|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Jennifer's Body » User review

Jennifer's Body

A movie released September 18, 2009

< read all 6 reviews

You Can Do Better But You Can Definitely Do a LOT Worst!

  • Jan 6, 2010
Rating:
+3

“Jennifer’s Body” is a black comedy-horror film directed by Karyn Kusama who has one good film under her belt with “Girl fight” and a less than impressive result with “Aeon Flux”. The screenplay is written by Diablo Cody, who surprised many with the award she received with “Juno”. As a horror film, “Jennifer’s Body” would fail in the eyes of horror fans because the movie is extremely flawed; but to those who like a teen-succubus premise with the luscious Megan Fox in the lead, then the film isn’t so bad, since it does channel what its got to the max; namely Megan Fox.
 
Jennifer (Megan Fox) and Needy (Amanda Seyfried) are childhood friends who live in the town of the “Devil’s Kettle” named after the local mysterious waterfall. Jennifer’s the looker while Needy is the “wing man”. The two are inseparable and so when Jennifer decides to go to a bar in a nearby town to watch a band called “Low Shoulder”, they just go without a second thought. However, things turn out for the worst when a nightclub fire breaks out and Jennifer runs away with the band. Needy is left alone but finally makes her way home. Needy is worried sick about Jennifer, fearing that she may have been taken advantage of. Needy is relieved to find Jennifer return albeit a little bit more aggressive and spewing black ‘puke’ all over the place. Jennifer did return but not without some sinister changes; she is now some sort of succubus who feeds on boys. When the bodies begin to pile up, Needy must do what she can to stop her; when Jennifer takes aim at Needy’s boyfriend Chip….

Megan Fox as Jennifer in "Jennifer's Body."  Megan Fox as Jennifer in "Jennifer's Body."
 
The script by Cody does have its charm when it comes to clever one-liners such as “I have a wettie”, “salty” (as in sexy), smarts bombs (breasts), “Hello Titty” and Jell-O (as with jealous with emphasis on the color green). The script sounds quite juvenile and normally language like this would get on my nerves but to its credit, it manages to exude that ‘cute’ personality in its screenplay. After all, these are local teens and I am sure talk like this is pretty normal in the halls of high school education. I think the dialogue does fit the film’s characters, Amanda Seyfried looks the part of a geeky bud to a high school hot body and Megan Fox is well endowed to pull off the role of Jennifer. Fox may be a little lacking in the acting department but she does look incredibly sexy that I am certain that guys would pick up this movie just because of her. But sorry, Fox doesn’t get naked in the film; after all, she’s still popular enough just showing some cleavage and slight skin to get the male testosterone going. 

             Megan Fox as Jennifer in "Jennifer's Body."
 
Keep in mind that this film is more of a black comedy, and it would be a mistake to see this as a horror film. However, I do think the film merely uses the black comedy angle as an excuse to keep us interested and to hide the otherwise lackluster plot. The film has zero scares, there are no attempts to even mix the comedy with the horrifying scenes. Fox’s demonic self looks like a rehash from other horror movies and some of the visuals were undoubtedly lifted from “Evil Dead”. See I rather thought the movie lacked ‘heart’ and Cody’s clever style in dialogue with “Juno” just doesn’t mesh well in “Jennifer’s Body”. I guess it is proven that Cody needed Ellen Page to deliver her dialogue, otherwise it becomes rather annoying and hollow rather too quickly. I thought that Cody’s attempts with the clever dialogue ruined some of the movie’s significant scenes because they lacked emotions and felt a little too ‘scripted’. 

        Johnny Simmons as Chip and Megan Fox as Jennifer in "Jennifer's Body."

                           Megan Fox as Jennifer and Amanda Seyfried as Needy in "Jennifer's Body."
 
Thankfully, the blood and gore in the film was handled well. The direction did make the killings seem fun; after all, the boys get to make out with luscious Jennifer just before they meet a horrible end. The movie practiced some restraint in the gore sequences which I thought was a clever touch. I liked the blood splatter effects and the trickery with shadows that left some of the graphic details to the imagination. I just wished that Fox was more portrayed as a ‘succubus’, after all, succubus are supposed to kill men through too much sex, but I guess Kusama and company had other ideas in mind. This is after all, still a teen flick with more focus on some ‘teen issues’ than actual horror elements themselves.
 
There is just so much for Megan Fox’s looks to carry and fortunately, Amanda Seyfried played her role with convincing charisma. The actress is spot-on in her portrayal as Jennifer’s geeky “BFF”; but hey, despite her geekiness, she manages to land a caring boyfriend. Maybe this is Cody expressing the fact that looks aren’t everything. Jennifer has her own insecurities, and as hot as she was, she never was with any ‘great guy’ and she was mostly playing the field even before her transformation.
 
I guess despite some major shortfalls in the script and the direction, I thought “Jennifer’s Body” was a good diversion. Megan Fox looked definitely enticing in this film and it is somewhat refreshing to see her away from the hack-job “Bayformers” flicks. The potentials of a half-demon-half cheerleader type baiting young boys and then gorging them is definitely interesting enough, but while the movie has ambition going for it, the direction just couldn’t make it all stick and mesh well that it just spins everything around but never got to the point it needed to be. For a teen black-comedy, it is fairly decent; but for a Comedy-Horror flick, it falters a lot.
 
Recommended timidly, a RENTAL first would be a smart move. [3 Stars]

This Review is a Lunch.com Exclusive

You Can Do Better But You Can Definitely Do a LOT Worst! You Can Do Better But You Can Definitely Do a LOT Worst! You Can Do Better But You Can Definitely Do a LOT Worst! You Can Do Better But You Can Definitely Do a LOT Worst! You Can Do Better But You Can Definitely Do a LOT Worst!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
October 22, 2010
This was a good one and I think I would give it a 3 as well, but for some reason every time I watch it I want to re-watch "Teeth".
 
March 01, 2010
Eh. I find Amanda Seyfried entertaining, but aside from that, this movie doesn't really appeal to me. I may watch someday it if I don't feel like getting into a new series or something. Would I be missing out on much if I just fast-forwarded through the movie and stopped only when Needy had a line? :P Anyway, great review.
March 01, 2010
I'm with you, Ulalume, Seyfried is pretty good actress. This one would well...admittedly be geared towards fans of...not sure. I'm a horror fan and I'm a guy and I didn't really like it. I appreciated the funny dialogue at times but...it just didn't 'grab' me. Thanks for the read, my friend. Seen any great anime lately?
March 01, 2010
I haven't watched any new anime lately, actually. There are periods of time where I don't really want to watch anime, and I would rather read books, and vice versa. However, I just re-watched Pale Cocoon so that I could write that review. I even had the review written and everything, but when I posted it, for some reason, the body of the review had disappeared, and the word "null" was the only word in the review. I don't know what happened, but now I have to re-type it. It took well over an hour too. Oh well. It'll be up tomorrow for sure. Have you seen any great anime lately?
March 01, 2010
That is weird but I can't really say that it didnt happen to me at one point. I just picked up "RIN" as per JRider and Frank's recommendation. I think the last anime movie I've seen recently was "PONYO"
March 01, 2010
I too saw Ponyo in the theatres. I'm feeling in an anime mood now, so I might start watching Samurai Champloo on the FUNimation website. That's something I've had an interest in for a while, and I'd like a break from the more intelligent series that I've been watching. Have you seen it? I too became interested in RIN after reading their reviews, but there are still several other titles on my list that I'd like to see first.
March 01, 2010
I've seen SAMURAI CHAMPLOO; I liked it but not as much as I thought I would, the music track kinda weided me out. I REALLY liked "SHIGURUI" and Ruruonin Kenshin...seen them?
March 01, 2010
Hmmm...I haven't seen either of those. I've put off Rurouni because it's so long, and I added Shigurui to my Amazon wishlist after reading your review of it. How many episodes is Shigurui?
March 01, 2010
Kenshin is pretty good. SHIGURUI has 13 episodes in the first mini series. I saw it on one evening because it was just so enthralling. Dark, violent, realitic. It also feels like a classic KOBAYASHI samurai movie.
March 01, 2010
I've never seen a Kobayashi samurai movie, unfortunately. I don't want to buy anything right now, but I can watch Shigurui on the FUNimation website (that way, I won't feel bad about it). If I really like it too, I'll buy it. Thank you very much for the recommendation. I'll start tomorrow. It's way too late to start today.
March 01, 2010
Cool. I am pretty sure you can take its violent nihilistic nature; I love your taste in dark filmmaking ;-).
March 01, 2010
Why thank you :) I saw some screenshots, and I can tell already I'll love at least the animation. Violence also doesn't bother me. This will be my introduction into samurai anime, so I'm looking forward to it. How titles like these slip past me is a mystery. I'll be sure to review it afterward. It may be a week or so. I still have a few other reviews in mind.
March 03, 2010
I noticed all of the Juno references. Have you ever considered reviewing it?
March 03, 2010
I noticed all of the Juno references. Have you ever considered reviewing it?
March 03, 2010
Hm. Maybe. The thing is, I don't own JUNO on dvd so it's going to take sometime. Have you seen it?
March 03, 2010
Yep. I've seen it a few times.
March 03, 2010
Did you like it? did you review it before?
March 03, 2010
I've never reviewed it. Back when I used to use Amazon for reviews, there were so many other reviews that I didn't want to bother, especially because there were a few people posting comments about how much they didn't like the film everywhere. People like that took the fun out of reviewing for a while. But yeah, I liked it a lot. I agree that Ellen Page carried that film.
 
January 17, 2010
Yawn. I have a feeling I'll be happy to miss this one.
January 17, 2010
You won't be missing much of anything, Karen. It's alright, has its charms and some cleverness but I dunno, I am sure it won't be for everyone.
January 17, 2010
Especially if they don't appreciate Megan Fox all that much. I hear that's where most of the movie's real charm is. =)
January 17, 2010
actually her co-star stole the show from her. It would've been total disaster w/out her.
January 17, 2010
There was no lust factor? I thought that I read there was a lust factor.
January 17, 2010
There was, but it was more "would you date a dumb hot blond or a smart woman with ok looks". That part I really liked.
January 17, 2010
They always think they'd go for the okay looks, but if they had the chance they'd always go for the hot chick first.
 
January 09, 2010
Great review Woo-Woo, I have this disc laying around my house due to my husband and by the looks of this movie it offers relatively nothing new in the horror category I guess. Love your ending statement by the way;-)
January 09, 2010
why am I not surprised your husband has this disc around? LOL!
 
January 08, 2010
Well, as poor as Fox's performance may have been, there's always consolation in it being superior to Bayformers. I'm getting a little tired of all these teasers though, it's time for Megan Fox to pull a Britney, Paris or Lohan and "accidentally" forget to wear underwear before the lenses of paparazzi. Unless she's already done that in which case I'm interested in links. Great work as always, Pak man.
January 09, 2010
LOL! you're crazy, Jason! I prefer Odette Yustman to Fox..
 
1
More Jennifer's Body reviews
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2011
Here's yet more predictable, hackneyed excrement fed to a generation who should know far better than to swallow and enjoy it. From the mouth of talent-free Megan Fox, Diablo Cody's cringe-trigger dialogue is as stupid as anything in existence, her narrative customized for brain-dead teenagers who can't comprehend a plot that isn't supplemented by copious exposition and flashbacks. This is as trashy, vapid and artless as American films come these days, failing to qualify as either …
review by . September 19, 2009
In my review of Megan Fox I made no secret about my pessimism toward Jennifer's Body.  I thought to myself, "It doesn't really look like it'll be all that good."  But then I realized that the one who wrote the film was Diablo Cody.  She wrote the screenplay for Juno and went on to win the Academy Award for it--deservedly so.  Juno was known for it's quirky dialog and quick wit.  Jennifer's Body will probably be known for the exact same thing.  In short, …
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I thought I was gonna hate Jennifer's Body. I didn't hate it. And for what it is (a B-horror), I actually thought it was alright. Say if the Sy-Fy channel made this film, it'd be the greatest thing they've ever done. I'm not gonna get too involved in the plot of this as, yeah, it's not the tightest plot to begin with and has many holes. But I must say that Megan Fox was pretty much perfect for this part. She basically didn't need to act to pull off her part so, yeah, this was the best performance …
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The only thing good about this movie was Megan Fox the story sucked
review by . September 21, 2009
Title: Jennifer’s Body   Director: Karyn Kusama   Starring: Megan Fox, Amanda Seyfried    Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1   Studio: 20th Century Fox    Genre(s): Horror    Rated:         (For sexuality, bloody violence, language and brief drug use)             There must be over thirty horror films that are released each year. Of those thirty I can usually barely muster up the need to …
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Jennifer's Body
 is a 2009 black comedy horror film written by Diablo Cody and directed by Karyn Kusama. The film stars Megan Fox, Amanda Seyfried,Adam Brody and Johnny Simmons. Fox portrays a newly-possessed teenage serial killer specializing in killing her male classmates as her best friend strives to stop her. The film premiered at the 2009 Toronto International Film Festival and was released in the United States and Canada on September 18, 2009.The title is a reference to the song of the same name by Hole on their album Live Through This. As a tie-into the film, Boom! Studios produced a Jennifer's Bodygraphic novel, released in August 2009.

Working with Cody again following their collaborative efforts on the film Juno, Jason Reitman stated he and his producers "want to make unusual films".Cody said she wanted the film to speak to female empowerment and explore the complex relationships between best friends.

The film had a disappointing performance at the North American box office, making $2.8 million its opening day and $6.8 million its opening weekend, and received mixed reviews from critics; where negative reviews classified the film as lacking the intensity needed for "true horror" and desperate to be a cult classic, positive reviews praised the film for its "occasionally clever" ...

view wiki

Details

Genre: Horror, Comedy
Release Date: September 18, 2009
MPAA Rating: R

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists