|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Kill Bill Vol. 1 » User review

Kill Bill Vol. 1

The first half of Quentin Tanrantino's epic female revenge saga.

< read all 18 reviews

Excellent Action Fiick, One of Tarrantino's Best

  • Oct 27, 2009
Rating:
+4

If you liked a movie like Pulp Fiction (I believe it was from Tarantino too) you will definately like this film. It is sliced into chapters that are each individual stories which do not happen in sequential order. Each chapter is excellent in itself (one chapter is done in animation) and the only reason I didn't rate the movie higher is the time sequencing sometimes gets confusing and by the end of the movie you still don't understand what happened to have Uma Thurman's wedding party attacked.

The fight scenes are very unique and extremely gory, though a lot of the blood looks like colored water from a sprinkler. Tarantino has a lot of tributes to Bruce Lee such as using the Flight of the Bumblebee song (theme of the Green Hornet), having several of the villians wear Green Hornet masks, and having Uma wear a Bruce Lee type body suit (a la Game of Death) in the grand finale fight sequences.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
More Kill Bill Vol. 1 reviews
review by . September 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I would have to hesitate in calling any movie perfect, but if I were forced to pick one example of a flick that was near perfect for me, it would have to be Kill Bill Vol.'s 1&2.  These two films (well really one cut in half) embody everything that I love in a movie going experience; it's amazingly stylistic, there's a ton of action, there's plenty of plot and character development, it's gory and exploitative, yet light and silly at times, it's story is well versed …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Has a very curious, very neat feel, like a cross between lots of different genres, and it works great.
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
First half of Tarantino's homage to spaghetti westerns and chop socky movies has Volume 1 carrying the action and literal buckets of blood with a woman on a quest for revenge. Lacks Tarantino's dialouge, but saves it for Vol 2.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I like the chapter format of Tanrantino's, it allows him to entertain a much more faceted story. Kill Bill is one of the easiest film through which to initiate new fans to his work.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Leave it to Tarantino to make the sexiest fighters in filmography - Vivica A, Fox, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah and Uma Thurman are to die for.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The sleek and remarkable plot thrusts you straight into a tale of revenge and endurance. Every second means something.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
My boyfriend told me I reminded him of Uma Thurman (I don't look like her, but whatever) and it was the best compliment I've ever gotten. I just rewatched these movie, and oh wow. I just love them to pieces. I think I like the second part better, but the whole thing get an A+.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Tarantino's best- the mix of a western, a japnese comic book drama, and a dark comedy. It all comes together.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Love it!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Love this!
About the reviewer

Ranked #7
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Uma Thurman, David Carradine, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah, Vivica A. Fox
Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Writer:  Quentin Tarantino
2003

Product Description
The acclaimed fourth film from groundbreaking writer and director Quentin Tarantino (PULP FICTION, JACKIE BROWN), KILL BILL VOLUME 1 stars Uma Thurman (PULP FICTION), Lucy Liu (CHARLIE'S ANGELS, CHICAGO), and Vivica A. Fox (TWO CAN PLAY THAT GAME) in an astonishing, action-packed thriller about brutal betrayal and an epic vendetta! Four years after taking a bullet in the head at her own wedding, The Bride (Thurman) emerges from a coma and decides it's time for payback ... with a vengeance! Having been gunned down by her former boss (David Carradine) and his deadly squad of international assassins, it's a kill-or-be-killed fight she didn't start but is determined to finish! Loaded with explosive action and outrageous humor, it's a must-see motion picture event that has critics everywhere raving!
view wiki

Details

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Genre: Action, Drama, Western, Animation, Adventure
Release Date: October 10, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Quentin Tarantino
Runtime: 1hr 47min
Studio: Miramax Films, A Band Apart
Polls with this movie
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists