|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movie » Reviews » Kissed » User review

Best Film of 1996

  • May 28, 2009
Rating:
+5
Brace yourself. If you are squeamish or tend to faint at the sound of the word necrophilia, you will probably not care to read the reviews let alone rent the videotape. Let me tell you upfront that you'd be making a huge mistake & missing out on a truly remarkable film which never really has gotten it's dues.

Molly Parker gives a full-bodied (no pun intended) performance as a young woman by the name of Sandra obsessed with deceased young men. It's as if our lead character Sandra can feel their dreams, their sadness, & is able to somehow make a connection with these expired young bodies as she later tells us. For some strange reason, this provides comfort & consolation I suppose for it eases her mind that she too will one day cross over as well.

To FURTHER complicate matters, Sandra meets a young college student who is as intrigued by her fascination with death as he is romantically attached to her. Needless to say, their relationship takes an awful turn as the film progresses. 

Although quite sad & a bit eccentric, Kissed reminds of us how we fail to see while we are still in the world of the living. It seems as if we only notice certain things about ourselves or others after they have crossed over or left their earthly home. Many could argue or debate that we shouldn't be reminded through a controversial film such as this but then how could appreciate life anymore without it? Watch Kissed with an open mind & brace yourself once again as you hear the haunting music of Sarah McLachlan while the credits pass before our eyes.

Best Film of 1996

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
December 12, 2009
I remember Molly Parker in one of those indie flicks where she portrayed a hooker and boy, can she act! The word necrophilia makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside LOL! nice one, C7, you are making me work today...
December 12, 2009
Molly Parker is nothing less than phenomenal in this film. I can't imagine anyone else pulling this one off right now. She has the look & the acting chops to really give the story that added boost. Christy liked this one too if that should help. I would suggest picking this one up as soon as possible. Thank you ever so much for everything Woo!
December 12, 2009
Just remembered Molly Parker's flick called CENTER OF THE WORLD...she was awesome there!!
December 12, 2009
Yes!!! Great film! I have that one somewhere on DVD also. She is amazing & it's interesting to see her take on two completely different roles such as these. Wayne Wang is a fantastic director too so it didn't surprise me that he could create such an erotic drama like that.
December 12, 2009
Tell me about it. It was so simple yet so erotically charged. Amazing blend of sadness and lust...and how sex can build a character.
December 16, 2009
Hear! Hear! Loved that film!
 
May 31, 2009
It sounds intriguing to me but I noticed that you said video taape rather than dvd. So it hasn't had a release yet?
June 02, 2009
This is another film I want to own on DVD. I believe MGM did give it a DVD release which is great & i'm pretty sure it's affordable but rent it first before purchasing as it's not for everyone. Let me know if you like it though should decide to view.
June 02, 2009
I once could buy with impunity but now I HAVE to rent first.
June 02, 2009
I know the feeling. I did check on this one & it's still readily available. Go ahead & add it your queue for rental. I think you will probably find it interesting. Smiles
 
1
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie


Ever since she was a young girl, Sandra Larson (Molly Parker) has been fascinated with the darkness of death. But when she takes a part-time job as an embalmer at a funeral parlor, her obsession with the afterlife and the study of necrophilia begins to consume her every desire. As her boyfriend (Peter Outerbridge) struggles to relate to her new lifestyle, he jumps through hoops to prove he'll do anything for love.

Wiki


All Movie Info

Directed By
Lynne Stopkewich

Written By:
Lynne Stopkewich, Barbara Gowdy, Angus Fraser

Cast:
Molly Parker, Peter Outerbridge, Jay Brazeau, Annabel Kershaw, Janet Craig, Jeff Richards, Raul Inglis, Christopher Lovell, Raoul Ganeev, Natasha Morley, Jessie Winter Mudie, James Timmons, Robert Thurston, Tim Dixon, Amber Warnat, Bill Finck, Edward Davey, Hamish Wilson, Valerie Boeke, Noel Boulanger, Debra L. Huntley, John Pozer, Andrew Guy, David Love, Craig Barton, Caroline Belgrave, Kelly Berg, Jeremiah Boeke, Kristen Bollman, Crystal Buble, Cindy Cai, Leona Campbell, Tracey L. Clayton, Alan Costar, Burtland Cummings, Dayton Davidson-Moore, Kathleen DeVanney, Mark Dmytrenko, Floyd Faircrest, Christine Farley, Mike Farley, James Fawcett, Luydmila Feldman, Jesse Fox, Teresa Gallant, Joy Ganeev-Davies, Willi Germann, Jeremy Gernier, Samantha Geyer, Diane M. Giles, Ryan Gobolos, Darren Gough, Andrei Grigoriev, Nicole Hyde, John Ingram, David Johns, Jennifer Johns, Paul Johnson, Chance Jory, Ashley Kerr, Vitaly Kravchenko, Rollo T. Kromhoff, Miriam Laniado, Annelise Larson, Lisa May, Andrea Milne, William J. Mitchell, Alexander M. Narolsky, Chris O'Hogan, Alicia O'Krane, Nelson Rodrigues, Miranda Schwark, Edward Sherman, Natasha Talbot, Erika Traynor, Terry W. Weaver, Terry H. Wilson, Joe Maffei, Aleksandra Antonie, Cyndie Belcourt, Brandee Buble, Ori Kowarsky, Elgin
...
view wiki
First to Review

"Best Film of 1996"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists