|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Kill Bill Vol. 1 » User review

Kill Bill Vol. 1

The first half of Quentin Tanrantino's epic female revenge saga.

< read all 18 reviews

Revenge fantasy soars far above Tarantino's other works

  • Nov 18, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
With everyone so focused on the blood and gore of this movie, I urge you to think beyond the blood; think of a favorite Japanese graphic novel brought to life. Think of the ultimate revenge fantasy, where you are so very bad @ss that no one can touch you. Think invincible, brutally gifted with weapons, and fueled by hate beyond death.

Kill Bill is a visually stunning treat for the eyes, and ears, of its viewers; even the blood is overdone in its gushing fountains and sprinkler type sprays. The background story of O'Ren Ishii (Lucy Liu) is entirely done in Anime; expertly done I might add. Tarentino uses cinematography to its best advantage in this film; stop action shots, slow motion, down angle shots, B&W during the big fight, and the battle in the snow between O'Ren Ishii and The Bride is the tastiest eye candy fight scene I have seen in a very long time.

Even down to costume design, Kill Bill stimulates the visual core of your brain even better than the original Matrix. Direction, choreography, soundtrack, editing, production, acting, everything combines to make one of the greatest revenge fantasies ever filmed. Really, I'm not even a huge Tarentino fan, and I still found myself riveted to the screen, even starting the movie over again after my first viewing.

The actresses and actors deserve special mention of their own. Forget Uma Thurman as the pretty little innocent we saw her as in Dangerous Liaisons, she is one hard fighting woman as The Bride, and really mastered the art of sword fighting for her role in this movie. She does a superb job. Lucy Liu is both beautiful and dangerous in her role as O'Ren Ishii, her voice as soft as rose petals and her sting as deadly as the Cottonmouth's bite, thus her code name from the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad. Her eyes will quite literally transfix you, you will feel her staring into your soul and know that she would love to see the color of your blood.

Also Exceptional in their supporting roles are Vivica Fox and Darryl Hannah, two more beautiful ladies that we never considered dangerous until now. Unknown in America for any acting is young Chiaki Kuriyama, who plays O'Ren's 17 year old bodyguard GoGo Yubari, a baby faced schoolgirl with dead eyes and a psychotic mind. And Sonny Chiba, long time veteran of Japanese cinema plays Hattori Hanzo, a retired sword maker.

Don't miss the amazing snow-scene fight, the expertly done anime, and the visual and audio treat that is Kill Bill. Favorite Line? The Bride, after kicking everyone's hinder at the House Of Blue Leaves, shouts down to them from the balcony, "Those of you lucky enough to have your lives take them with you. However, leave the limbs you've lost. They belong to me now."

Enjoy!
Kill Bill Volume One

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
June 09, 2009
Point taken. They will both be added to my queue in Netflix and advanced to the top...but not all the way to the top. I still have some Production IG animations to watch first. From what I understand they are the studio that Quentin hired for the animé sequence.
 
April 01, 2009
This review does make you want to go watch the movie again!
 
February 19, 2009
Great review, Schtinky.
 
December 23, 2008
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Kill Bill Vol.1. Now I want to go home and watch it again :)
 
1
More Kill Bill Vol. 1 reviews
review by . September 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I would have to hesitate in calling any movie perfect, but if I were forced to pick one example of a flick that was near perfect for me, it would have to be Kill Bill Vol.'s 1&2.  These two films (well really one cut in half) embody everything that I love in a movie going experience; it's amazingly stylistic, there's a ton of action, there's plenty of plot and character development, it's gory and exploitative, yet light and silly at times, it's story is well versed …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Has a very curious, very neat feel, like a cross between lots of different genres, and it works great.
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
First half of Tarantino's homage to spaghetti westerns and chop socky movies has Volume 1 carrying the action and literal buckets of blood with a woman on a quest for revenge. Lacks Tarantino's dialouge, but saves it for Vol 2.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I like the chapter format of Tanrantino's, it allows him to entertain a much more faceted story. Kill Bill is one of the easiest film through which to initiate new fans to his work.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Leave it to Tarantino to make the sexiest fighters in filmography - Vivica A, Fox, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah and Uma Thurman are to die for.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The sleek and remarkable plot thrusts you straight into a tale of revenge and endurance. Every second means something.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
My boyfriend told me I reminded him of Uma Thurman (I don't look like her, but whatever) and it was the best compliment I've ever gotten. I just rewatched these movie, and oh wow. I just love them to pieces. I think I like the second part better, but the whole thing get an A+.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Tarantino's best- the mix of a western, a japnese comic book drama, and a dark comedy. It all comes together.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Love it!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Love this!
About the reviewer

Ranked #49
I want to thank Everyone for welcoming me back! :) I'm here to stay folks, my sabbatical on writing reviews is over and I'll continue to review for Lunch. It's great to be back, too! Thanks again for … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Schtinky
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Uma Thurman, David Carradine, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah, Vivica A. Fox
Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Writer:  Quentin Tarantino
2003

Product Description
The acclaimed fourth film from groundbreaking writer and director Quentin Tarantino (PULP FICTION, JACKIE BROWN), KILL BILL VOLUME 1 stars Uma Thurman (PULP FICTION), Lucy Liu (CHARLIE'S ANGELS, CHICAGO), and Vivica A. Fox (TWO CAN PLAY THAT GAME) in an astonishing, action-packed thriller about brutal betrayal and an epic vendetta! Four years after taking a bullet in the head at her own wedding, The Bride (Thurman) emerges from a coma and decides it's time for payback ... with a vengeance! Having been gunned down by her former boss (David Carradine) and his deadly squad of international assassins, it's a kill-or-be-killed fight she didn't start but is determined to finish! Loaded with explosive action and outrageous humor, it's a must-see motion picture event that has critics everywhere raving!
view wiki

Details

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Genre: Action, Drama, Western, Animation, Adventure
Release Date: October 10, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Quentin Tarantino
Runtime: 1hr 47min
Studio: Miramax Films, A Band Apart
Polls with this movie
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists