dangers of organized religion. Where it fails is that it doesn't recognize the importance of spirituality. Still, it's quite entertaining if you're in the mood for a Michael Moore-ish "documentary".
May 27, 2009
I'll give it a shot. I normally don't like Judge at all, since he is the opposite of subtle, but this one is good, although it's still not subtle. Maybe even Maher can do something interesting for a change
 
May 26, 2009
Guess what? That's right I still haven't read it. I'm going to see if I can find it at the library. I did find out that reading on the computer for extended periods of time gives me a tremendous headache though, so I did learn something. (I also keep losing my place) What you're reviewing here reminds me a bit of a short film version I saw of HARRISON BEREGERON, Its quite different from the Vonnegut short stoy since the physical side of Harrison's superiority isn't dealt with at all, just the intellectual. Got to get a copy of the story. This sounds like its dealing with similar material.
May 26, 2009
I have faith, Karen. Someday, you will read Principia, see the logic (or is it illogic?) of the situation, and become a Discordian. It's only a matter of time. :) This is somewhat similar to Beregeron but it's even more satiric. If you can rent it, it's worth it. It's been on Comedy Central a couple times in the past few weeks, too. Really funny!!!
May 26, 2009
Oh that would be great if I could catch it there and save the rental.
May 26, 2009
Keep watch. I hope it's on again soon.
May 26, 2009
I will since they tend to rerun things like crazy on most cable channel--except for things I really want to see and those are always a one shot deal.
May 26, 2009
See, Karen? You are already responding as a Discordian, and a paranoid as well. All of us are paranoid, and I'm really to short to support a pair of them.
May 26, 2009
I had my noids removed ages ago so I can handle a pair pretty easily now.
May 26, 2009
You must have a much stronger gluteous maximus than I do, then. If I try to support a pair, I get a real lower back ache and I feel confused for days.
May 26, 2009
I wouldn't be able to tell it from the pain in the neck , back, and ass that my job at the Post Offal left me with, so what's the difference?
May 26, 2009
I see. The military allowed me to deal with my noids as I desired. I learned that half a noid is better than one or something like that.
May 26, 2009
=)
May 26, 2009
Besides, you're younger than I am, too.
May 26, 2009
At this point it doesn't matter that much. The Pissed Office put a lot of miles on me and they rarely bothered to rotate my tires.
May 26, 2009
Gee, I resemble that remark!!! That was the military, too
May 26, 2009
I thought the military took better care of its ordinance than that--are you sure they never rotated your tires?
May 27, 2009
If they did, they did it while I was asleep and I never noticed it.
May 27, 2009
lol
 
1
More Idiocracy (2006 movie) reviews
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Not as good as Office Space, but it's worth a watch ... if only for the de-evolution of humanity case studies. That's pretty funny. ALSO, Luke Wilson plays a guybrarian before he's cryogenically frozen. Wooo! :D
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
May be the greatest movie about "epic stupidity" made! It does have its flaws but for sheer stupid fun, this is a must-see!! "Not Sure" is a character and "A$$ the movie" is an award-winning movie in this period-alternate reality! LOL
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Also flawed but worth a few hours: Gary Shteyngart's dystopian novel "Super Sad True Love Story," which I reviewed last month here. Both satires preditct how quickly literacy could plummet and stupidity could soar.
review by . June 30, 2009
Rumor has it that Fox, after reviewing the final cut of this film, tossed it directly in the Direct to DVD bin. In this case, that turned out to be a win-win. Fox gets to avoid some responsibility of a rediculously executed movie and Mike Judge gets a cult classic -- which are so often, and deliciously, rediculously executed.      What Mike has done is take all of those Darwin urban myth legends, of stupid people doing unbelievaby stupid things, and turned it into a movie about …
review by . January 22, 2008
posted in Movie Hype
This tale reminded me somewhat of Woody Allen's Sleeper. Luke Owen is put into suspended animation and wakes up 500 years later to find that man has evolved to complete idiocy, leaving him the world's smartest man. Though the movie is mostly silly, it still works, mainly because of Luke's excellent "straight man" job as someone who is stubborn to not accept what is but tries to change things to what he knows (water makes plants grow, not Gatorade). Some of the parts are incredibly funny.
review by . January 30, 2008
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: amusing, quirky, and thought provoking      Cons: a running stream of foul language and dumbed-down humor emphasizes the point, too close to home      The Bottom Line: President Camacho addresses the nation... "We're running out of french fries and burrito coverings. But I got a solution!"      Plot Details: This opinion reveals major details about the movie's plot. Private Joe Bauers (Luke Wilson) is the most average …
review by . April 27, 2007
The mastermind of "King of the Hill" and "Beavis and Butthead," Mike Judge, gives all of us a loud, buffoonish warning of things to come in "Idiocracy." It's the tale of an average joe/military librarian named Joe (Luke Wilson)who, along with a prostitute named Rita (Maya Rudolph), takes part in a hibernation experiment for the military. Instead of awaking one year later, however, they wake up five hundred years in the future. The really bad thing is that thanks to the commercialization of society …
About the reviewer
John O'Connor ()
Ranked #87
I am retired military. I served 6 years of Navy, nearly 6 years of Air Force, and just over 22 years of Air National Guard. I also was a full time technician for the Air Guard for just over 21 years. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ukedude
Your ratings:
9 DVD
9
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Given that Office Space is a bona fide cult classic, it comes as some surprise that Mike Judge's follow-up wasn't more heavily promoted. Granted, this live-action comedy is a darker, more pointed proposition, but it's unfortunate that few theater patrons got the opportunity to, well, judge for themselves. InIdiocracy, theKing of the Hillcreator visualizes what would happen if Devo's proposition--that mankind is in the process of devolution--came to pass. The catalyst: the overeducated start having fewer children while the undereducated have more. Enter Joe (Luke Wilson), a military librarian with no family and even less ambition. The Pentagon chooses him for a top-secret hibernation project due to his extreme "average-ness." They select Rita (SNL's Maya Rudolph), a prostitute, for the same reason. When the experiment goes haywire, the two emerge 500 years later--rather than one. Now it's 2505 and they're the brightest people in the over-polluted land. Everyone else is, basically, Beavis and Butt-head. Yes, the satire couldn't be less subtle, but the premise gives Judge license to make as much fun of junk food pop culture as dystopian classics like1984andPlanet of the Apes. Wilson wisely plays it straight, even if the actors who surround him sometimes succumb to excess. And the effects may be cheesy, but that just adds to the fun.Idiocracyfeatures former footballer Terry Crews (Everybody Hates Chris) as President Camacho and Dax ...
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists