|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Kill Bill Vol. 1 » User review

Kill Bill Vol. 1

The first half of Quentin Tanrantino's epic female revenge saga.

< read all 18 reviews

Part one of a three hour plus "epic" film from Quentin Tarantino.

  • Apr 27, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Kill Bill: Volume One was the first part of a three and a half hour film. Instead of putting out a three and a half hour grind house picture, the directed split it in half and got two movies out of the production. Quentin Tarentino knew better than to try and direct the action scenes himself so he hired Yuen Woo-Ping to direct the action. When you combine The Bride Wore Black, From Bombay to Nagoya and Lady Snow Blood you get one of the most interesting films of 2003.

The movie is about a woman simply known as the Bride (Uma Thurman). She was a member of an elite team of assassins known as the DiVAS (Lucy Liu, Michael Madsen, Daryl Hannah, Vivica A. Fox). All of it's members had code names of poisonous snakes. Well, she wanted to leave but it ain't so easy to leave the business. After being in a coma for nearly five years, The Bride plots her revenge to get the rest of the Vipers and their ring leader Bill (David Carradine). The road to revenge is filled with a lot of obstacles. Can The Bride achieve her goals and eliminate the DiVAs or will they be able to stop her dead in her tracks?

I didn't like the American release but I saw the movie again on a Japanese import D.V.D. and I was quite impressed by the uncut version. If I were to review the American Theatrical version I wouldn't have been too kind. Followed by a very disappointing sequel.

Highly Recommended (Japanese Version).

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Kill Bill Vol. 1 reviews
review by . September 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I would have to hesitate in calling any movie perfect, but if I were forced to pick one example of a flick that was near perfect for me, it would have to be Kill Bill Vol.'s 1&2.  These two films (well really one cut in half) embody everything that I love in a movie going experience; it's amazingly stylistic, there's a ton of action, there's plenty of plot and character development, it's gory and exploitative, yet light and silly at times, it's story is well versed …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Has a very curious, very neat feel, like a cross between lots of different genres, and it works great.
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
First half of Tarantino's homage to spaghetti westerns and chop socky movies has Volume 1 carrying the action and literal buckets of blood with a woman on a quest for revenge. Lacks Tarantino's dialouge, but saves it for Vol 2.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I like the chapter format of Tanrantino's, it allows him to entertain a much more faceted story. Kill Bill is one of the easiest film through which to initiate new fans to his work.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Leave it to Tarantino to make the sexiest fighters in filmography - Vivica A, Fox, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah and Uma Thurman are to die for.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The sleek and remarkable plot thrusts you straight into a tale of revenge and endurance. Every second means something.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
My boyfriend told me I reminded him of Uma Thurman (I don't look like her, but whatever) and it was the best compliment I've ever gotten. I just rewatched these movie, and oh wow. I just love them to pieces. I think I like the second part better, but the whole thing get an A+.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Tarantino's best- the mix of a western, a japnese comic book drama, and a dark comedy. It all comes together.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Love it!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Love this!
About the reviewer
Joseph Ulibas ()
Ranked #32
I have been working on my web series Fine Feather Friends.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Captain_Couth
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Uma Thurman, David Carradine, Lucy Liu, Daryl Hannah, Vivica A. Fox
Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Writer:  Quentin Tarantino
2003

Product Description
The acclaimed fourth film from groundbreaking writer and director Quentin Tarantino (PULP FICTION, JACKIE BROWN), KILL BILL VOLUME 1 stars Uma Thurman (PULP FICTION), Lucy Liu (CHARLIE'S ANGELS, CHICAGO), and Vivica A. Fox (TWO CAN PLAY THAT GAME) in an astonishing, action-packed thriller about brutal betrayal and an epic vendetta! Four years after taking a bullet in the head at her own wedding, The Bride (Thurman) emerges from a coma and decides it's time for payback ... with a vengeance! Having been gunned down by her former boss (David Carradine) and his deadly squad of international assassins, it's a kill-or-be-killed fight she didn't start but is determined to finish! Loaded with explosive action and outrageous humor, it's a must-see motion picture event that has critics everywhere raving!
view wiki

Details

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Genre: Action, Drama, Western, Animation, Adventure
Release Date: October 10, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Quentin Tarantino
Runtime: 1hr 47min
Studio: Miramax Films, A Band Apart
Polls with this movie
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists