|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Juno » User review

Juno

A movie directed by Jason Reitman

< read all 23 reviews

Go Rent Raising Arizona or Fargo instead if you want a good movie with a city name in the title

  • Jul 27, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+1

If you like Michael Cera and the Gilmore Girls you'll love this. Ellen Page's dialogue is fast-paced, unrealistic and annoying, Michael Cera is well.... Michael Cera which worked in Arrested Development and kind of in the steam pile that was SuperBad and that's about it.

(Spoilers, or saving you 90 minutes below depending on your outlook)


The movie is about an awkward teen (Cera) who knocks up one of those girls who are a moderately intelligent loner with an extensive vocabulary that will only listen to obscure music who knows they are like that and think they are better than everyone else for those reasons because nothing mainstream could possibly be good... I digress though. He knocks her up, they put the baby up for adoption with a dysfuntional couple in Jennifer Garner and Jason Bateman. Bateman in his midlife crisis falls for Juno because they like some of the same music. She's in high school by the way and he's like 45. Anyway, he decides to leave his wife for a teenager, everyone besides him thinks he's f-ing retarded for doing so including Juno, so he disappears, Garner gets the kid and Juno and Cera close the movie out with a duet of one of the most horrible and overrated acoustic-folk-indie songs ever written much to the bane of every man who has a wife or girlfriend who is into that music and will now try to associate that song with their relationship via ringtones and mp3 mixes.

I know this sounds scathing and condescending and well... It is. I grew up in the 90s/late 80s so I got to see quirky-indie films that were actually good like everything the Coen brothers did, old Tarantino, John Waters when he was still relevant and other movies like Welcome to the Dollhouse. These slew of movie that are like an ipod commercial mixed with the lesser John Hughes movies, and starring John Heder or Michael Cera are quirky for the sake of being quirky and don't have any real social commentary and aren't too funny except for some of the moments that you end up just kind of laughing at the characters (not with them). Others of this ilk are of course Napoleon Dynamite, Nick and Norah and Youth in Revolt.

The main redeeming quality to this waste of time is the supporting cast. J.K. Simmons is wonderful as usual, Jennifer Garner isn't bad as well as Jason Bateman, although I think he's been a little played after Arrested Development  as kind of the same guy in everything. Also Ellen page really is a great actress, she was awesome in Inception and also got to show off her chops in this one movie where she entrapped a internet predator who was trying to get in her 14 year old panties... I think it was called Hard Candy, well worth a watch if it's on Netflix or On Demand.

If you are not into the whole, "look at us where not mainstream, except we kind of are, but we're also kind of weird and like to convey it in our rapid-fire dialogue" movies I'd skip this and go for something else. Go Rent Raising Arizona or Fargo instead if you want a good movie with a city name in the title. ;)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Juno reviews
Quick Tip by . July 28, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Overall very good. Ellen page is amazing. Script is good, funny and quirky.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The movie is great because it is just a story without trying to be a morality piece. It's funny but it still pushes buttons. The writing is quality and the soundtrack is awesome.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Ellen Paige gives an amazing performance. The plot is decent but the movie is over hyped
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I will never understand the hype this movie got while in theaters; it was a well-written movie but very slow and most parts. Ellen Page was charming.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I did not understand the big buzz on this film and I still dont
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This movie related to me very well because I had a child young but I choose to keep mine. I think this is a great movie to show young women I feel.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Way to go, Juno! You, too, Ellen. And Michael. And Diablo...
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Page's performance as well as the rest of the cast was very strong in this dark comedy about relationships, marriage, and teen pregnancy.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
a total offbeat movie. we watched it in a human development class. if you read the back of the movie case it looks kind of dumb, but once you watch it you will laugh. the girl in the movie has the funniest dialouge ive ever heard.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
I don't get the hype about this movie - teenagers don't talk like that. Pregnant teenagers are not nonchalant about being pregnant. The soundtrack (and everything else) was pretentious. Trying way too hard to be hip here. I was so mad when I watched it.
About the reviewer
Alan Saastad ()
Ranked #174
I like things
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
imahsome
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Juno, a 2007 Academy Award winning comedy drama, tells the story of of an awkward high schooler Juno who becomes pregnant.  Upon her decision to keep the baby, she decides to give the baby up for adoption to a couple Vanessa and Mark.  Juno's relationship with the father of the baby (Paulie), Mark and Vanessa is focused on.

Directed by Jason Reitman, Juno is the story of pregnant teenager June (Ellen Page). The father is her passive high school friend Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera). She decides to give the baby up for closed adoption to an affluent childless couple, Mark (Jason Bateman) and Vanessa (Jennifer Garner). When Paulie asks another girl to the prom, Juno and he quarrel and they eventually come to realize they are in love with each other. Juno gives the baby up to Vanessa (Mark has split by this time), and Juno and Paulie become a regular teenage couple.

Somewhere between the sharp satire ofElectionand the rich human comedy ofYou Can Count On MeliesJuno, a sardonic but ultimately compassionate story of a pregnant teenage girl who wants to give her baby up for adoption. Social misfit Juno (Ellen Page,Hard Candy,X-Men: The Last Stand) protects herself with a caustic wit, but when she gets pregnant by her friend Paulie (Michael Cera,Superbad), Juno finds herself unwilling to terminate the pregnancy. When she chooses a couple who place a classified ad looking to adopt, Juno gets drawn further into their lives than she anticipated. ButJunois much more than...
view wiki

Details

Director: Jason Reitman
Genre: Comedy
Release Date: December 25, 2007
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: Diablo Cody
DVD Release Date: April 15, 2008
Runtime: 1hr 36min
Studio: 20th Century Fox
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists